We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and friendly experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good and friendly experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Equatorial from 16 - 19 March 2014. Took 2 connecting premium rooms for 5 adults and 3 children.

The bad:
- the hot & cold shower needs to be maintained as it suddenly turned cold and then too hot while showering.
- some light switches are not functioning properly.
- door keys are not properly activated.
- breakfast was ok though needs to have more variety and needs to work on the taste a bit.

The good:
- location of hotel is good. Situated next to Dataran Pahlawan Megamall and walking distance to the Melaka Sultanate Palace, the Dutch Square and the Maritime and Naval Museum.
- Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
- Room service is fast.
- Housekeeping is very attentive. We have 3 children in the room and they gave us extra towels without having to request for it.
- Swimming pool is spacious and well maintained.

It was overall a very good experience staying at the Hotel Equatorial Melaka. I will definitely recommend to others who wanted to visit Melaka for a holiday. But the hotel management needs to do some upgrading to their facilities due to wear and tear as there will be more new hotels rising nearby and Hotel Equatorial might lose their credibility.

Room Tip: Their premium room has got a day bed at the balcony which offers fantastic view of the Straits of Me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

On your comments of inconsistency of hot water, my sincere apologies for the poor experience. We did have an unusual fault where we had to change the hot water system. This had caused some hot water interruption. Rest assured every effort will be made to correct on all areas where we have fallen short.

I have shared your kind words with all the staff concerned and they are all certainly thrilled that their efforts are noticed.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    558
    166
    39
    23
See reviews for
364
240
44
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Hotel Equatorial. We found this property enjoyable. Everything is readily available: restaurant, cafe, lounge, swimming pool. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine. We didn't have breakfast there, so I can't comment. We liked to try local breakfast and thanks to the hotel's location, we had no trouble finding local eateries in the neighbourhood. Near the hotel, one can find everything nearby, ranging from shopping malls, restaurants, cafes, cinemas, heritage sites, museums etc. We were able to walk to all the sights. The hotel staff is really friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was nice and the beds were very cozy. One down side of this hotel was the wi-fi connection. One must log in and enter several info in order to connect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable time with us during your recent visit . I am glad that we met with your expectation.

On your comment of internet access, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. The Hotel provides internet services to facilitate guest like yourself to stay connected and the log in process is purely for security reasons.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Dear Mr Adrian Chung, I was staying at this beautiful property recently. However, during my stay, I found out the restaurant staffs looked tired, stressed, not motivated and seems like not happy to be there during breakfast service. Special complimence to the front desk staff named, Shimah. She did a great job and provide an excellent customer service. Thumbs up to the housekeeping and the concierge team for the job well done.

Prompt reply from the reservation team. Thanks to Suzy and Denise.

Will be back because of an excellent service provided from the respective department.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am certainly concerned when reading your comment on staff in the restaurant, rest assured this will be addressed immediately.

Your special mentioned of Shima, Suzy and Denise would certainly sets off a good example for the other members to emulate. I have shared your compliments with them and they are thrilled that their efforts are being recognized.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel boasts excellent services. Staff were really friendly. 2 months before, I had to do a last minute change due to unfortunate circumstances, which the hotel manage to accomodate to my request. It was really appreciated. Got the club room and it was huge. It had 2 sets of balconies which was surprising. The bathroom was quite spacious as well.

The only drawback is that the property interiors are stating to look old. A time of a revamp would be necessary in the near future.

However, highly recommended for a stay in Melaka.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your reviews.

I have taken a serious view on your feedback and I will certainly look into refurbishment at the next upgrading opportunity.

Once again, my sincere appreciations for taking the time to post your review which is certainly helpful for us to improve further and I look forward to welcome you back.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is still my preferred despite the mushrooming of accommodation options in Melaka. My latest stay was with my parents, whereby I booked an additional bed. The request was promptly and professionally handled. Front staff is courteous, polite, calm and collected (front office, restaurants, butlers) especially in busy and crowded time periods. Maintenance of the room is especially commendable - it was clean and all in working order.

Congratulations to the management of this hotel! Staff training is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

Rest assured we will always make every effort to provide the best level of services to all our guests.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Im from spain , as i know spain have lots of good and stylist hotels but equatorial hotel melaka has give me a unique and extraordinary experience , From the service to the restaurants , coffee chillax place , swimming pool , gym to the spa all are perfect. Consider one of the best known 5 star hotel in melaka is really worth every single cent i paid , from the first step i step into the lobby the warmest smile and greeting from the staffs are so warm that i feel at home. The front office are efficient n fast check in , all the staff are so helpful especially the concierge , they are so easy to understand what i need and been very pleasant even most of them can remember my name .the room were comfortable , i wondering how they maintain their rooms even though they are one of the 1st five star hotel but the room still looks great . I went to the seri nyonya restaurant , the nyonya food are so nice even though is abit spicy but i love it , i had breakfast at the rest house cafe it was great too the kitchen staff are so warm and friendly and the service waiters were very attentive. the swimming pool was one of the best looking swimming pool i have ever seen so far with the coconut trees and plants and the shape of the swimming pool i just feel like im in the hawaii in the middle of the city in melaka this feeling is so awesome~! before i check out on the third day i went to the kampachi japanese restaurant , i ordered the shashimi set , it was so fresh and the presentation was phenomena , cant imagine how they manage to get top quality products in a small city like melaka , after i had my lunch i went to their coffee outlet i think is call ETC if im not mistaken , the arabica coffee bean they are using is good and the macaroons and cakes taste like heaven ~! most of the staff greet me by names im so please with this hotel . i really appreciate the excellent hospitality , no regrets ......BRAVO Equatorial ...i will be back ...

Room Tip: take the premier suite no regrets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been an enjoyable one.

Rest assured we will always make the effort to improve. Your detailed complimentary words will certainly be shared with all our staffs.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is probably one of the oldest 5 stars hotels with such comprehensive facilities and excellent restaurants in this great city with rich heritage. Our first visit to this hotel was perhaps around more than 15 years ago and unlike other local hotels in Malaysia, guest rooms in this hotel are maintained in pristine condition. Restaurants in this hotel serves excellent food. Staffs in every departments are courteous and provide outstanding service. The hotel location is also excellent, it is situated just next to a big shopping mall, and other historical site such as St Paul’s Hill, Red Square, Christ Church, St Francis Xavier Church and Jongker Street are all within walking distance. The only problem we have encountered was having to climb the steps from the hotel car park to the lobby as there was no elevator available. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am most grateful that we are your preferred choice of stay in Malacca for the passed 15 years.

We are extremely grateful to receive your compliments on our services. Rest assured we will continue to strive to always provide the best level of service.

As to your comment of our lift access from the basement car park, yes, it is true that all our lifts do not serve the basement and this is purely for security reasons. We do not wish to put our guest’s safety at risk by allowing non registered guests / visitors accessing the guest floor.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back ‘home’ to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.