We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 144 hotels in Melaka
SG
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Overall the hotel stay is a great experience since it was my first time staying there. Staff was not very friendly probably due to the fact that it was a very busy day due to the school holidays. However, the overall experience with their service is still decent if not good despite them being very pre-occupied.

Rooms are clean and the air-conditioning was sufficient. Not freezing cold or too warm.

Bathroom amnesties are all readily available. Shower foam, shampoo, toothbrushes and the usual standard stuff. A safe, iron and ironing board can be found in the wardrobe.

Plenty of food can be found nearby. For the fast food junkies there is still Macdonalds and Kentucky Fried Chicken nearby and for the more adventurous, there is a food street nearer to Mahkota Parade area.

If you are into museums, directly behind the hotel just walk along Jalan Parameswara, you will come to a small gate and within this area are where quite a number of museums are. Entry to some of the museum requires an entrance fee so do take note of that.

Jonker street was about 20 minutes walk for us.

Overall the stay was pleasant and enjoyable for all of us despite the short period of time spent there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

It is certainly regretful to hear the friendliness were lacking, rest assured we will make every effort to improve on our shortcomings and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    445
    134
    28
    17
See reviews for
292
197
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

5-star hotel but more like 3-star due to it's age. The toilets especially the bath tubs are due to be changed. However, the rooms are clean and well-kept.

Location - very central. Near to A-Famosa/Stadhurst (probably about 15-20 mins walk). Jonker Street is about 20-25mins walk. The Pahlawan Shopping Mall is right across the road from the hotel. There you can find quite a bit of food. There is a nice little food court on the 4th floor, worth exploring. The food is not too bad but definitely can't beat the famous local eatery outside.

Room - size is ok, bathroom is ok but bathtub really has to be changed. Couldn't even think about soaking in it no matter how much I wanted to! There is soap, shampoo, body lotion, earbuds, shower cap, nice fluffy clean towels, comfy bed and pillows, room slippers but no bathrobe. All no smoking rooms but all rooms has a small balcony so can smoking is actually possible on the balcony.

It is an old hotel but pretty well-maintained. Decor is 'classical' if you may.

Staff - friendly & speaks good English.

Eatery and night entertainment is about 10 mins walk away.

The pool is pretty decent for swimming laps, about 25m. Pool towels provided.



Overall the stay was good and pretty good value for money.

Room Tip: Request for a room that faces the Straits of Melaka.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

Nevertheless, I have noted on your comment with regards to the bathtub and will definitely look into changing them at our next refurbishment plan.

I sincerely thank you for your patronage and I look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The room was great and the staff were really helpful. We enjoyed our stay and were very comfortable. The only thing (as noted by many of the below reviews) is the wifi, it is something that you would expect to be a part of the room charge given how much you are paying. Having said that for the price we paid the place was lovely, the pool was great and I would probably go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

Nevertheless, I have noted on your comment with regards to the Wi-Fi and will definitely look into our offerings in future.

I sincerely thank you for your patronage and I look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Equatorial Melaka while we celebrated our Little Boy 2nd Birthday. The hotel is clean, great location and staff are really friendly... I would recommend to anyone that wants to go Melaka and have their stay there...

When we arrive, they managed to let us to check-in early and also i have bought a Birthday cake all the way from KL to Melaka. The hotel staff help me to keep the cake in the refrigerator. Then In the evening after we have visited a few places and had our dinner, we went back to the hotel by 9pm and i collect my son's Birthday cake. We then realised that there isn't any lighter or match box in the room so we went down to the reception to ask the staff for it as we want to light up the candles for my son's cake. The hotel staff promised to get the match box to our rooms later. After a while our door bell rang and the staff managed to get us the match box. Thus, my little boy had his big smile after blowing his Birthday Candles... it was such a warm moment to us.

The next morning we a due to check-out, as my sister isn't feeling well i called the reception again and ask them if i could have a late check-out. They offered me a late check-out an hour later in which its a big help for me as my sister could rest in the hotel for an additional hour. On our way to check-out, the concierge staff helps us to get our luggages back to the car and my son too has a few concierge friends and he was telling me all the big brother and uncles are "Good"... even a 2 years old can say that... guess what, the rooms, services and hospitality is really good in the hotel.

Room Tip: Request for a High Floor and Sea View. All hotel rooms are worth of it. If you have a family, reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am very pleased that we have met to your expectation and that your 2 year old son had a wonderful birthday.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review. We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It was a last minute booking and the standard room are all fully booked, so we got a club room instead...
room: big and spacious, old but clean, comfort bed and pillow...
internet only limits for 2 devices, and you need to pay extra for better internet speed :(
good location, walking distance to shopping mall with McD right outside...
p/s: level 8, very strong painting smell, should close for renovation if painting in process...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

Nevertheless, I have noted on your comment with regards to the Wi-Fi and will definitely look into our offerings in future.

I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant paint smell in the room which were not meant to be, we did carry out upgrading work in our room but steps have been taken to ensure that unwanted paint smell be eliminated before any guest checked in which in this case did not happen. I have since asked my Executive Housekeeper to conduct a thorough check to ensure that we do not have any paint smell in all rooms.

Once again, my sincere appreciation for taking the time to post your review which certainly helpful for us to improve further and I look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been operating for many years but still has they qulity control.
Premier rooms has been refurbished.
I find it more cosy then the new Hatten hotel down the block.
Rooms cones with a tub therefore good to have a hot bath after a tiring day in Melaka

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.
I have received numerous positive comments on our Premier room and the daybed feature.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The location is great. Almost in the heart of the city and close to tourist spots. Then again Malacca is small. Anyway check in was fast. The food is to die for. All buffet breakfast and lunch and room service for dinner was simply fabulous. The choices for dessert was so tasty and luxurious. Rooms are taste fully decorated, spacious and the bed was just like home.

The meeting facilities was close to perfect except for the pillars in the center of the room thats blocking the screen. Other than the tiny glitch every thing else is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing majestically in the heart of history is the Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Bringing you the allure of historical Melaka with modern day conveniences, this 5-Star 22-storey international business hotel features 496 luxuriously furnished rooms and a host of food and beverage outlets. The hotel offers a range of facilities from recreation - swimming pools, a fitness centre; to business - business centre, meeting rooms and the largest grand ballroom in the state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.