We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, great pool, good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Handy location, great pool, good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First the good: it's well located, being only a short walk from the historic centre and Chinatown, and next to two large malls, one of which has a good basement supermarket in Parksons, which is well handy for supplies, like cheap bottled water, crisps and other snacks. It also has a fantastic pool, which was quiet every time we used it, during the day or in the evening for a refreshing dip after a hot day visiting the sights in Melaka. The staff were really friendly and helpful, with check in/out a breeze too.
,
The room we had was a good size, clean and tidy but a bit tired. The breakfast buffet seemed a bit pricey, so we passed on that and got a basic cooked breakfast with drinks for two for 10 ringgit (total) which was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

My sincere appreciations for taking the time to provide us with your kind review. Please do visit us again soon.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    508
    153
    34
    22
See reviews for
331
225
41
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel on a short visit,I really recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Melacca,the location is great for the old historic city,the staff are really friendly and helpful,the hotel is beautiful,the rooms are spacious,and comfortable with balcony,well decorated and really clean,beautiful modern bathrooms,food in the restaurant is wonderful,the buffet breakfast is more than you can eat,I cant find anything wrong with this hotel,its perfect, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.I hope I can stay there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am most grateful that we are your preferred choice of stay in Malacca.

I am pleased that you have had a helpful service and the room and facilities has met to your expectations. Rest assured we will always make every effort to provide the best level of services to all our guests. Do visit our website where we do offer numerous other promotions for our regular guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed there for two nights at a club floor and it was thoroughly enjoyable.

Check-in and -out at the club lounge was a breeze. The room was absolutely spacious with two balconies. Service was top notch be it at the club lounge or the cafe at ground floor. Tannoy from perhaps the neighbouring St. Francis' Institution in the morning could be a nuisance but it didn't last long and I was aware of it in only one of the mornings. Tried their food at the club lounge and it was very good.

With all due respect Melaka is not comparable to Kuala Lumpur but on the whole I find Equatorial rival those of the top tier hotels in KL like Traders and Sheraton, so it was a pleasant surprise. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation. We certainly value your patronage and we look forward to your visit again soon.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Me and my friend booked a Groupon from Singapore for a one night stay in Melaka at the Hotel equatorial. We both didn't expect very much from the hotel as the Groupon was so cheap and we were both very pleasantly surprised when we got to the hotel. The hotel was in a great location directly across from the main shopping malls and around a 15min walk from the river and main sightseeing spots.

The welcome at the hotel was very friendly and efficient and they managed to provide us with a twin room at the last minute which was not expected. The hotel is very nicely decorated and the facilities are well kept. The staff we met were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us.

The room was lovely! Very modern but homely with its decoration with all the amenities that you would need for a night away. and the view from the balcony was lovely. The beds were very comfortable and we had a lovely nights sleep.

Breakfast was very nice and there was a wide selection of food to suit all tastes. I am quite a fussy eater and i managed a huge breakfast with the choice that was on offer.

We also used the hotels facilities and although the spa was divided into separate men and women areas it was very nice, comfortable and relaxing. One small gripe was that the Jacuzzi wasn't very good (more like a spitting bath) but the steam sauna and outdoor pool were excellent.

If i was to return to Melaka i would most defiantly return to this hotel as we had a lovely stay for a very reasonable price. I would defiantly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Higher up would be better as you get a better view. Either side of the hotel would be fine though i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you have experienced friendly and efficient service provided by our staffs and it is certainly pleasing to know that they have made every effort to ensure you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

I have shared your compliments of our food selection at Rest House Café with the Director of Food and Beverage who will ensure that the quality is maintained at all times.

I have noted on your feedback on the Jacuzzi and will definitely look into upgrading it in future.

Nevertheless, you will be delighted to hear that we are currently embarking on upgrading works and you will be able to see us in a different light on your next visit.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location, within walking distance to the attarctions of Melaka city. The lobby is spacious, but had a strange smell.

The receptionist was helpful and pofessional, they told me my room was upgraded but the room opposite to Malaka Straight was not available. The room was okay, a little aged, but I can see a little bit seaview.

The breakfast was not as good as I had expected, not so much to choose from. But the food, expecially the porriage, pickles and preserved eggs are to the appetite of our Chinese.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased that your recent with us has been pleasant. We will certainly be reviewing our breakfast offering and ensure a better selection are being offered.

Once again, my sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Personally I like the location due to the access of the malls and I had a good stay in 2012 July that was the Premier Room. However, this time the Deluxe room due to upgrading, we smell freshly paint through out the night which gives us headache that we have to air the room.

The toilet door knob is spoil, the bath tub is not able fill up water as the stopper and switch from shower head to bath tub is not able to press down.

Those who drives, please travel light as there is not lift from carpark to the lobby.

Service I must say is very good; we request for additional towel is very good and fast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am most grateful that we are your preferred choice of stay in Malacca.

It is certainly regretful to hear of your poor experiences encountered during your recent visit.

We are actually embarking on upgrading works and I sincerely apologize that your room was not properly aired. Our Housekeeper is now in the process of refreshing all rooms to eliminate any paint odour.

Yes, it is true that all our lifts do not serve the basement and this is purely for security reasons. We do not wish to put our guest’s safety at risk by allowing non registered guests / visitors accessing the guest floor directly from the car park.
Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel got a nice view (forgot the direction), a classic hotel. very good location, minutes walk to historical site, shopping mall, restaurant.

Direct door to door transport / coach from Singapore. Close to a big shopping mall and 5 minutes to the starting of Melaka Heritage Trail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation. We certainly value your patronage and we look forward to your visit again soon.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.