We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Inviting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Simply Inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Located in a prime location in the heart of Bandar Melaka. A clean comfortable room & the massive pool is just mesmerizing. Don't forget to order the insanely delicious Sup Ekor from the room service menu to complete you're stay. Overall, Equatorial Hotel, Melaka is always an inviting experience for me. Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We certainly value your patronage, please do visit us again soon.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    459
    136
    28
    17
See reviews for
301
205
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night after hatten, across the street. Got an equator club room. Nothing fancy though comfortable. After checking in the room, we left for lunch. Came back and a bowl of fruits-4 apples, Found its way into our room. That means the staff entered our room without our permission. How dangerous!! Luckily our valuables were already kept in the safe. What if we were in the shower or sleeping. Doesn't mean no 'do not disturb' sign, staff can and will enter! Horrible experience otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

Yes, it is certainly alarming to read your comment of unwanted entry to your room. After a thorough investigation we found an unusual fault with the ‘Do Not Disturb (DND)’ mechanism, when key card is taken out from the energy saving key card slot the DND sign switches off. Of course if the key card is in the slot the DND sign will be lighted up and staffs are not allowed to enter. Your concerns on the safety of your valuables, rest assured the hotel is equipped with CCTV and every entry will most certainly be detected. Nevertheless, I sincerely apologize for the unforeseen mechanism fault of our DND sign which allowed our staff to enter and place the fruit basket. Our Chief Engineer has since rectified the issue.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I must admit that the hotel located in a good point .
They have a restaurant in the hotel which was open until midnight and has a good delish pizza !
The room and the bath room were small and old .
And please don't forget to pray (if u believe in God) when you enter your room and gonna sleep .
Seriously .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I thank you for your compliments on our Food and Beverage outlets. Rest assured, we strive to always provide the best product and services to all our guests.

I am a little curious with regards to your comments on your experience of entering the room. I would certainly appreciate if you could write to me at gm@mel.equatorial.com and share with me your experience.

We certainly cherish your patronage and I look forward to hear from you.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here as it was the location for a conference we were attending. All meals were served away from the restaurants as part of the conference but this did not matter as food was always well presented, fresh and hot. The waiting staff were attentive and dishes replenished as required. The food was excellent varied and tasty. We ate one evening meal in The Rest House, and one breakfast, again could not fault it. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The location was central to the museum area and the river, as well as Jonker Street. Would stay again if we return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is certainly delightful to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We will always make every effort to improve and render the best level of service at all times.

Once again, our sincere appreciation to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I hv been frequenting Equatorial Melaka since 2010. It's is conveniently located to my meeting location and next to Dataran Pahlawan where we can shops n dine. Over the years, i think it is time for the hotel to refurbish. However, staff are very friendly n they have loyalty programme where they like to suprise frequent guest with their door gift upon check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am most grateful that we are your preferred choice of stay in Malacca.

Yes, you’ll be pleased to know we will be embarking on upgrading work from this week onwards.

Our loyalty programme is still in place and do be on the look out for the gift items on your next visits.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a new competitor hotel across from Equatorial Hotel and then work brought me to Melaka again and I stayed in the Equatorial. Reception desk officers at the club floor were excellent. Friendly and always keen to share great food places and places were one can get a bargain! Excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms were well serviced and clean. Will definitely come back again and make this hotel my hotel of choice when I am in Melaka.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and I truly appreciate of your comments towards our friendly staff.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Was in Malacca recently and stayed in Hotel Equatorial Melaka for 5 days. Hotel Equatorial Melaka claims to have a 5 star rating and its décor is on the vintage side (it has been around for some time and its age does show). Fortunately some areas seem to have undergone some refurbishment, but unfortunately the hotel ends up with what seems like an identity crisis: while some areas retain its old vintage-ness (and tired chairs / sofas / carpets), other areas attempt to be modern (but both not complementing each other in any way).

In addition, there are certain things that could be improved (since it’s claims to be a 5 star hotel, my standards are higher). For one, the chairs in the lobby, as well as those in the rooms could be renewed as their age was starting to show. Also, the carpets (especially those in the ballrooms / conference rooms) could definitely be updated as well (that and/or vacuuming more often or investing in better equipment to clean the place). It has been the most ‘dustful’ experience that I have had thus far. So people with sensitive noses or sinus should take note.

Otherwise, service rendered is reasonably good and the food is not too bad. The best part about Hotel Equatorial Melaka would be its location. It is one and a half hours south of Kuala Lumpur and just a two hour drive (depending on the traffic) from Singapore. It is also smack right in the hub of it all: walking distance to shopping and entertainment districts (e.g. Jonker Street) and historical places (e.g. St. Paul's Hill, Church of Melaka). Do check out my blog for more on my stay and photos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

Yes, changes are actually being carried out in stages. Carpets on all guests’ floors as well as those in Banquets will be change in early October.

Rest assured we will make every effort to improve and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing majestically in the heart of history is the Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Bringing you the allure of historical Melaka with modern day conveniences, this 5-Star 22-storey international business hotel features 496 luxuriously furnished rooms and a host of food and beverage outlets. The hotel offers a range of facilities from recreation - swimming pools, a fitness centre; to business - business centre, meeting rooms and the largest grand ballroom in the state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.