We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like their loyalty programme” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Johor Bahru
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I like their loyalty programme”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I hv been frequenting Equatorial Melaka since 2010. It's is conveniently located to my meeting location and next to Dataran Pahlawan where we can shops n dine. Over the years, i think it is time for the hotel to refurbish. However, staff are very friendly n they have loyalty programme where they like to suprise frequent guest with their door gift upon check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am most grateful that we are your preferred choice of stay in Malacca.

Yes, you’ll be pleased to know we will be embarking on upgrading work from this week onwards.

Our loyalty programme is still in place and do be on the look out for the gift items on your next visits.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    508
    153
    34
    22
See reviews for
332
225
41
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a new competitor hotel across from Equatorial Hotel and then work brought me to Melaka again and I stayed in the Equatorial. Reception desk officers at the club floor were excellent. Friendly and always keen to share great food places and places were one can get a bargain! Excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms were well serviced and clean. Will definitely come back again and make this hotel my hotel of choice when I am in Melaka.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and I truly appreciate of your comments towards our friendly staff.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Was in Malacca recently and stayed in Hotel Equatorial Melaka for 5 days. Hotel Equatorial Melaka claims to have a 5 star rating and its décor is on the vintage side (it has been around for some time and its age does show). Fortunately some areas seem to have undergone some refurbishment, but unfortunately the hotel ends up with what seems like an identity crisis: while some areas retain its old vintage-ness (and tired chairs / sofas / carpets), other areas attempt to be modern (but both not complementing each other in any way).

In addition, there are certain things that could be improved (since it’s claims to be a 5 star hotel, my standards are higher). For one, the chairs in the lobby, as well as those in the rooms could be renewed as their age was starting to show. Also, the carpets (especially those in the ballrooms / conference rooms) could definitely be updated as well (that and/or vacuuming more often or investing in better equipment to clean the place). It has been the most ‘dustful’ experience that I have had thus far. So people with sensitive noses or sinus should take note.

Otherwise, service rendered is reasonably good and the food is not too bad. The best part about Hotel Equatorial Melaka would be its location. It is one and a half hours south of Kuala Lumpur and just a two hour drive (depending on the traffic) from Singapore. It is also smack right in the hub of it all: walking distance to shopping and entertainment districts (e.g. Jonker Street) and historical places (e.g. St. Paul's Hill, Church of Melaka). Do check out my blog for more on my stay and photos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

Yes, changes are actually being carried out in stages. Carpets on all guests’ floors as well as those in Banquets will be change in early October.

Rest assured we will make every effort to improve and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Was in melacca for two night. Only managed to book Hatten hotel for one night (fully booked) and that's why we had to settle for Hotel Equatorial. It turned out to be more expensive than Hatten hotel, and also it felt a little aged (in general). The hotel staffs were great but the nyonya and Japanese restaurant seemed to be a little expensive for us. In the end, we had our dinner in the restaurant at the lobby (using the promo credit). It was alright. Will I choose it again? Probably not, considering the fact that Hatten hotel is so much cheaper and newer. Cheers ...

Room Tip: high floor, not facing the schools and buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
474 helpful votes 474 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

visited Melaka after 6 months and as usual, booked our favourite hotel which is the equatorial due to its location and the quality of the rooms. Were very happy and satisfied with the service of the front desk and all at the hotel. The rooms are clean and the adequately equipped. Love the B5 street bistro located at the hotel where one can just sit around sipping a cuppa coffee and watch all the actions around the area. my daughter had fun at the pool too...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am most grateful that we are your preferred choice of stay in Malacca.

I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us at your recent stay.

It is always gratifying to receive compliments on our products and services. Rest assured we will continue to strive to always provide the best level of service.

Once again, I thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed 2 connected Premier Rooms from 12-14 Sept 2013. Clean, modern and very spacious rooms to accommodate my family of 4A 2C.
Easy accessibility on foot to shopping malls / tourists sights / museums / Jonker street (Night Market).
Great swimming pool on level 4! Great smiles and greetings from all staff!

Only drawback? :) Although there were 4 lifts but it took some time to reach level 19...

Overall very satisfied experience on my 3rd stay at Equatorial Malacca.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and I truly appreciate of your comments towards our friendly staff. Nevertheless I sincerely apologize that you had to wait for quite a while for the lift to reach your floor.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel and had a great time there. We travelled as 2 families with young kids in the deluxe rooms with extra beds. The rooms were big and spacious enough for the kids to run around even with the extra bed.

Generally the rooms are clean though some of the fixtures especially those in the bathrooms needs updating. The beds are comfortable and we like that the extra beds comes with thick mattress compared with some hotels which only provides a thin mattress. All of us had a good night rest but my friend said the extra bed provided in her room might not be so clean as both she and her child felt itchy when sleeping on the extra bed.

Service at the hotel is very good as the staff mostly have easy smiles except for some of the staff at the reception. Our housekeeping staff, Siti Aisha, always greet us with a smile and did a good job tidying up the rooms.

Breakfast was nice and though the selection is not as wide as some hotels but it should be enough to keep most people happy.

Location was great since it is close enough to walk to all major attractions in Melaka. We will definitely come back again to the hotel and recommend it to other friends!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors as you can hear the traffic and other sounds, e.g. cock crowing, coming from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and the opportunity to experience friendly service from our staffs.

It is always very pleasing to receive compliments on our products and services. Rest assured we will continue to strive to always provide the best level of service.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.