We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #11 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Service staff were courteous, helpful and efficient. General décor was pleasant and environment was clean. Room was spacious, bright and clean. Facilities were good, especially swimming pool which was amazing. Centrally located, amenities and food are plentiful and within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one and that the services and facilities has met to your expectations.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    557
    166
    39
    23
See reviews for
363
240
44
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is location. Great restaurants, shopping, even Jonker Street... all within walking distance. I would stay in this hotel again, if just for the convenience. The rooms are okay, and comfortable enough for short stays. Breakfast and food at the cafe so-so; compared with the fantastic food you can get just outside the hotel, I would recommend eating out anytime. It is almost impossible to get a taxi at the hotel; suggest you go to the shopping mall next door to find one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I have shared your comments on our breakfast with our Director of Food and Beverage who will urgently review the quality.

Yes, it is a little difficult in getting taxis during the festive period. We are currently looking at collaboration with local taxis companies to serve our guests better especially during festive holidays.

I sincerely apologize that the stay was somewhat not flawless, rest assured we will make every effort to improve on our shortcomings and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka. .


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at the Equitorial for 1 night as part of a tour of Malaysia and whilst visiting Melaka.

The Equitorial is a very large hotel a short walk from the old historic part of town and the fort/ruins. Offers everything you would expect yet fails to impress nor stand out from other either more intimate (the Lakehouse in Cameron Highlands) or comparable large hotels (the Rennaisance in Kota Bharu). All the staff were very pleasant and courteous throughout the hotel, with a welcome smile and greeting. Breakfast was fine offering a good variety of types of food though was very busy as obviously the hotel is one of the preferred locations for most large coach tours.

We stayed on the 11th floor with a good view back towards the old town. The hotel has a good size outdoor pool though we didn't use it.

Melaka has some lovely historic buildings and would highly recommend the tour of the Baba Nyonya museum (Shirley had a lovely wit and charm as she described the history and workings of the old Chinese house). The Chinese temple is also attractive. A river cruise will show some incredible wall paintings on the riverside houses (watch out for the water monitor lizards that reach 6ft).

The streets are filled with market stalls (and karaoke !?) mainly selling phone cases, toys, etc rather than souvenirs although there are some great shops to get these - my love is wooden local masks - a must is 'Beyond Treasures - House of Masks' on Jonker Walk (57 Jalan Hang Jebat) the lady owner is a delight as is the vast display of Asian masks.

The Equatorial served a purpose as a stopover on our tour with no issues though could be easily forgotten alongside many better hotels of its type (was the only hotel of 9 we used in Malaysia that didn't offer free wifi !).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is certainly pleasing to know that we have met with your expectation.

I thank you for your compliments on our staffs. Rest assured we strive to always provide the best product and services to all our guests. You will be pleased to know that we are embarking on upgrading works and at your next visit hopefully you will see it in a different light.

On to your comments of our Wi-Fi service, you will be pleased to hear that we have just upgraded our internet services and free Wi-fi is now available throughout the hotel.

Once again, I thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Equatorial across the Hari Raya/Singapore public holiday long weekend. Whilst busy, we found this the perfect base for Melaka. The staff seemed to manage the public holiday surge in both check in and check out.

As mentioned by many other reviewers, it is central to shopping centres, all the museums along Jalan Kota and the Peranakan restaurants along Jalan Merdaka. So throughout our trip, we would set out in the morning before returning to the hotel to refresh/shower/rest before setting out again in the early evening.

The added convenience, was that we used Luxury Coaches which picks up/drops off from the hotel lobby - This saved us the trek from the Melaka bus station and allowed us to stow our luggage away for the day of departure after check out.

The hotel is not quite 4 star and definitely not a resort however it cannot be faulted for being a clean no-nonsense base to explore Melaka by foot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for a few times both business and family trips and never failed to please my trip. The location is very good, shopping malls are next to the hotel and walking distance to famous Jonker Street and historical attractions. The room have a day bed which I especially like so much. My son loved to sleep there although we requested an extra bed. The last stay was in Chinese new year and we received chocolates as surprise gift. The breakfast was wonderful. The staffs are friendly. I would always recommend and will go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is certainly pleasing to know that we have met with your expectation every time you visit us.

I have shared your compliments with our staffs and they are thrilled to know that their efforts are noticed and appreciated.

Once again, I thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a weekend getaway with my husband, we wasn't expecting anything glamourous but this hotel has really exceeded our expectations.
Bedlinen is comfy good wifi speed- only one thing I would recommend is the shower head of the room- water wasn't smooth and as nice.
Definitely a good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant and that the services and facilities has met to your expectation.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked the 2 rooms way in advanced for the Hari Raya long weekend. Got the rooms at very good rate for 2 nights. U asked for a baby cot upon arrival and got it despite it being full house. Counter staff was extremely courteous and polite . Even the porter guys were very helpful despite the overwhelming crowd.
Hotel room was a tad old but I am happy with it. Little balcony to view the malacca city and sea. Had a surprise box of chocolate too due to the holiday.
Very pleased with the stay though I had stayed in holiday inn before. This location makes all the flaws pale! Extremely close by to shopping mall, so with the baby stroller, all was good!
Only one thing away to make it 5 star overall, if only they threw in breakfast.
But overall , thumbs up for location and service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant and the service rendered by all our staff met with your expectations.

We will always endeavour to deliver the best product and services to all our guests. You’ll be pleased to know we will be embarking on upgrading work soon.

Last but not least, we cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.