We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at Equatorial Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A night at Equatorial Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Me and my husband, we stayed here for our weekend getaway. The check in and check out process is very smooth.
We requested a room at a higher level and they gave us a room at Level 17. We were happy with the room and the day bed. The room was clean and we had nothing to complaint. It was so nice to relax at the day bed, reading some books or even playing Candy Crush. Our room facing the side of the hotel. We can see old houses, few schools and even the Melaka Straits.
The location is very strategic. Walking distance from few historical buildings and shopping mall.
After a tiring day, exploring and walking around Melaka, you 'll be more than happy to have a good night rest with a comfy bed and pillow. This is a great hotel to stay.
Highly recommended and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at higher level; the view are nicer comparing to the room at the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.
I have received numerous positive comments on our daybed feature.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    484
    144
    31
    20
See reviews for
316
217
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for weekend and we we're given Equator Room 1904. We are happy with the room. As we have informed front office that we need addidional bed, they respond quickly even we arrived late at night. We explored the area and to our surprised that some of the ruins and markets are just walking distance. There's also an Indian Restaurant that is really good closeby. Good food!
Lif Bomba which means bomb in the lift, in some language, caught my attention but i seached it means fire department I think.
Breakfast is included in our package and it ok. Food around the area is a must try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant. We are delighted to know that your request for an additional bed was immediately attended to.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife, daughter and me stayed from 9th June to 11th June,. Not much expectation about the room as the hotel looked dated from exterior. But it was more than expectation when came to the interior. The premier room we got was superb, Newly renovated, spacious, fresh, nice deco,a big sofa bed and a paronamic view of city and sea. Thanks also for hotel staff, front desk especially for the quick and smooth check in/out.

Enjoyed our stay and looking forward to enjoy the same quality of stay and service the next time.

By the way, there was this simple but nice Chinese zi char stall at Meleka Raya that served very nice oyster hokkien noodle (dark gravy type). Just a five minutes walk from the hotel, go straight into Meleka Raya and the first side road on the left after that,. Opened only in the evening :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant. I am glad that the room condition met with your expectation. We will be embarking on more upgrading work especially on the public area.

We truly appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was our first trip out together and for sure, we were quite impressed with the room.

When we arrived, at the lobby, it gave us a pretty good impression with a cafe at the left side which displayed yummy cakes and cookies. I'm a sucker for them and my partner had to pull me away. It was pretty well furnished and clean. At the reception, they were nice and helpful as the smile is always on their faces.

The room was clean, ample space for us to put our luggage and a big wardrobe with iron and ironing board. They had a bath tub with great hot water system. Room was clean and nicely packed to welcome us. We had nothing that we were not satisfied in.

After a long day, we always look forward to return back to hotel to catch a good sleep and for sure, we did. We enjoyed our stay there, it was comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Non-smoking room for sure if you're not a smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I attended a church camp held at the hotel recently. The room is comfortable and the location is very good as it is very near to all the shopping malls and walking distance from Jonker Street.

The check-in and check-out was quick and smooth and although we were all affected by the haze in Melaka, we could still enjoy being confined inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room if you are allergic to cigarette smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am pleased to read that the check in and check out was smoothly done and you had enjoyed your stay despite the haze.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room is clean and pleasant, The hotel staff are friendly, Good location, near shopping areas and also Jonker walk is within walking distance. The famous fort , museums, and the "red house is nearby. Nearby there are good food outlet like Amy, Baynonya nonya food restuarant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Equatorial Hotel for 2 night while Malacca is covered with haze. With it's friendly staff across different levels, I am quite happy to have paid that little bit extra vs some cheaper boutique hotels. Some observations and points to note:
1) If you are driving, remember to drop off your luggages at the front before parking at the basement. Equatorial's lift serves all floors except the basement car park. My son and I ended up lugging the pram and luggages up the stairs after dropping his mom and baby brother at the front. I suppose the hotel could either get their staff to warn us when I dropped my family members off, put up a sign, or perhaps even open up a staff lift for guests. I was only warned at the check in counter.
2) If Jonker St is a key reason for visiting and you want to experience something more local and different, a cosy little hotel like Puri might be a better choice. Equatorial is good but location, though just beside the main shopping mall, is not as ideal for visiting Jonker St.
3) Don't expect too much from the wifi. I could not connect my iPhone and iPad and even when we connected through other phones and laptops, the speed is very slow.
4) Another thing that I wish the hotel can take note of - Babies tend to want to taste and sometimes bite anything they can put their mouths on. So it is important to keep such baby items clean. But we found a layer of dust on the baby cot after it was delivered to our room and some of the paint seem to flake off. So if any Equatorial guest services staff is looking at this, you may want get your guys to wipe the cots a bit before sending to the room and do a check to see if you need to repaint some of them.

In conclusion, Equatorial is a good choice for a family as it has all the facilities you can expect from a big hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and the opportunity to experience friendly service from our staff.

Yes, it is true that all our lifts do not serve the basement and this is purely for security reasons. We do not wish to put our guest’s safety at risk by allowing non registered guests / visitors accessing the guest floor.

On your comments of internet access, the Hotel provides internet services to facilitate guest like yourself to stay connected and our bandwidth capacity enable our guests to work on email and general web browsing. Often than not the slow internet is the result of some users streaming movies which may have caused the poor connection. We are currently embarking on an upgrading work where the system will better manage the traffic of small and large bandwidth users allowing uninterrupted connection for guest to work on e-mails and general browsing.

I have addressed your concerns over the baby cot with my Housekeeper who will be replacing the baby cot with new ones.

I sincerely apologize that the stay was somewhat not flawless, rest assured we will make every effort to improve on our shortcomings.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.