We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated Hotel - Needs improvement” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outdated Hotel - Needs improvement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hotel Equatorial is a 5 star hotel but it is not a 5 star "modern" hotel, the interior looks outdated and facade of building needs to be worked on, probably a fresh coat of paint and cleaning up. Location should be the main perk if you are looking to do some sightseeing. However, there are other hotels in the vicinity that does the job more elegantly.

CARPARK

They have a basement multi storey carpark, but be prepared, there is no lift!. You either stop at the hotel lobby to drop your luggage or be prepared to lug it all up via the staircase or up the slope where your car comes down from. From what I can see, anyone can come down to the carpark and there's no security officers posted there so I am not 100% convinced it is safe, unlike other hotels I have seen which has guards posted. So if you are driving an expensive car, think twice. Moreover, the high traffic in this carpark also makes it more difficult to differentiate between hotel guests or whoever it may be. Suggestion is to post a guard room, improve the gantry system, more bright lights and seal off staircase access with only access via the hotel lobby to basement. Of course, the hotel would have to build a lift first.

BOOKING

Booking was quite easy via their online system, and remarks were attended to. No problems.

CHECKING IN

As we've book the Equator Room, we are asked to check in at 21st floor, sort of a privilege, however the 1st floor check in is more or less the same as both queues are not long. Nothing special here except you can have drinks, free wifi, and their continental breakfast here..which is mainly "imported" from the restaurant downstairs which is serving international buffet. skip the breakfast if you can, it is very basic stuff, too basic I'm afraid.

ROOM

Room is decently sized. The 2 balconies is nothing more than just another view where you can admire the scenary and rather windy and nice. The balcony is too small to have seating space, but smokers probably won't mind for a quick puff there standing.

Internet is hopeless. No wifi unless you pay. Neighbouring hotels are giving it free. So we didn't want to pay for wifi since we needed sleep but is a huge minus to the value, especially paying more for a Equator room. Quite a turn off.

Furnishings are acceptable, except that it looks dated. If you don't mind the looks of a 10 - 20 yr old bathroom design this will suit you. Bath tub is big enough for 1 person and below 1.7m height. I am "thrilled" that I could still see such retro safes in use today.

The door has to be slammed hard in order to lock it. I wasn't aware until I noticed the door still can be opened. Looks like they have to improve on this very basic thing. Another thing, in order to open the door, you need to slot in the hotel card (instead of tapping), and it's not just slotting in and opening up. You need to slot it in & out in a second so it will "tick". So pls be aware.

Lights. If you have trouble turning on the room lights, be prepared to call engineering. For us, after slotting in our card to the card socket, we have to walk in and press a master switch near our bedside to on the foyer lights n desk lamps, which is weird until the technician advise us thats how it was done.

Believe me, even the do not disturb lights looked retro, I don;t even want to mention the room unit display. The carpets everywhere in the hotel looks dirty too. Needs to change.

SERVICE

No comments about room service as I don't think I will need one here, but so far, I think calls to front desk has been responded quickly to.

SWIMMING POOL

The pool at the 4th floor is pretty big but the design is also dated. The stairs to the sides of the pool are not very safe for kids n old people as it is not easily seen and slippery. Else, it will be good enough for a lesiurely swim.

KAMPACHI RESTAURANT

We decided to tryout their japanese buffet for RM50 each person. Honestly, in Singapore you won't get to eat unlimited sashimi at this price...but you will be very disappointed with the variety and taste. Just go for the sashimi, ice cream and desserts, the rest is not worth the mention here. They really should improve on the quality. Service was relatively slow.

HOTEL BREAKFAST

Have your beauty sleep and eat lunch instead elsewhere.


Don't recommend this hotel for people who want a cosy experience...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    507
    153
    34
    22
See reviews for
331
225
41
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hotel Equatorial remains our No. 1 choice in our annual visit to Malacca with our extended family of young and old. We like the hotel for its excellent location and convenient carparking facility in the hotel basement (free for hotel guests).
Overall, the hotel is well maintained despite its age and its standard hasn't dropped over the years. We stayed in the newer Premier rooms which come with an inviting day bed. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable (but firmer pillows please) and the bathrooms were of a good size.
We recommend this hotel for those travelling as a family. If you are travelling solo or as a couple, you may wish to try the smaller and cosier boutique hotels along Jonker Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room overlooking the town and Malacca Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor, Johor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about the Equatorial. We stayed there for a night in their Premier Room, and were given one on a higher floor with a view of the sea, and the city. You could ask for one with a balcony if you like, but I loved their day bed, it's right next to the large window overlooking Malacca town and you can lounge their for hours just enjoying the view.

We decided to forgo booking a room with breakfast as they were giving out RM80++ dining voucher promotions and we were free to spend it at any of their restaurants. We spread the voucher out over breakfast at their coffee shop (wonderful nasi lemak and teh tarik) and lunch at their fantastic Nyonya restaurant. I have never tried Ayam Buah Keluak and it was delicious. Great service as well.

Swimming pool was nice. Lots of shady trees so leaves kept falling into it, but the maintenance people were very dilligent in cleaning it. No end deeper than 1.2m if I remember correctly though.

We wanted to have ikan bakar (famous grilled fish + assorted seafood) and as there are lots of ikan bakar joints in Malacca we were quite unsure as to which one to go to. Equatorial Melaka can definitely boast that their concierge is one of the most helpful, obsequious in the country, and he is better than any GPS.

My booking was done last minute, but from the rate of service and quality of stay, you could never tell. Great job.

Room Tip: Higher floor, seaview. Premier rooms are nice enough if you're on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the outside you would be able to observed that it is an aging hotel. The interior design and furnishing appears outdated. But you have to acknowledge the effort put into their maintenance of the place. For example, their gym equipment (treadmills, bicycle etc.) looks ancient but worked just fine. The room we stayed in was clean and furnishing was nicely arranged. Location of the hotel is perfect; right opposite a mall, supermaket (Giant) just around the corner, about 10 minutes away from the heritage area and 15 minutes walk away from the popular Jonker walk. Nothing much to complain about except that that buffet breakfast was really dull and boring =)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My booking was very last minute. I booked on the day I checked in. I wanted to book holiday inn but it was fully booked. After reading the terms and conditions, I called them and they confirmed that they had received my booking. One hiccup was that I booked for connecting rooms but did not get them. They explained that I book late. This is one of the earliest hotel that was built more than 10 years ago. I was expecting it to be a little rundown but I think they just refurbished. The rooms looks clean. The service was good and the staff was friendly.
One thing to note though is that there is no lift connecting from the carpark to the lobby. If you carry heavy luggage, you may have to dropped them at the lobby before you park the car. Location of the hotel is good. It is a short walk to the malls and within walking distance to the old settlement.

Room Tip: The room I booked was premier room. It has a bay window big enough for 2 children to sleep. A family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is located in a very strategic place as it is right next to the historical sites of Malacca and also just across from Pahlawan Square and Mohkota Parade where it is easy to do some shopping, while china town is only walking distance away where lot of food outlets & professional massage parlors available. Just a 15 minutes walk would take you to Jonker street where the night market is lively, cafes, bars and world famous chicken rice restaurant. The hotel ambient is more like a family and tourist hotel but with good amenities, even though it is little aged with a colonial look. Rooms are big, spacious and quiet too and bed is comfortable. The person in the travel desk in front of the hotel arranged a cheap taxi for me for the sight seeing, which helped me to cover all the attractions in short time.

The hotel is little aged, especially the exterior, but inside is ok and if I visit Melaka again, definitely I will stay here itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booked the same hotel 1 year ago to celebrate our anninversary. This year on 16 Mar, 2013, we booked the same for the anniversary again and rest & relax during the school holiday. Room were cleaned and aircon was working great as some hotels the centralized air-conditioning were very bad. Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.