We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you ask for, you get.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johor, Johor, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What you ask for, you get.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about the Equatorial. We stayed there for a night in their Premier Room, and were given one on a higher floor with a view of the sea, and the city. You could ask for one with a balcony if you like, but I loved their day bed, it's right next to the large window overlooking Malacca town and you can lounge their for hours just enjoying the view.

We decided to forgo booking a room with breakfast as they were giving out RM80++ dining voucher promotions and we were free to spend it at any of their restaurants. We spread the voucher out over breakfast at their coffee shop (wonderful nasi lemak and teh tarik) and lunch at their fantastic Nyonya restaurant. I have never tried Ayam Buah Keluak and it was delicious. Great service as well.

Swimming pool was nice. Lots of shady trees so leaves kept falling into it, but the maintenance people were very dilligent in cleaning it. No end deeper than 1.2m if I remember correctly though.

We wanted to have ikan bakar (famous grilled fish + assorted seafood) and as there are lots of ikan bakar joints in Malacca we were quite unsure as to which one to go to. Equatorial Melaka can definitely boast that their concierge is one of the most helpful, obsequious in the country, and he is better than any GPS.

My booking was done last minute, but from the rate of service and quality of stay, you could never tell. Great job.

Room Tip: Higher floor, seaview. Premier rooms are nice enough if you're on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    558
    166
    39
    23
See reviews for
364
240
44
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the outside you would be able to observed that it is an aging hotel. The interior design and furnishing appears outdated. But you have to acknowledge the effort put into their maintenance of the place. For example, their gym equipment (treadmills, bicycle etc.) looks ancient but worked just fine. The room we stayed in was clean and furnishing was nicely arranged. Location of the hotel is perfect; right opposite a mall, supermaket (Giant) just around the corner, about 10 minutes away from the heritage area and 15 minutes walk away from the popular Jonker walk. Nothing much to complain about except that that buffet breakfast was really dull and boring =)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My booking was very last minute. I booked on the day I checked in. I wanted to book holiday inn but it was fully booked. After reading the terms and conditions, I called them and they confirmed that they had received my booking. One hiccup was that I booked for connecting rooms but did not get them. They explained that I book late. This is one of the earliest hotel that was built more than 10 years ago. I was expecting it to be a little rundown but I think they just refurbished. The rooms looks clean. The service was good and the staff was friendly.
One thing to note though is that there is no lift connecting from the carpark to the lobby. If you carry heavy luggage, you may have to dropped them at the lobby before you park the car. Location of the hotel is good. It is a short walk to the malls and within walking distance to the old settlement.

Room Tip: The room I booked was premier room. It has a bay window big enough for 2 children to sleep. A family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is located in a very strategic place as it is right next to the historical sites of Malacca and also just across from Pahlawan Square and Mohkota Parade where it is easy to do some shopping, while china town is only walking distance away where lot of food outlets & professional massage parlors available. Just a 15 minutes walk would take you to Jonker street where the night market is lively, cafes, bars and world famous chicken rice restaurant. The hotel ambient is more like a family and tourist hotel but with good amenities, even though it is little aged with a colonial look. Rooms are big, spacious and quiet too and bed is comfortable. The person in the travel desk in front of the hotel arranged a cheap taxi for me for the sight seeing, which helped me to cover all the attractions in short time.

The hotel is little aged, especially the exterior, but inside is ok and if I visit Melaka again, definitely I will stay here itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booked the same hotel 1 year ago to celebrate our anninversary. This year on 16 Mar, 2013, we booked the same for the anniversary again and rest & relax during the school holiday. Room were cleaned and aircon was working great as some hotels the centralized air-conditioning were very bad. Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto-shi, Kyoto, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel was first recomended to my father by a dignitary and so we decided to check it out. We have been going there ever since. My family and I started going there when I was 12 and now that i'm a young adult revisting the hotel, everything is just as I remember. The service is still, in my opinion, excellent as the staff are attentive to your needs, moreoever the hotel boasts facilities such as the equinox gym, a more than accomadating pool with friendly poof staff and a spa for those of you who would like to feel spoilt. Not to mention the equator club located on the 22nd floor for executive members who are offered free breakfast every morning.
One of my recommondations would be to stay in presidential suite at least for night, but be warned, it doesn't come cheap. The amazing view, from the three different verandas however make up for that. The hotel is also situated next to two of the biggest shopping malls so is perfect for those of you who love shopping.
It is an ideal place for family, as there are many tourists who travel with there families who often chose Equatorial as their place of stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 21st floor and above have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our family spent the recent Lunar New Year 2013 in Malacca.

Having spent the last 3 Lunar New Year in Sentosa, we decided that this year we shall re-visit Malacca and stay for 2 nights. We set off on New Year eve. There was a slight jam along the way, hence we arrived about 1.5 hours later than usual.

Check-in was pretty fast. We have got 2 connecting deluxe rooms at 14th floor. Yippee! The rooms were spacious and clean, and we were immersed in the happy mood of the new year and re-visit at Malacca.

Our reunion dinner was at the hotel's coffeehouse. As it was the Lunar New Year period, chinese cuisine with auspicious names were served. And the best part: Do-it-yourself Yusheng. We have a happy time doing the lou-hei!

Breakfast next day was appetizing, waking up our stomach with plain porridge. Quite a good variety of the buffet spread. After breakfast, it's shopping time! This hotel is so conveniently located to the Palawan shopping centre that it takes less than 3 minutes walk to the MacDonalds at the shopping centre!

We walked through the Palawan shopping centre and arrived at Mahkota Shopping Centre, a must-come place every time we visit Malacca. I am greatly impressed by the sheltered walk-way at the open carpark leading from the traffic light outside Mahkota shopping centre. I still remember how hot it was at the open carpark when it was first built!

We had our dinner at the Seri Nonya restaurant in the hotel. Among the dishes, chap chye and fried kangkong were tastefully prepared.

As per our previous stay at this hotel, we knew that there will be lion dance performance on 2nd day of the Lunar New Year. At 11.30 am, the performance started. It is even a bigger scale this year, with four lions dancing and one of them even climbed up the pole to perform!

This was truly a very happy trip for our family to start of the new year. On our way back to Singapore, we are already planning for our next visit to Malacca!

Room Tip: Ask for connecting rooms if you are travelling with kids or elderly. It is really very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.