We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Everly Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Everly Resort to your Saves list
Everly Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10km Jalan Tanjung Kling, Melaka 76400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

I have a good stay overall, I like the room, especially,its spacious, balcony overlooking the beach however the furniture is kinda old and musky.
I think the breakfast buffet is great, lot of choices,attentive waiter/waitress.
Pool is ok, the flowers/garden however aren't well kept.
The beach is pretty depressing to look at,but it isn't the hotel's fault.
It just that, if you expect nice scenery, this won't be the right place for you.
Wireless is available only at room facing pool area,all function rooms and lobby ONLY.
Overall, I would like to come and stay here but on business trip, not on holidays.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    17
    16
    11
See reviews for
29
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

The hotel has a very impressive entrance. The lobby/ dining area is pretty ok too. Pool is quite big but crowded - I guess since the hotel is away from town guests can't do much but swim.
The flooring in the elevator is cracked. Our 2-bdrm apt. smells a little (like damp odor). One of the toilets has bad plumbing and we had to call the maintenance crew up twice in a day.

Major renovation needed.

We booked for a night and were contemplating an extension but after what we've seen we changed our mind.

I understood from the staff that the hotel is currently undergoing renovation. When I asked for the expected year of completion, the staff was unable to tell as they've only started on the 13th floor and that alone has taken 1 year! Do the math.....

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — Too old
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

This hotel used to be known as The Riviera and is now the Everly Resort. My cousin held his wedding dinner in the ballroom here over 10 years ago, when it was brand new.
The rooms are huge – they are literally spacious suites with kitchenettes, with the beds separated from the main living area/kitchenette. The kitchenette consists of a sink, fridge and countertop connected to the bedroom. The bedroom consists of 2 twin beds, cabinets and a writing desk, all with ample space. It is separated from the rest of the suite by closing the wooden doors. The bathroom is a little larger than usual, with a tarnishing/rusting mirror, stains on the walls, grime on the shower stall tiles and a few tiles were cracked. Our room was on the 11th floor and was in better condition than rooms in the lower floors which we stayed on previous visits. I recall the higher floors are less frequently rented and should be in better condition.
The pool is large, but was heavily used while I was there, so I didn’t use it. Our room came with free buffet breakfast. Typical breakfasts included cereals, bread/pastries, juices and local dishes such as nasi lemak with chicken curry and plain Chinese porridge with condiments. One unique asset of this hotel is its location – on the shores of the Straits of Malacca on one side and kampong neighbourhoods with forests and plantations in the background. You can’t see views like this staying in one of the hotels in downtown Malacca.
It appears the current and previous management have not put in work to properly maintain the hotel. The exterior walls are blackened (and looks ugly from a distance) and desperately need a new coat of paint. The interior of the rooms also need a fresh coat of paint, the couch cushions look really old and the bathroom remodeled to remove the grime, cracked wall tiles and rusty mirror. We were willing to put up with these less than ideal superficial conditions due to the budget prices and the view, but if you desire better conditions, you might want to look for a newer hotel downtown.

  • Liked — OK prices, good views of sea and greenery
  • Disliked — Outside and inside need fresh coat of paint, remodeling of room & bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

Great resort. Food was amazing. Staff really friendly and helpful.Part of the day we were the only 2 people by the pool.Huge rooms. Seperated living area, bedroom and kitchen area. Photos on the official website don't show it justice.We had room overlooking the pool.

Hotel has recently been taken over and a bar by the straits was closed and the italian restaurant. This didn't cause us any problems as there is a bar and great restaurant by main reception .

The hotel is about a 10 -15 mins taxi journey to the centre of melaka.

  • Liked — food and location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nohisham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

The accomodation provided by the hotel is excellent for families and at a reasonable price. This is my first trip to this resort which is under a new management. I have stayed here twice before. I stayed in room 753 from 31/12/06 till 1/1/07. I was captivated by the previous management which is under Mandarin Hotel that I decided to stay again here. The new management staff was not courteous, which we found out soon enough after check-in. Although we made a booking, the receptionist immediately inform my wife that her name was not on the reserve list, although we have received confirmation on our reservation a week earlier. Anyway, we are given a room since there are vacancies. During check-in we were not told that there is going to be a new year party, which is going to be very noisy till 1 am on 1st January, if you are planning to sleep early.
Another bad experience was during dinner on new years eve, where the hotel was having a function at the pool. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant as we dont want the buffet offered at the pool new year's function. There is no waiter attending as most of the hotel staff are at the pool attending to the party's dinner. After seating ourselves for 10 minutes and calling out for the waiter, a waitress approached us and start taking orders. The malay waitress could not understand english although the menu was in english, that we have to show her which item we want to order and she has to copy exactly what is written in the menu. To make matter worst, our first order arrived 15 minutes and our last order arrived one and a half hour later. We did not get any apology from the staff, but the senior waiter blame the waiter not writing the order properly.
On the morning of 1st January 2007, we have to queue to get a table for breakfast. The hotel could have open up more table for as the hotel have already known the number of guests a day before. Even after we got our table, most of the food are finished and replenishing was slow, that I have to wait half an hour before I could get my drinks.
We filled in the survey form provided by the hotel and we wish the hotel would sent us an assurance that in future they would improve before we step in this hotel again.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Staff attitude
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

My friend and my family drive to Riviera Bay Resort for a weekend stay from Singapore. First of all, the map provided in the hotel's website comes with a minor error which causes us to be lost for a while. But luckily we managed to make a quick recovery back to the right track and reach the resort.

I can say that the lobby looks good but the exterior of the building needs to be furnish. There are algae, spider webs, dirty walls and also many insects around the corridor of the apartments. The small 14" TV doesn't provide much entertainment to our stay at all. It has only 2 clear channels and the rest were distorted. When we requested for a change of rooms, they replied that there were no rooms of a similar size available and suggested us to switch to a slightly bigger room on an extra payment of RM$50 per night? I find it ridiculous and so opted for a change in TV set. But it was never deliver to us. My friend's wife has also requested for the room service to replace the faulty hair dryer in our room. The initial call to them was 10pm. But after making the 3rd call to them at 12 midnight, they replied that the room service guys have gone home and will only be able to replace it on the next following day. What nonsense? Room service is unacceptable.

The pool was crowded on weekends and the water doesn't looks clean either.

However, The conceige staff there has been good. They gave us good advice on places to visit and also got us taxi service to town.

Overall, I would say that the room service standard has dampen our stay there and it will take some effort to convince me to visit again.

  • Liked — Beach front and Buffet Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room Service, dirty exterior of the building and far from town.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try hotels situated in town areas.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2006

Firstly, this hotel has changed its name. It is now the 'Everly Resort Hotel'. It is apparently under new management, but we couldn't find out when the change happened.

This hotel has great potential - It doesn't seem that old, has a great swimming pool, very spacious rooms, impressive lobby area, right on the beach etc.
However it was clear that maintenance has not been kept up. It was clean, but tired-looking and in need of repair.
Several of the restaurants / facilities were no longer in existance, like the pool bar and Chinese restaurant.

Although we loved the spacious room with separate living and sleeping area, the worst part about our stay was the bed. It had hard lumps (or springs?) jutting out which made sleeping very uncomfortable and there was a strong mouldy smell coming from it, which was very unpleasant. We looked around the bed and the wall behind the headboard was grey with mould.

After an uncomfortable night, we asked if we could have another room, but we were told there was none available. There were new bus-tours arriving every evening, so I can imagine that they were full, but nothing else was done to try to fix the problem.

In my opinion having a comfortable bed is crucial for a good, relaxing holiday. If it wasn't for this one problem we would probably feel much more positive about the hotel.

  • Liked — Newspaper every morning, good room service, wireless internet (but only on your own laptop)
  • Disliked — The bed was terrible - painful to sleep on & mouldy.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to pay for taxi-trips in order to get to Malaka town, historical sites, shops.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everly Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everly Resort

Address: 10km Jalan Tanjung Kling, Melaka 76400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Everly Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Everly Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everly Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everly Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.