We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive surprise !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Melaka to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Renaissance Melaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 155 Hotels in Melaka
Hong Kong Region, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Very positive surprise !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed for 1 weekend night in Melaka on an excursion from Singapore. We arrived around 2 pm and were escorted to the club floor on the 24th floor for check in. We had a wonderful suite (room number 2411) which was spacious with all possible comfort and equiped and furnished in a very tasty way. The way we like it !

The exec lounge is very nice and maybe one of the cosiest lounges I have even been too. Breakfast served in the lounge is excellent with a mixture of buffet and a la carte (like fresh juices). Also the cocktail at 5h30 pm is really good.

Location of the hotel is fine. 15 minutes walk to the place of the action. Though you can go from the Renaissance to the river in a few minutes and then do a wonderful riverwalk to the city center which we can strongly recommend. Also to come back in the evening : the riverwalk has a lot of lights and at no moment in time, we felt unsafe.

A strong recommendation !

Room Tip: Club floor suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    240
    147
    51
    14
See reviews for
151
161
31
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I am sure that like many people I only ended up here because all the nicer boutique hotels were fully booked.

To address some of the comments in previous reviews. There's nothing wrong with the location. Melaka is small and this is easy walking distance to the sights. If you turn left rather than right when you exit the front then you can take a much quieter street to the centre with little traffic and more interesting shops. Anyway, the Renaissance is right by the Majestic and nobody complains about that hotel's location so I can only assume that anyone who complains about the location is the kind of person who would complain about anything.

But... Renaissance is the boutique/up-market brand of Marriott and frankly this hotel doesn't cut it. It's just too old and tatty. One time, many years ago, this was a smart hotel. Probably the best in town. But those days are gone. The styling and design are classic 1970s. The furnishings are worn - and not in a heritage sort of way. But in a worn out scuffed sort of way.

The dominance of wood and beige in the tired old styling betrays a hotel that promotes itself as one of the city's best. It can't be. Other niggles include the absurd price of wifi in the rooms. Wifi is free these days at top hotels and not used as tool to gouge money from guests who are already overpaying.

The staff were good and food was fine. But the whole enterprise came across like it was stuck in a deteriorating timewharp.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance for 10 days during a biz trip therefore I won’t comment on prices. The hotel has a huge lobby and looks generally a bit old-fashioned. Rooms are average and should have been pretty nice some 15 years ago. The service is good, even if it took some time before the clerks in the lobby could provide meaningful instruction on how to access internet (and even if it would have been for free with my customer profile, it was initially accounted on my bill). The key point above the average is the breakfast: you can choose several breakfast types ranging from western, to Indian, to Chinese,… and for every type there’s a corner where you can order the specialty you like. It is worth to mention that you can get fruit or vegetable based drinks prepared on the fly and the clerks are very friendly and open. Considering that Melaka doesn’t offer too much in the night, the live performance in the lobby is good before going to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

many eateries just around the corner. no issue on safety concern as the area is bright and happening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I came here for business trip, only a night stay. Should stay longer than a night actually. Quite close to everywhere... even a bit congested. Room is tip top, same goes with the service and everything in there. Food is OK - average but lots of variety during breakfast. Value for money, i would like to come again in the future :)

Room Tip: I think top floor is better and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed in Room 1408 for 2 nights. View of the Melacca River waterfront was nice especially during sunrise. But our room was so noisy from the music played by the store across the street, all day till mid-night. Housekeeping was another issue. A layer of dust covered virtually every surface of the fittings. Hotel is dated but beds were comfortable. Breakfast and dim sum lunch were ok. We liked the freshly squeezed fruit & veg juice for breakfast eventhough the queue could be long. There are many newer hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the river if you are a light sleeper. Stroll along the waterfront at sunset was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel has been here for a number of years. As you would expect within Asia the lobby is well decorated. Once you leave the lobby you get to the sort of hotel that simply is not built today. There is nice wood work everywhere that gives it a dated but very comfortable look.

The rooms are spacious and yes the fittings are little tired but the room rate is extremely reasonable and takes the fact that there is the odd small stain into account. Overall the rooms are quite satisfactory.

The service we encountered reflected that most of the staff were trying very hard indeed. On check in there was a queue so one senior staff member directed my wife to a chair and organised a fruit juice for all who were waiting.
Later when we left they gave us a slightly later exit time and again directed us to the lounge area while they ordered a cab for the half hour drive to the train.

The breakfast choice is very good but very popular with the locals as well as the residents. Here there was evidence of untrained staff struggling to keep up but we also saw clear evidence of the manager with eyes in the back of his head actively rallying and directing his people.

This is not five star hotel and people should not expect it to be at the rates charged. It is pleasant four star hotel, reasonably situated, with big pool, good gym and a number of good staff. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Plaza Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Melaka

Address: Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Renaissance Melaka)
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Melaka
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ramada Plaza Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.