We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

Recently took whole family for holiday there but was very dissapointed with the service. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment. When we checked in, the room was dirty as it was not cleaned after the last occupants left...we had to call them to come and clean it up for us... when asked for an extra bed the housekeeping staff told us it was on the way but bed only came 3 hours later. Tiles in the bathroom were broken and the bathtub was rusted. Lift very slow and small....bed in the room was broken and rocking like a rocking chair.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — broken tiles in the bathroom and rusted bathtub
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    66
    101
    63
    83
See reviews for
169
41
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SINGAPORE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

Pool water is dirty...wonder when was last time they change it?
Pool attendant more interested in enforcing strict compliance of rules than serving guests needs and providing service.
Freely blowing whistle away like a refree in charge.
Room is old and run down....tile broken and dirty.
Most disappointing is being double charges for room
in billing.
Result in a lot of inconvenient bet. credit card company and hotels before dispute settle.
Hotel not helpful to reverse charges dispite documentary evidence.
Sight.
Beware and check billing carefully everybody pleasesssse!
Yes, they have remove Century management franchaise from
their hotel management and on their own some time already.
No more CENTURY name use now.
Not likely to return to it barring drastic changes happening?

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We booked to stay at the Makhota (no longer 'Century') for 5
nights over christmas as it had a pool for my 15 yr old son.

3 days before we arrived we had an email advising us that we had been down graded from a junior suite to a 2 bed delux apartment due to urgent maintenance work.

Upon arrival the (very helpful) duty manager expalined that as a result of all the heavy rain (worst floods in 100 years) there was water leaking through the roof in the corridor. 'No Problem' we said.

The manager took us up to our now upgraded room - the premier suite. The carpet in the corridor was a bit damp but nothing to worry about.

Our room was suite was 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 2 kitchens and a massive lounge. Greeeeeat.... so we thought.

Only 2 TV's with very limited viewing and VERY poor reception.

The room was very much in need of refurbishment. The bathroom tiles were grubby. Wallpaper was coming off the walls and there was a musty smell at all times. The carpet and the burn of a clothes iron in the middle of the room

FOOD - leaves a lot to be desired. The buffet - AVOID IT. The worst fried rice in 3 weeks in S E Asia. Same for the restaurant.

Swiming pool - great for little kids...BUT, you cannot use the pool if it is raining in case of a lighting strike (the pool is in a court yard surrounded by 6 story tall buildings)

One day my son had stayed in bed with a bad case of the runs. That evening he said he woilud like some plain steamed chicken and rice. The chicken was NOT cooked - still pink and bleeding - not the best for a bad gut.

On the up side, the staff are very helpful.

We paid the same here as we had paid for 2 exexctive rooms at the Traders in KL.
Compare a 50 yr old malt whisky with a McDonalds milk shake.

Have I given you a clear idea?

As for Melaka town - what a shame. They seem to be turning the whole historic (World Heritage) site into Disney Theam Park. The historical heart of the town is chock full of tacky stalls selling junk made in china. 18 years ago - my first visit, this was a great place to visit........... I will NOT visit Melaka again

unless it is for 1 day to do some shopping in one of the numerous NEW shopping malls full of designer shops.

And then we come to the departure. We had booked a bus to Singapore through the hotel. Our tickets arrived and we were advised to be in the foyer for 1.30pm

time ticks by.

Eventually we get on a bus that drops us at another hotel where we wait for about 45 minutes for our own bus.

Our bus arrives AND - guess what - goes back to the Makhota to drop people off. How Dumb.

Now it gets silly.

Our bus is still in Meleka and the 'tour guide' on our express bus to Singapore says we are stoppoing at a honey farm for taste honey drink. MORE time wasted.

After 25 minutes sitting on the bus outside the honey farm we depart BACK to the Makhota to drop of the 'tour guide'.

Eventually, we leave Malaka at 4.45pm. We got to Singapore at 10pm instead of the anticipated 6.30pm.

AVOID
"5 STAR TOURS" (the name of the tour company) at any cost - walk if you have to.

Sorry for any spelling mistakes - still got jet lag.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — Do Not Go Here
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

It was my relative's wedding in Melaka and they booked a 3-bedroom apartment for 2 nights at Century Mahkota to accomodate me and my family members. As a regular in Melaka, I have never come across good comments about the hotel. If it wasn't for my relative's wedding, this hotel will never be my choice.

The hotel really live up to its name (bad name though)! The decorations and the state of the apartment looked really old and shabby. The bathrooms are unbearably dirty. The shower curtains are old and disgusting. The towels smelt horrible as if they were not washed before. The pillow cases are very old and some torn, some stained with stale blood stains. The wardrobes are old and damaged. The taps don't work properly. One of them refused to turn off and water flowed for the whole night despite countless calls to the reception.

The lobby and various facilities looked run down and shabby. The railings to the balcony seemed shaky and risky to lean on. It is not difficult to spot unused furniture or decorations all around, broken tiles, cockroaches etc. All besides the pool is worth visiting. Whereas for the staff, we were by then too disappointed to observe their services and attitudes. All we could think of is to get away from this place right after our function.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Tips/Secrets — Never chose this hotel.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

We decided to stay in Makhota due to its proximity to the Shopping Centre by the same name. This is actually my family's fifth stay but it will definitely be our last for any visits to melaka. The service and rooms seems to get progressively worse with each stay at the hotel. This time, the aircon wasn't working and even though we got the technicians to come twice to look at it. Each time, they would say that the aircon is working fine. It was absolutely stuffy! eventually, we got an air-cooler unit to help us through our one night weekend stay.

There were also what seemed like a blood stain on one of the bath towels. The shower was a sad trickle of water. And trying to get the water to be at the right temperature required a skilled hand. Whenever we managed to get the right temperature, we will not touch the knobs untill the whole family of 4 has showered.

After this bad experience, we determined that this would be our last stay at Makhota. Anyway, equatorial is also just a stone's throw from the Shopping Centre....

  • Liked — Its proximity to shopping and historical sites
  • Disliked — The room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here if you have a choice.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

Stayed at the Century Makhota in Malacca in May 2006. First impressions are deceiving, upon arrival you will be greeted with friendly doorman and bellhops, check in was smooth. After care of the hotel is non existant....If you speak only english DO NOT stay at this hotel as they will not understand a thing you say....If you need directions or help with anything in Malacca you will be better off asking a trishaw driver than a staff member at the front desk, whether it be the check in staff or the Information desk.

The safe did not open, there was no a/c control it took several requests before someone came. Asked 2 different people about towel for pool and got different answer each time....

Bathroom shower is something to be desired, no bath plugs.....

Food in the Cafe was nice, pools both clean....

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

We stayed at the Mahkota in August 2004. Upon check-in the reception staff were not very friendly and advised they did not have an ocean-view room. Based on the amount of people wandering around, the resort was empty. Our first night was a long one. Some of the lights didn't work, and the A/C was hit and miss also. The toilet would not flush. In the middle of the night I woke up to use the toilet and there were ants EVERYWHERE in the bathroom. No joke. I rubbed my eyes twice and sure enough they were there, all over our toiletries, on the counter, in the sink, on the floor, and in the bath. It was a horror movie moment. The next morning my husband spoke with someone at reception and we were moved to another room with an oceanview [despite being told the previous day that there were no rooms available]. This room was clean, comfortable, and ant free.

The complimentary breakfast is nice and the pizza bar and fresh juices are amazing. I was expecting more of a "beach resort" as advertised online but there were no beaches and the view was partially blocked by what appeared to be a man-made island with construction of another building.

Overall we had a nice stay at the hotel, once our room situation was rectified. The rickshaw ride through town is really worth it. We managed to get a rickshaw that didn't have the blaring music and our "driver" was a fantastic tour guide. We learned a lot about the history of the town.

Some of the market stalls try to rip you off, but everything is so inexpensive there it's worth it to pay a little bit extra. Check out the awesome restaurant "secret recipe" which has award winning cakes and amazing tom yam soup. We also ate at a really wonderful Perkuranian restaurant where the menu was entirely in Malay but the waitress translated everything for us. If you enjoy killer spicyness this restaurant is great.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.