We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old rooms, poor facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“old rooms, poor facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights and we booked a 2-bedder apartment. Got a fantastic deal for only 100 SGD per night (4 pax total).

When we walked into the unit, we were utterly disappointed as the real condition of the room is very different from the hotel website pictures. The TV is super tiny and old .. I think I last saw those type of TVs back in the early 1990s. My wife sat on the dining chair and she got bitten by some bugs (hidden inside the chair cushion). We turned on the water tap and utter shocked to see that the water is YELLOW! Trick is to let the tap run for couple of minutes before a "more-decent" water runs through... but whatever it is, please boil the water before consumption unless you intend to stay in the room for the rest of your trip nursing a bad tummy.

Please be aware that no cooking is allowed for short-term stays (i.e. stove is not allowed for use, you can only use the electric kettle).

The bed mattress is rock-hard; I think the mattress in my army-bunk felt more comfortable than those in Mahkota. The bed linens are rough; I reckon its rougher than my skin.

Overall, if you dont mind the above and have perhaps found a superb online hotel deal, you can consider staying in Mahkota. If not, I reckon there are better choices in Melaka.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    75
    115
    69
    91
See reviews for
191
43
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Room type was wrong in the first place, i booked for a 2 room apartment suite with 1 double bed and 2 single bedded room but the management claimed they only have 2 single bedded room.
Room was warm when we entered it took 30 minutes too cool down the room temperature.
Lift was slow.
The poor maintenance and poor cleanliness of the room leave a bad impression to us. Water hose was broken, tiles were dirty. water were yellowish or dirty. carpet with stain chio and broken wardrobe. The guest amenities was good but with the poor maintenance of the room it reduce the satisfaction to stay with the hotel.
Called operator for assistant, instead of assist the guest to direct the call but they told as the number to dial. have to rent or borrow the wine glass personally from the lounge. The pool was dirty patrons to the pool were not in proper attire and was very crowded.
The good point is the hotel was located at the major attraction.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Must wear swimming suit. No t-shirt and legging. Water dirty in bathrooms. Sliding door can open. Dangerous for kids. Not suitable for muslim and family with child. Staff and guard unfriendly and long face.

Room Tip: rooms corner more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hugh, nice and superb Hotel. Very comfortable for family. The stay was good but the bedsheet was torn.
Spacious room and helpful staff. Big pool. It will be good if there is free WI-FI.
Location is very convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Pleasant stay with walking distance to tourist attraction and shopping mall.
Staffs are friendly and helpful.
My favorite complimentary breakfast is Nasi Lemak with sambal chilli.
Hotel stay will be perfect with a WIFI connection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staffs are kind and helpful, hotel cleanliness is kept. Requested for 2 single-bed rooms but was given a complimentary suite so we can all stay together. Walking distance(about 15 to 20mins) to tourist attractions like Jonker Street, Pink City and Dataran Pahlawan shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Brownish water coming out of the pipes, beds very small. Something stinking really bad in the breakfast area. Worst thing; the filter grids around the pool are so rotten through that my 5 year old son fell through one into a half meter deep hole banging his head on the concrete. I count myself lucky nothing worse happened. When I went to reception to vent my anger they just stared at me with a vacant look as if they did not care one way or another. And they probably don't. Let alone that they secured the place so other guests would not fall into the Dave hole. This place should be used as target practice by the army. I travel a lot and have stayed at many sub standard places, but this joint beats them all.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.