We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst 'hotel' experience!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 16, Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #91 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst 'hotel' experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Apartment is privately owned, it is not owned by a hotel group. Please change the name, it's so misleading!!!

Booked 2 bedroom apartment and was not maintained. Toilet was dirty with yellow stains and TV was spoilt. No cable was fine but local free-to-air channels also were not able to view! No signal at all! Kitchen sink was also dirty. Obviously shows that it was not maintained and not cleaned for so long!

Accidentally booked the wrong date via Asiarooms.com. The apt onwer contacted me personally and wanted me to transfer $$$ to her Malaysian bank account while I was in SG, if not my booking will be forfeited! Had to go the trouble of getting someone with a Malaysian bank account! This is not even a hotel group but a private apt owner. She could have just blocked the dates for me with my deposit done over at the website!

Thank goodness it was just for 1 night but RM300 is still a rip-off for a lousy apt! Been to better serviced apt in Malaysia!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rheatoreque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 11am, and tried to have an early check-in. The staff at the counter did not bother to check whether the room was available but told us that it was simply too early for check in. Earliest check in would be at 12noon. He was very rude at telling us it was simply company policy not to allow check in before 12noon even though the room was vacant. Stayed in the 2 room apartment. The key reader didn't work well, had to try slotting the card in in all sorts of rhythm and pace to see which would work, took us about 10-15min each time trying to get into the room. As soon as the door open, a gush of stale air greeted us. Was very unpleasant. Rooms were very old, not kept well, bath area was grimy and TV had bad reception. There is no wifi in the room, and lobby wifi was bad as well. Getting a cab was horrendous, we waited up to 15min each time for a cab - shouldn't hotels have cabs on stand-by or tie-ins with drivers in this case? In the end we hopped onto a cab that dropped someone off rather than continue waiting for the called cab. Only plus side that for a family of 4 you can stay together in a room at a relatively affordable price. Other than that, will not recommend this hotel. There are better more convenient places for the same price range.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellehooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked the 2 bedroom apartment. It was a disappointment. The bedrooms were small. The furniture was old & outdated especially the TV. The master bathroom had 2 doors (can be accessed from the bedroom & the living room), which I find weird. Even though there's a tub, the kids would rather shower than take a bath.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorynN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This is officially the worst hotel I've ever stayed in my whole life. Booked the 2 bed room apartment. Horrible! Walked into the room, and sensed a strong horrible odour smell. The furnitures were all outdated. There were fungus and mould in our bathroom, and the sink was stuck. We didn't dare to even use the bathroom to urinate. There were Mosquitos and bugs everywhere. TV was so old. Would never in my life to back to this hotel. There are better boutique hotels in jonker street. Regret for not booking there earlier. Thank goodness is only for one night.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krys93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013 as part of a large group. Front desk was overwhelmed by our arrival and took a long time to process us all, despite our pre-booking. Checked into a 2-bedroom apartment in block 8. Greeted by a musty odour, dated furniture and dodgy plumbing in the bathroom/toilet (bathtub drained very slowly, water cistern overflowed). Water from taps yellowish-brown. Tiny CRT TV set with fuzzy reception. Firm mattress + soft pillow = just comfortable sleep. Buffet breakfast - decent spread, good value for money. Good sized pool - the best part of our stay.

Room Tip: Pick rooms in the 'hotel' wing and avoid the 'apartment' wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollicisduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stay for 1 night on Christmas Eve 24th Dec 2013,2 unit of 2 bedrooms apartment, unit 8041 & 8044. The lock was broken,hard to open it wt the card provided. Water leaking in the bathroom (8041). The bed was comfortable but the furniture was old. Other than that is ok. Walking distance to shopping mall,just opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: I book 2 units corner suites..much bigger.avoid facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

There were 2 families, so we had 2 units of 2 bedroom apartments. I was horrified to see stains on the coffee table, yellowish brownish stain on one of the bedsheet and the toilets all yucky with unsightly stains. Simple accommodation is fine, but dirty and air conditioner not working is not!!!!
One of the unit at level 9 had problems with air conditioning and the service technician came to check but were unable to fix due to bigger problem with the facility's piping.
I read the reviews on tripadvisor before doing my last minute booking, and thought just try out since some reviews were good even though some were bad.
Rooms were terrible, but the compound is well designed, the hotel looks good from the outside, and the pools, mini golf and table tennis were great for kids.
The place has potential, however, due to the bad management, the place has become very rundown and the service at the front desk very slow during check in time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#19 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 16, Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing