We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Last time here was about 10 years ago... no proper maintenance seem to have been done to the place. Seems to get worse for its age... no cutlery or plates provided ..no fresh towels and breakfast is the same... food is too salty for my liking... don't stay here unless constrained by budget....only plus point is location though running across the busy highway is quite dangerous...

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    75
    115
    69
    91
See reviews for
191
43
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This is my third stay at Mahkota Hotal, Melaka. The hotel apartment unit looks more run down than ever. The rooms are ok, decent and quite clean, but everything looks old (furniture, toilet, air con, ...). Outside the rooms, it is a totally different story. The corridors are dirty and not maintained, dimly lit and looks uninviting.

It is definitely time for the hotel to undergo a facelift or upgrading in order to keep up with the times and compete with other newer establishments, such as Holiday Inn just next to it.

Not-withstanding those short-comings, the hotel is very well-located just across Mahkota Parade and the nearby Melaka Megamall (Carrefour). The surrounding area is open and not congested, unlike hotels in the old Melaka town. There is relatively little traffic along the main road outside. Furthermore, there are many restaurants and eateries within walking distance from the hotel (be in at the shopping malls or at Melaka Raya shops).

This hotel is suitable for you if you are travelling in a group, especially with children. The simple kitchen adds to the convenience of food preparation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Look old
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

despite the many negative reviews, i still wanted to stay here as its close to the sea and the mall. when i made my bookings on the net the price quoted was about 10% higher than publishd and i thought "[--] maybe i should heed the advice from all the angry reviewers :) so i sent a rather rude email demanding an explanation. to my surprise the very next day i received an apology from the director of sales & mkting informing me that they had not updated their pricelist for the mid year season. he even sent his email scolding his staff to rectify the matter immediately ... haha! well, i thought this must be a sign of change in mangement for the better.
and yes it was. we had a clean, spacious one bedroom apartment with a balcony for less than S$80. although the complimentary western and local hot buffet breakfast was nice yet it could be improved if they had a chef supervising the resplendising of the popular items quickly and checking the quality/deterioriation of the remaining food.
the staff at the restaurant and the front desk were very efficient and polite, especially the doorman who welcomed me as if i was an old friend! ;D

  • Liked — the kitchen and balcony
  • Disliked — two of the ceiling lights were out
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We needed to get away for Christmas having had a disastrous year and needing to look forward to a brighter new year. Singapore was one of the few places we could get flights to but the affordable hotels were fully booked, so were took the Singapore to Kuala Lumpur Express to Melaka and booked into this hotel. (Booked via Asia Travel on the internet and with no idea what to expect.)
We booked Christmas and New Year's Eve at this hotel. Mainly because having two teenagers with us who wanted to go somewhere with a swimming pool, the hotels 'resort' description fitted the bill. With the hotels facilities, the towns historical sites and shopping malls we had a wonderful time!
On arrival we were checked in fairly quickly and shown to our deluxe suite in the main building. It wasn't quite ready for us but we left our cases and got our bearings around the hotel. On returning to our room, we could not fault it. Not only were there two bathrooms that we did not expect, there was also a small kitchen! Mind you, there was only a kettle and cups with a selection of tea, coffe etc. I think if you wanted saucepans and cutlery you had to ask for them. But who is going to cook when four of you can eat out for under £10.
The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The giggly, young waitresses were adorable with their attempts at trying to speak to us in English.
The buffet breakfasts, with Asian, Continental and English selections of food, were fantastic. The choices were endless and enough to set you up for the day. The evening buffets were equally amazing. For New Years Eve there was free entertainment with a disco set up outside in the entrance and they decorated the whole forcourt with balloons which were 'dropped' at midnight and contained prizes when popped.
The clientelle were predominantly Asian, consequently my younger blonde daughter felt a little conspicuous for the first day or two but she soon forgot that and enjoyed herself. From the staff comments, the hotel is mainly used by Singaporeans and Malaysians who come for weekend breaks by the sea and for the swimming pools. All of these people were lovely and went out of their way to welcome us.
From what I saw I thought the hotel easily warranted its 3 to 4 stars rating. For under £50 a night (including breakfast) for four of us we had a delighful two bedroomed appartment overlooking the pool area and out to the sea.
It is an older hotel compared to some and I must admit that some of the appartment blocks looked a little dubious but the main hotel block was faultless.
We would, without doubt, stay there again if we were to return.

  • Liked — Staff, Food and Room
  • Disliked — Main road outside was a bit like trying to cross the M25
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

THe only good thing about this hotel is the location. Situated next to the sea and opposite the only big shopping mall in Malacca.
Great view of the city

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment, the tap water was yellowish and the bed was not very comfortable. Good thing we only stayed a night.

Will try Hotel Equatorial or Holiday Inn in future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor room conditions
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

There's nothing much you can say about this hotel except for its strategic location which is close by to those must-visit historical monuments in Banda Hilir, Melaka.

The one-bedroom apartment we stayed has seen better days. There's no air-cond in the living room but an old tv with poor reception paired with an old sofa set. The bedroom is quite small with a small bed.

The bathroom is very small and cramped. After a while, my son complained that he couldn't flushed the toilet bowl. Even the waterflow from the tap and shower head were super slow. The tap used to switch water between the shower and the bath tub was very loose. We could see hard wire daggling around the tap.

No, we couldn't be bothered to complain to the hotel reception as it was quite late when we got there. After a long trip from JB, all we wanted to do was to go straight to bed.

The breakfast wasn't that great either. Limited spread which disappeared very fast. The refill however took ages that we decided to get a more fullfilling breakfast outside.

The hotel management really should do something about the hotel especially when the room rates are on the higher end. What's more with a spanking new hotel next door which offers better service at an almost the same rate.

I always believe in "What I pay is what I must get". At Mahkota Hotel, I think I paid more than what I should get. The hotel really needs to improve its services as well as maintainence and stops depending on its convenient location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Cramped bathroom, overpriced
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand and Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

We booked this hotel through a travel agent in Singapore. Then I read the poor reviews on this website. I need not have been worried for the hotel was fine and we had a comfortable, enjoyable and relaxed weekend.

The room was clean and quiet, the bed comfortable and clean, and the A/C just fine. It was bigger than most hotel rooms, more like a one bedroom apartment. The bathroom was old but clean.

If it is important to you to stay in a new hotel, then this is not the place for you, and you should go over the road to Holiday Inn. However, if you want a 4-star hotel with resort-style ambience, an
atmosphere of former grandeur and in a good location, then the Mahkota Hotel could be a good place for you. Kids and teens would enjoy it here as there is a nice pool area and plenty of space to play.

The complimentary breakfast is very good - nice food (nothing fancy or over the top) and spotlessly clean surroundings. We had lunch there when we arrived and it was fine, although you can do better by heading elsewhere if you are willing to make the effort!

Don't believe the one-star reviews of this hotel on this website. It is a 4-star hotel and everything about the hotel is fine. We enjoyed our two nights.

  • Liked — Atmosphere of former grandeur
  • Disliked — Small bed and expensive internet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.