We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL I've stayed IN MY WHOLE LIFE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Petaling Jaya
1 review
“WORST HOTEL I've stayed IN MY WHOLE LIFE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is officially the worst hotel I've ever stayed in my whole life. Booked the 2 bed room apartment. Horrible! Walked into the room, and sensed a strong horrible odour smell. The furnitures were all outdated. There were fungus and mould in our bathroom, and the sink was stuck. We didn't dare to even use the bathroom to urinate. There were Mosquitos and bugs everywhere. TV was so old. Would never in my life to back to this hotel. There are better boutique hotels in jonker street. Regret for not booking there earlier. Thank goodness is only for one night.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    83
    123
    83
    94
See reviews for
212
49
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013 as part of a large group. Front desk was overwhelmed by our arrival and took a long time to process us all, despite our pre-booking. Checked into a 2-bedroom apartment in block 8. Greeted by a musty odour, dated furniture and dodgy plumbing in the bathroom/toilet (bathtub drained very slowly, water cistern overflowed). Water from taps yellowish-brown. Tiny CRT TV set with fuzzy reception. Firm mattress + soft pillow = just comfortable sleep. Buffet breakfast - decent spread, good value for money. Good sized pool - the best part of our stay.

Room Tip: Pick rooms in the 'hotel' wing and avoid the 'apartment' wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stay for 1 night on Christmas Eve 24th Dec 2013,2 unit of 2 bedrooms apartment, unit 8041 & 8044. The lock was broken,hard to open it wt the card provided. Water leaking in the bathroom (8041). The bed was comfortable but the furniture was old. Other than that is ok. Walking distance to shopping mall,just opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: I book 2 units corner suites..much bigger.avoid facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

There were 2 families, so we had 2 units of 2 bedroom apartments. I was horrified to see stains on the coffee table, yellowish brownish stain on one of the bedsheet and the toilets all yucky with unsightly stains. Simple accommodation is fine, but dirty and air conditioner not working is not!!!!
One of the unit at level 9 had problems with air conditioning and the service technician came to check but were unable to fix due to bigger problem with the facility's piping.
I read the reviews on tripadvisor before doing my last minute booking, and thought just try out since some reviews were good even though some were bad.
Rooms were terrible, but the compound is well designed, the hotel looks good from the outside, and the pools, mini golf and table tennis were great for kids.
The place has potential, however, due to the bad management, the place has become very rundown and the service at the front desk very slow during check in time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Another hotel conveniently located! Mahkota Parade (shopping complex) is located across the road from this hotel. So basically you can eat and shop for needs just a walk away. The hotel in general is amongst the earliest in Melaka town. SMOKERS NEED TO KNOW THAT MELAKA IS A SMOKE FREE DISTRICT AND THIS HOTEL IS TOO. However, most rooms have their own balcony thus you can always step outside for a puff. If you get the room overlooking the sea that'll brighten up your day after a long day of tour or work.

The rooms and bathroom are clean and comfortable. You can go down to lobby lounge to enjoy nice music while relaxing. Buffet breakfast has all the basic and is adequately satisfying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stay at Wing 5 for 1 night. This hotel is terrible compare to other hotel. Room was very small and the bed sheet got some smell. Wifi very slow and the breakfast not good at all. This hotel close to Mahkota Parade just 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is not value for money. Our room were not ready even after we checked in and already in the room. Had to wait 1 hour for housekeeping to come. On the 2nd day, our room air-con began leaking. Requested for a room change but was told that the hotel was fully booked. The hotel appears to have seen better days. In a bad need for upgrade. I am surprised that the reception told me that it was fully booked during our stay. I would not come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#79 of 156 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#11 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#13 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#19 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#58 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.