We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 bedroom apartment but very poor interior. ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 16, Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% Off on 2nd night stay
Ranked #75 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“2 bedroom apartment but very poor interior. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed at the Mahkota as hotels were limited in Melaka for the night we were staying. Was 110sgd. Arrived at the room and worst fears were confirmed, interior very poor. Cheap run down furniture, small 20 inch CRT TV in lounge. Beds and linen stained. Couldn't get hot water out if the shower and Aircon noisy. I would only recommend people stay there if family and on limited budget. Location is good though. For the price would always recommend the Hatten or Holiday Inn.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    83
    124
    86
    97
See reviews for
218
50
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location isn't great and our door takes 3 - 4 card swipes before it opens. It has a nice pool and the buildings look nice but we probably wouldn't stay again. The staff are nice and it's located opposite a good mall. You do have to cross a busy main rod to get to and from the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Nevis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived at the front desk, i was very impressed with the staff friendliness. The lobby looks extravagant, and the pool looks beautiful...

Then we arrived at our room (double deluxe apartment). The room was smelly, the tv was an old model (we brought our own media player, but no hdmi) and the toilet was awful as the water was kinda yellow. The air conditioning doesn't work very well too. We ended up depending on the ceiling fan. And finally, Wifi... don't bother paying for it. Patchy connectivity, and it's only valid for one user. I might be nitpicking, but an international hotel with premium price doesn't even offer a complementary wifi? I think the family holiday is slightly ruined by the subpar experience of our stay.

I suspect that the normal hotel rooms in mahkota hotel are excellent, but I just cannot recommend the apartment for a family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was a wonderful stay during the Sep holidays in 2013.
Staff was friendly. Pool was beautiful and pleasant to swim.
Although the rooms look rundown and a bit dirty, it was okay as we only used the room for sleeping purposes as most of the time we were out.
Should explore Little India. Lots of things were a good buy.
Shopkeepers were friendly and hospitable.
The view at the fort was awesome.
Hotel was near the shopping centres and eatery places.
Cheaper to eat outside the hotel as there was a variety.
People of Malacca were friendly.
However do look out fro pickpockets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I firstly come to melaka and firstly to the mahkota hotel. The place was good because near to the city centre. The staff was friendly and service is very good. They are a lot of parking so that we can park our car easily.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is an award winning 4-star international hotel .The strategic location, at the heart of historical Melaka just perfect for my family to walk to the shopping complex, visit places of interests and enjoy the 'river cruise' experience. The 'karaoke room' was just perfect for us to sing our heart felt holiday mood. The pool with jacuzzi was simply charming and it added beauty to my captured pics of fond memories.

Room Tip: Room just above the pool was simply eye catching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I only like the location. But not so value for money . Rate for 2 bedroom deluxe apartment quite expensive if compared to the room condition, old furnitures and smelly room when we entered in. Room floor at the kitchen and living area was dirty and not cleaned properly. Yellowish toilet water & not equiped with full set of toiletries . Aircond at the 2nd room was not so cold & sounds very loud . Staff was not so friendly and the maintenance staff was not helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#76 of 156 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#11 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#20 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#27 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 16, Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.