We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor deluxe apartment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 144 hotels in Melaka
New Castle, Nevis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor deluxe apartment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived at the front desk, i was very impressed with the staff friendliness. The lobby looks extravagant, and the pool looks beautiful...

Then we arrived at our room (double deluxe apartment). The room was smelly, the tv was an old model (we brought our own media player, but no hdmi) and the toilet was awful as the water was kinda yellow. The air conditioning doesn't work very well too. We ended up depending on the ceiling fan. And finally, Wifi... don't bother paying for it. Patchy connectivity, and it's only valid for one user. I might be nitpicking, but an international hotel with premium price doesn't even offer a complementary wifi? I think the family holiday is slightly ruined by the subpar experience of our stay.

I suspect that the normal hotel rooms in mahkota hotel are excellent, but I just cannot recommend the apartment for a family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    67
    102
    64
    84
See reviews for
171
42
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was a wonderful stay during the Sep holidays in 2013.
Staff was friendly. Pool was beautiful and pleasant to swim.
Although the rooms look rundown and a bit dirty, it was okay as we only used the room for sleeping purposes as most of the time we were out.
Should explore Little India. Lots of things were a good buy.
Shopkeepers were friendly and hospitable.
The view at the fort was awesome.
Hotel was near the shopping centres and eatery places.
Cheaper to eat outside the hotel as there was a variety.
People of Malacca were friendly.
However do look out fro pickpockets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I firstly come to melaka and firstly to the mahkota hotel. The place was good because near to the city centre. The staff was friendly and service is very good. They are a lot of parking so that we can park our car easily.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is an award winning 4-star international hotel .The strategic location, at the heart of historical Melaka just perfect for my family to walk to the shopping complex, visit places of interests and enjoy the 'river cruise' experience. The 'karaoke room' was just perfect for us to sing our heart felt holiday mood. The pool with jacuzzi was simply charming and it added beauty to my captured pics of fond memories.

Room Tip: Room just above the pool was simply eye catching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I only like the location. But not so value for money . Rate for 2 bedroom deluxe apartment quite expensive if compared to the room condition, old furnitures and smelly room when we entered in. Room floor at the kitchen and living area was dirty and not cleaned properly. Yellowish toilet water & not equiped with full set of toiletries . Aircond at the 2nd room was not so cold & sounds very loud . Staff was not so friendly and the maintenance staff was not helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kepong, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I Firstly the hotel is in melaka by mahkota, the place near centre,

Anyway, we stayed here for 2 night . The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent .

The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a many car park .

Overall an excellent hotel and very good value for money when considering the price charged.

Stayed october 2013, traveled as friend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After reading the previous reviews, I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was quite good.
Although the furniture and fittings in the room was old, it was clean.
My room faced the sea where a massive land reclaimation was ongoing.
The buffet meals served were good and the staff, friendly.
I would rate the hotel as above average.

Room Tip: Choose sea-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.