We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahkota Hotel at Melaka” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Sin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mahkota Hotel at Melaka”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotle from the outview is pretty impressive , the resort type , nice building but on the room that we stay in although was spacious it was old and abit rundown , staff was friendly but some not so depends on who you meet . Wifi there is a charges when we ask the counter staff about it so do check first hand . Check out time was gd as they acceded to our request or late check out at 1pm. Breakfast was normal , just the usual simple spread of the usual things , bread eggs and some malay dishes, Overall its average by me

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Thunderrave,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate and share your experience with us.

We have recently upgraded the apartment units with new cushions, curtains, toilet accessories and installed the new door locks.
Relating to your feedback about our hotel's WIFI charges, we have placed notices and information in our rooms. However, we would like to apologize some of the inconvenience you have faced during your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with our department heads.
We thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel during your recent trip to Malacca. We hope that we will still be your choice of hotel the next time you visit.

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    70
    106
    66
    85
See reviews for
180
42
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We enjoyed 2 days and nights in the orchid block, the hotel is very big. The buffet breakfast was excellent and interesting mix of foods. The swimming pool was good but a little shallow for my liking and well supervised by as many as 5 supervisors. It would be better if a crossing walk way could be constructed to get to the otherside of the busy road to access the shopping centres and old town tourist areas. Mr Roy was friendly and helpful opening the business centre so we could use the internet each morning. We did not discover the hot water switch until we were leaving so it was on all the time, which I suspect made the bathroom hotter than it should have been. Plenty of room as apartment included a kitchen. We enjoyed hiring a taxi for 4 hours and enjoyed his comments about Melaka and showed us the sights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear edmondshoney,

Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our hotel facilities and services provided especially the swimming pool, hospitality provided by our Duty Manager (Mr. Roy) and the taxi city-tour.

With relates to your feedback about the construction of crossover to the nearby shopping centers, the local authority has agreed to install traffic light(s), at the current pedestrian crossing. Currently, only the convenience of pedestrian crossing is available at ‘Persimpangan Mahkota’; the cross-junction traffic light is adjacent to the back entrance of the Hotel. Hence, for the time being, we highly recommend guests who wish to cross over to the opposite of the hotel, to use the mentioned pedestrian crossover.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay when you were looking for the hot water switch. All of the apartment rooms’ hot water switches are right on the wall next to the toilet door, and it is easy to locate.

Nonetheless we appreciate and value your time taken to evaluate and sharing your pleasant experience with us. We will definitely share your kind feedback and comments to the relevant departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahkota Hotel Melaka, the next time your travel brings you to this historical, heritage Malacca.

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

For the price, this place is a complete rip-off. I would venture to guess it was even set up as a scam. It is expensive for Malaysia. Yet service is NIL. I was sent unaccompanied by a bellman to my room -- which I discovered completely unkempt. Beds unmade, trashcans full; food spilling out of bags on the table. I have traveled all over the world and never encountered anything approaching this in a hotel of this price. It was disgusting. There was no orientation to the facilities so finding the hot water switch was an adventure. Food at the buffet breakfast was cold and AWFUL. DO NOT STAY HERE. This is some kind of scam between a cheapskate owner and a bunch of tour companies.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear CNOlan,


Thank you for your time taken to evaluate and share your comments with us.

Our procedure is that all the receptionists who checks in guests have to explain where to locate the apartment units and also a floor plan is being printed on the key card holder.
Most of the time our guests will not want to use our bell service unless requested and we will provide the service.

We would like to apologize for the receptionist mistake for checking you into an unclean room. The hot water switch is right on the wall next to the toilet door and it is easy to locate.

As regards to breakfasts being cold, we will revert to the relevant department for rectification.

We are very concern about your remarks on ‘the scam between a cheapskate owner and a bunch of tour companies. Please provide us with more information or evident in order for us to investigate the matter.
You can contact us through email at jacintaquek@mahkotahotel.com.my.

Once again, thank you for your support and understanding.

Hope you will consider staying with us again.


Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just went there on 1st week june. Booked it because it was 4 star rated. Was disappointed when we proceed to go to our room. The moment we stepped into the lift, we could feel the heat and it was like sauna. We were given the highest floor of block 6 and we thought it should be good as it was the highest BUT we were terribly wrong. The highest floor was where all the air con compressors are and they are the source of the heat. It was SO HOT..!! The room was tidy but OLD. Lights were dim and the feeling was kinda eerie and was horrible. ALL THE things inside were OLD. Sofa Old, TV old, lightings old, bed old, mattress a bit torn, washroom old, AIR CON old.. ALL OLD except the water tap!!! Water pressure from shower taps were so weak and having a tub there is simply meaningless. How to fill the tub? This kind of room standard is equivalent to those 2 star budget hotel. just simply not worth it. I wonder who is the valuation agency who rated it 4 star? Was so disappointed with my star there. My first and last time there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear BrightDiamond,

Thank you for your time taken to evaluate and share your comments with us.
We regret to learn that you did not enjoy your stay. Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences caused. It is also very unfortunate to check you into such unit.

For your information, all the air conditions compressors are locate outside the apartment units regardless of level. Furniture are of old fashion however recently we have reconditioned all the furniture to working condition with new cushions, changed the curtains, changed the toilet accessories and fixed new door locks, etc. We are also in the process renovating our hotel block.

As regards to poor lighting and water pressure, we will revert to the relevant departments for rectification.

Once again, thank you and hope you would consider staying with us again.


Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My daugther have been there once in 2009 and she likes the hotel. She asked me to book Mahkota Hotel, a very good buy online and being first time for me, I only booked for 2D1N trip. I was amazed to the transformation of the Melaka. My last visit was in 1976! Hotel check-in was fast. (To compare with my experience once at Fullerton Bay Singapore in Dec2011,it took almost 2 1/2hrs of waiting for room). The staffs of Mahkota were very helpful. I told them that I'm not familiar with places there and I got only 1 night stay. Booked 2 one-room apartments. The room and living is separated with 2 aircons, balcony, kitchen, outdoor swimming pools, facilites are good, service was efficient too. To make the best of my shortstay, they give me some good suggestions and I decide what I want from it. I decided on a mini-coach tour to the main attractions. Four of us in a coach and the driver a good guide and explains well. I have studied history and he spoke history too.Very happy with the tour recommended by the Hotel staffs. I consider this a Service too. We enjoyed our tour very much but could not cover alot more places as time do not permit. Planning to go again for a longer stay with my mum. She is old and can't walk much but no worries, got coach to fetch to and from Hotel. Price very reasonable too. Had a very wonderful Peranakan dinner, recommended by the Hotel staff and also the coach driver(really value for money and traditional taste). It's up to us they do not force. You asked for tips and advise, they give, no insisting. I like that. After a fantastic stomach blotted dinner, we decided to walk back to Mahkota Hotel. It has got all the amenities around and so convenient to shop around. The staff also advise us on the taxi fares, the estimated payable amount in MRinggit, from certain locations back to Hotel. The morning buffet breakfast needs improvement. Building old structure is understandable. But overall we were very happy during our stay at Mahkota Melaka! Would like to thank the staffs Mr Roy, Mr.Shanaz, Ms. Fatin and room service. I will be back Mahkota Melaka!

Room Tip: How many of us can get quiet rooms or high floors? Then the Hotel has to built differently. Cleanin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear MaryRakang,

Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.
Glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the stay. Appreciate your comments and will forward to the relevant departments for further improvements.
Thank you for the time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us!
Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Being the first time staying in this hotel, i feel very disappointing. A four star hotel without a four star service. I stay in a deluxe apartment for one night. Once stepped out from the lift to my bedroom, weird smell all around the corridor. Not to mention the stained bathtub and the noisy air conditioner. We took long time to check in and out. The only thing console us is that the Mahkota Parade is just opposite the hotel. We just need to walk across the two dangerous highways to reach there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear backpack_lover


Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.
We regret to learn that you are unhappy with our service and the apartment. We will review all your feedback with the relevant departments for improvement.
Thank you for the time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us!
Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My family have stayed on numerous occasions in this hotel since 2008. My kids really enjoyed their swimming pools. It is near Mahkota Parade, a local shopping mall that caters to a motley crowd of Singaporean regular travellers and locals who are part of the "IN" crowd in Malacca.

There is a new mall opposite Mahkota Parada that caters to the young and hip. You can find many local hand made crafts by up and coming artists. If you have kids and pushing a pram, be prepared to exercise more care as they traffic can be quite hectic.

Try to get the higher floors in Mahkota Hotel if you are staying over the weekend or school holidays period in June or December as they will less noisy from the kids shouting below near the swimming pool.

The hotel location is it main draw as you can walk to the nearby attractions or take a short bus or taxi ride. Taxi fares are cheap but do beware of taxi cheats that try to say their meter is spoilt.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if possible to minimise the din from kids shouting while they play at the swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear piaget,

We thank you for your time taken to share your experience and evaluate us.
Glad to know that you and your kids enjoyed our hotel facilities, especially the swimming pool.
Furthermore, we value your constructive feedback and will share it the hotel staff.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.