We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAHKOTA HOTEL MELAKA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“MAHKOTA HOTEL MELAKA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My daugther have been there once in 2009 and she likes the hotel. She asked me to book Mahkota Hotel, a very good buy online and being first time for me, I only booked for 2D1N trip. I was amazed to the transformation of the Melaka. My last visit was in 1976! Hotel check-in was fast. (To compare with my experience once at Fullerton Bay Singapore in Dec2011,it took almost 2 1/2hrs of waiting for room). The staffs of Mahkota were very helpful. I told them that I'm not familiar with places there and I got only 1 night stay. Booked 2 one-room apartments. The room and living is separated with 2 aircons, balcony, kitchen, outdoor swimming pools, facilites are good, service was efficient too. To make the best of my shortstay, they give me some good suggestions and I decide what I want from it. I decided on a mini-coach tour to the main attractions. Four of us in a coach and the driver a good guide and explains well. I have studied history and he spoke history too.Very happy with the tour recommended by the Hotel staffs. I consider this a Service too. We enjoyed our tour very much but could not cover alot more places as time do not permit. Planning to go again for a longer stay with my mum. She is old and can't walk much but no worries, got coach to fetch to and from Hotel. Price very reasonable too. Had a very wonderful Peranakan dinner, recommended by the Hotel staff and also the coach driver(really value for money and traditional taste). It's up to us they do not force. You asked for tips and advise, they give, no insisting. I like that. After a fantastic stomach blotted dinner, we decided to walk back to Mahkota Hotel. It has got all the amenities around and so convenient to shop around. The staff also advise us on the taxi fares, the estimated payable amount in MRinggit, from certain locations back to Hotel. The morning buffet breakfast needs improvement. Building old structure is understandable. But overall we were very happy during our stay at Mahkota Melaka! Would like to thank the staffs Mr Roy, Mr.Shanaz, Ms. Fatin and room service. I will be back Mahkota Melaka!

Room Tip: How many of us can get quiet rooms or high floors? Then the Hotel has to built differently. Cleanin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear MaryRakang,

Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.
Glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the stay. Appreciate your comments and will forward to the relevant departments for further improvements.
Thank you for the time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us!
Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    70
    106
    66
    86
See reviews for
180
42
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Being the first time staying in this hotel, i feel very disappointing. A four star hotel without a four star service. I stay in a deluxe apartment for one night. Once stepped out from the lift to my bedroom, weird smell all around the corridor. Not to mention the stained bathtub and the noisy air conditioner. We took long time to check in and out. The only thing console us is that the Mahkota Parade is just opposite the hotel. We just need to walk across the two dangerous highways to reach there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear backpack_lover


Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.
We regret to learn that you are unhappy with our service and the apartment. We will review all your feedback with the relevant departments for improvement.
Thank you for the time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us!
Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My family have stayed on numerous occasions in this hotel since 2008. My kids really enjoyed their swimming pools. It is near Mahkota Parade, a local shopping mall that caters to a motley crowd of Singaporean regular travellers and locals who are part of the "IN" crowd in Malacca.

There is a new mall opposite Mahkota Parada that caters to the young and hip. You can find many local hand made crafts by up and coming artists. If you have kids and pushing a pram, be prepared to exercise more care as they traffic can be quite hectic.

Try to get the higher floors in Mahkota Hotel if you are staying over the weekend or school holidays period in June or December as they will less noisy from the kids shouting below near the swimming pool.

The hotel location is it main draw as you can walk to the nearby attractions or take a short bus or taxi ride. Taxi fares are cheap but do beware of taxi cheats that try to say their meter is spoilt.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if possible to minimise the din from kids shouting while they play at the swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear piaget,

We thank you for your time taken to share your experience and evaluate us.
Glad to know that you and your kids enjoyed our hotel facilities, especially the swimming pool.
Furthermore, we value your constructive feedback and will share it the hotel staff.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

When I arrived it took reception half an hour to find my booking, which was not the best of starts. Room was fine, clean but extremely dated and in need of an upgrade. Air-conditioner pretty ineffectual and very loud.

Hot water did not work and despite reporting it several times was not fixed for 48 hours. I was told I should switch rooms, but then they fixed it with a new thermostat. Then the power went off in my room. The electrician came and supposedly fixed it, but half an hour later it went again. I reported it again and had to leave to go and work. Came back later that night and still no power. When the guy came - without a torch! - he advised me to move rooms. He did get it working by 1130pm.

Breakfast was extremely poor, watered down fruit juice and limited selection of fresh fruit. The service virtually non-existent, Finished plates remaining on the table for the duration.

To be honest it was very busy during my stay and quite simply the staff were not up to coping with the number of guests. The dramas were unfortunate, but the failure to address them was extremely annoying.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear stdoro,


We thank you for your time taken to share your feedback and evaluate us.
Regret to learn that you did not enjoy your stay. Concerning your feedback about the room’s air-conditioning system, hot water supply and the buffet breakfast spread provided, we will share those highlighted points with our relevant department heads for further improvement.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

It's quite comfortable to stay for family members. We, 5 adults, stayed there on 12 May 2012. Ample car park but really packed. Rooms all air-conditioned. But apartment limited to 5 storeys. Wifi available at RM10 per 24 hours, but very slow and frequently disrupted. Near Mahkota Parade and the Taming Sari centre. Due to weak WiFi, unlikely to come back there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear ybs_ram


Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca. We are pleased to learn that you and your whole family enjoyed your stay with us.

We regret that you are unhappy with the WIFI service due to the speed and we are currently working on upgrading the WIFI.

Thank you for the time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us!

Looking forward to your next stay with us!



Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This place is Great for Short Getaway for Families and Friends. Location is Superb & Near to Mahkota Shopping Parade & Tourist Attraction places. Room is Big and Spacious, The Breakfast was great & lotsa varieties. Housekeeping was slow as but overall staff was friendly.
Would comeback someday..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Idazzledy,


We thank you for selecting Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we will certainly share your feedback with the housekeeping department.

We value your time taken to evaluate us and looking forward to your next stay with us!



Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

First, the key cards not working and same intermittent problem with replacement cards.
The bathtub was old and shabby, shower head leaking and drainage problem, carpet smelly.

The only good thing is my little gal like the swimming pool. Do not know what condition for others room, mine is one bedroom standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Chin_Andrew,


We thank you for your time taken to share your experience and evaluate us.

However, we regret to learn that you have experience the inconvenience utilizing our hotel’s key cards.

We have changed all our room lock set to electronic key card system since February 2012, and are still monitoring the system. Hence, we will rectify as and when necessary.
Pertaining to your feedback on the bathtub, we will revert to the respective departments for further improvements.

We value your constructive feedback and looking forward to your next stay with us.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.