We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahkota Hotel 2-Room Apartment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 144 hotels in Melaka
singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mahkota Hotel 2-Room Apartment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

It's quite comfortable to stay for family members. We, 5 adults, stayed there on 12 May 2012. Ample car park but really packed. Rooms all air-conditioned. But apartment limited to 5 storeys. Wifi available at RM10 per 24 hours, but very slow and frequently disrupted. Near Mahkota Parade and the Taming Sari centre. Due to weak WiFi, unlikely to come back there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear ybs_ram


Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca. We are pleased to learn that you and your whole family enjoyed your stay with us.

We regret that you are unhappy with the WIFI service due to the speed and we are currently working on upgrading the WIFI.

Thank you for the time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us!

Looking forward to your next stay with us!



Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    70
    106
    66
    85
See reviews for
179
42
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This place is Great for Short Getaway for Families and Friends. Location is Superb & Near to Mahkota Shopping Parade & Tourist Attraction places. Room is Big and Spacious, The Breakfast was great & lotsa varieties. Housekeeping was slow as but overall staff was friendly.
Would comeback someday..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Idazzledy,


We thank you for selecting Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we will certainly share your feedback with the housekeeping department.

We value your time taken to evaluate us and looking forward to your next stay with us!



Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

First, the key cards not working and same intermittent problem with replacement cards.
The bathtub was old and shabby, shower head leaking and drainage problem, carpet smelly.

The only good thing is my little gal like the swimming pool. Do not know what condition for others room, mine is one bedroom standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Chin_Andrew,


We thank you for your time taken to share your experience and evaluate us.

However, we regret to learn that you have experience the inconvenience utilizing our hotel’s key cards.

We have changed all our room lock set to electronic key card system since February 2012, and are still monitoring the system. Hence, we will rectify as and when necessary.
Pertaining to your feedback on the bathtub, we will revert to the respective departments for further improvements.

We value your constructive feedback and looking forward to your next stay with us.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stay for a night in a 2 bedroom apartment at hibiscus wing. I stayed at mahkota before few years back and looks like they just repainted the exterior of the hotel. Check in only available at 2pm but the front desk allow us to check in earlier. Location wise is great. Near Mahkota parade mall, Pahlawan mall and a famosa fortress. The room is a bit rundown. Old TV with limited channel, nothing to watch actually. There's wifi but required to pay to access. They should seriously thinking about refurbishing the room and add in free internet access to remain competitive. We tried their dinning in room service at night. The food didn't taste that great though. Free breakfast also included for 4 pax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear heroboi,


We thank you for your time taken to share your experience and evaluate us.

We appreciate all your valuable feedback and will definitely share it with all our relevant department heads for our improvement.

Once again, thank you and hope to serve you again in the near future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca, Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel not only boost great amenities, facilities and ambiance, it also offers a total holiday experience.

The staffs are helpful and and cheerful. The atmosphere are of warmth and comfort. Location is superb being right in the heart of town and the food is splendid.

Great value for money! Most recommended!

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroom apartment, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Lovejewelquest,


We thank you for your time taken to share your experience and evaluate us.

We are pleased to learn that you are happy with your stay with us and will share your positive feedback to our staffs.

Thank you, once again and we look forward in serving you in the near future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dickson, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Could be one of the oldest apartment type hotel right in Melaka city. The superb location was the main reason why we (my family and I) were there. We stayed in a 3bedroom unit, right at the back tower block.

Noticed the hotel cut cost unwisely, most of items (bar soap, rubbish liners!! on request, they only provided conditioning shampoo in each toilet). They had an auto-boil but no jug provided for family to make coffee/tea.

Living room is rather dark, we had to bring out a table lamp from bedroom to brighten up the space. But I complimented the breezy of natural cool air coming into our apartment.

Variety for breakfast is not bad, but the cafe staff, OMG, they really showed that b'fast guests are like a heavy baggage to them & non-smiling faces.

For the rate we paid (abt rm530.00/nite), there are hundreds options avail in town to easily consider if the management does not take immediate damage control measure.

We may or may be not come back to Mahkota.

Room Tip: If you are in a family of 5-6 people, just take 2 bedroom apartment. Not much difference. Dont bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Shakeyshawn,


We thank you for your time taken to share your experience and evaluate us.
We regret to learn that you and your family were not happy with the 3 Bedroom Apartment.
For your information, only Block 1 has 3 Bedroom Apartment and the price of RM 530 comes with 6 pax of Buffet Breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and we have reviewed it will all the relevant department heads for improvement.

We look forward in serving you in the near future.


Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Got a 2 bedroom apartment, ideal for my wife and me as well as my sister in law and her husband. However, the hotel itself is really very old and run down. The management obviously take no pride in the maintenance and upkeep of the property. The floor tiles are sticky, the carpets threadbare. The knob for the shower head came out when you turned it and they didn't even bother to repair it.

The toilet sink doesn't drain and nothing was done about that either. The air con remote is missing and one can't adjust the temperature of the unit in the living area either.

I visited this hotel in 1998 when my children were still kids and had fond memories of the place. Sad to say, this hotel certainly has seen better days.

This hotel boasts an excellent location, particularly for the ladies who love shopping. Two big shopping malls are just within short walking distance. Venture a little bit further on foot from the shopping mall will bring one to Jonkers's Walk. Pity the current sad state of the property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Limbatok,

We thank you for selecting Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.
We regret to learn that you and your family were unhappy with our service and the apartment. We will share your feedback with all our relevant department heads for improvement.
We appreciate your time taken to evaluate us and share your construction feedback to us.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.