We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a good hotel but......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Its a good hotel but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

On my recent weekend getaway, I stayed at Mahkota Hotel. The hotel has a great location to shopping. Its an apartment styled hotel. The hotel has great swimming pools to swim and to relax around. The breakfast is average in terms of food quality but there was quantity in the buffet spread.

The hote rooms are apartment styled and they are very poor furnished and decorated, the superior apartment rooms dont have airconditioning in the sitting room whilst the deluxe apartments have airconditioning in the sitting rooms. I would suggest to bring your own soap and shampoo as the ones provided by the hotels is very in adequate as they smaill pieces and the shampoo is of a poor quality. You could hardly read in bed as the lights are very dim. There is no internet service in the rooms at all. The toilet lights are quite dim.

The good thing about this hotel is the view, you either get seaview or city view rooms.

I found out that the hotel is a time share property and there are many owners to the apartments and the hotel cannot get all the owners to agree on the renovation works and how much to spend.

Otherwise the hotel is fine to stay in as the apartment styled rooms is clean and comfortable for the price you pay

Room Tip: I would take the seaview rooms as there would be sea breeze if you are taking the superior apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    67
    102
    63
    84
See reviews for
171
42
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at one of the 2 bedroom service suite with my in laws. As it was my first visit to Melaka, i find that the location of this hotel suits me well as there were a few malls nearby. Food was not a problem. When we reached, we were greeted by the door man. Concierge staffs, were friendly and approachable. The rooms were slightly run down and we saw cockroaches in the bathroom.

Breakfast spread was good and so was the service staff who was attentive. Might do a come back. And if you intend to do alot of walking, for ladies, please DO NOT wear heels.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor unit that is facing the hill view. It is a nice sight when in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nites at the One bedroom apartment. Changed my room 3 times!! 1st room was A/cond problem at the Living room, took the Engineering staff more than 1 hour to rectify then they have to move us due to they cant do it. 2nd room was the same, A/cond problem again!! Luckily 3rd room was ok. Big spacious room with living hall, kitchenette and a bedroom with small bathroom. No separate shower, which was bad. Not much of a breakfast variety, room block was far from the lobby. Had to walk from block to block. But this hotel indeed is very near to the mall, less than 5 min drive you'll get to Dataran Pahlawan & Mahkota parade mall. Overall for me, it was pleasant stay and recommend it for family due to the apartment style and very near the mall.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

This is a terrible hotel. Very dirty and not well maintain. I won't recommend anyone and come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011 via mobile

I ain't going back. I moved to Holiday Inn the next day.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed during the long public holiday weekend. Check-in was smooth. The room was okay - 2 bedroom apartment with clean bathroom/toilet. Breakfast was pretty basic, however the biggest advantage of this hotel is the location by being very near to the shopping complex/food stalls. Swimming pool is very crowded with some guests jumping in to the pool wearing pants and t-shirts. I hope the management should be more strict about this issue.

Room Tip: Don`t bother about the sea-view- not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

We booked the 2 rooms sea view, total 6adults 4 children. Rooms are ok, kitchen is clean. Seaview is great but when about 4 of us lean on the railing, it actually moved!! Had a scare of our life. The children were barred from going near after that. Pools are quite murky and shd be clean up ascwell. Breakfast is good and location near Shopping is good so we do not need to look for other carparks and put coupons. Next time will check out other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.