We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical seaside hotel with spacious rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Economical seaside hotel with spacious rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife & I (both retirees) decided to drive from Singapore to Malacca (Mahkota Hotel) instead of taking the coach so that we can move around this old Portugese town at lower cost, as almost all the metered taxis there charge a fixed sum per trip instead of using their meters. The drive along the North-South highway took us about 3 hours, with short stoppages for rest, refreshments & toilet breaks along the way.
The Mahkota Hotel is a family resort style hotel with 1 & 2 apartment rooms for 2 to 6 adults & 1 to 2 children. We had a 1-room deluxe apartment room with a bedroom with attaching bathroom/toilet & a spacious living room/kitchen for 2 nights at RM 232 per night (approx SGD 90 or USD 70). The rooms are fully air-conditioned & come with TV (with Channel NewsAsia & a few paid TV channels), a fridge, an electric water kettle, a cooker, daily free local newspaper, 2 bottles of mineral water & buffet breakfast for 2. Parking is free for hotel guests. Room internet is also available at only RM 10 for 24 hours (approx SGD 4 or USD 3).
The hotel receptionists & Cafe employees are very courteous & helpful.
The hotel is under the "Non smoking zone" & has 8 smaller apartment blocks. Because of our last minute booking, we were assigned to a block furthest from the Main Hotel Lobby/Cafe. Thus we had to walk daily for 10 minutes through the shaddy hotel swimming pools/garden area to take our daily breakfast. The hotel is located next to the sea (Straits of Malacca). Our rooms are fairly clean & breezy. As our room/block overlooks the sea, they are also very quiet/peaceful during the whole day & night.
This hotel is suitable for families with children as it has 2 pools with slides, games rooms & a mini golf course for small children. There is a laundry & ironing room & a spa too.
For shopping, we can walk across the road opposite the hotel to Mahkota Parade or drive or walk to the nearby Jonker Street (10 to 15 mins walk) for food (famous chicken rice ball, chendol drink, pineapple tarts, local grilled black & white coffee powder, gula melaka or coconut rock sugar) or local products (traditional beaded slippers, wooden cloaks, wooden umbrella, antique collections) or visit the Baba & Nyonya Heritage Museum. You can also take a cruise along the Malacca Straits from the berth close to the hotel.
For dinner, there are many choices ie economical western fast food, Chinese cooked food & dip satay, Italian pizza, Malay nasi briany & other foreign food restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.
The daily complimentary buffet breakfast from the hotel offers several types of drinks (fruit juices, fresh milk, tea, coffee & local teh tehrek), Malay breakfast (nasi lemak or coconut rice with sambal beef & chicken), Chinese breakfast (plain/chicken porridge, noodle with curry or fishball soup, buns & chee cheong fun) Western breakfast (toast bread, eggs, oats, sausages, beans, muffins, salads).
It is really a value-for-money family resort type hotel.

Room Tip: Get an apartment room at a block nearer the Main Hotel Lobby & Cafe to minimize walking to the M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear RetiredTraveller,

We thank you for selecting Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are pleased to learn that you and your wife enjoyed our 1 Bedroom Apartment, and had a pleasant stay with us. We will certainly share your positive feedback to the relevant departments.

We value your time taken to evaluate us and looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,


The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    83
    123
    83
    94
See reviews for
212
49
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Spent one night with a group of 6 in a 3bdrm apartment.
Overall the place is a reasonable value. But the property is old, poorly maintained and very busy with large groups (package deals?)

The location is good if you are looking for a place close to the sea. It’s 15 minute walk to the historic center and Chinatown areas. The walk is only possible by crossing a busy street that has no pedestrian crossing (you must run across)

Overall this place is good if you travel with a group and just need a place to sleep and hang out by the pool. The rooms are not inviting enough to spend any time during the day. Don’t book this place is you plan a romantic weekend.

The brand new Holiday Inn is right next door to Mahkota and probably a lot more modern and clean.

Hotel Equatorial is in a better location and despite its old age much better maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor sea view. Beware that the tallest building is a 5min walk from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear poboxearth,

We thank you for selecting Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are pleased to learn that you and your wife enjoyed our 1 Bedroom Apartment, and had a pleasant stay with us. We will certainly share your positive feedback to the relevant departments.

In the meantime, we will upgrade all our apartments units with effect from January 2012, and target to compensate by April 2012.

We value your time taken to evaluate us and looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,


The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Some of the reviews here are truly dire and we did think twice before accepting our travel agent's recommendation. In the end we took it anyway with a certain amount of trepidation.

We were in a sea view apartment and while it's nothing particularly special it's really not too bad. It's clean if a little old looking, the staff are friendly and the apartment is nice and big.

Breakfast is typically Asian, which is to say some of the variety is odd to Western tastes and none of it was cooked or presented very well but we did all find something to eat in the end.

The big negative from our point of view was the dual carriage way running in front of the hotel. Sure, you can walk around but it means a short detour to reach the old part of town. An under (or over) pass from the hotel would be great.

So in conclusion, not the greatest hotel we've ever stayed in, but by far not the worst.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear CurlyClaire,


We thank you for taking your time to share your experience and evaluate us.

Regarding to the main road in front of the Hotel, the local authority have agreed to construct a zebra crossing at the cross junction traffic light at ‘Persimpang Mahkota’, and we are waiting for the project to be completed.

With regard to the rooms and the buffet breakfast, we will share your feedback with the respective department. We will be upgrading all our apartments units with effect from January 2012, and target to complete by April 2012.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,


The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I kept my expectations low as the last time I stayed in this hotel was more than 10 years ago, but I booked it as it offers the spaciousness I wanted for my family. I booked a 2 bedroom premier and the whole family was extremely pleased and happy with the room. It was clean, spacious and smells fresh, we were even able to get the requested room facing (despite it being a long weekend). Staff were generally friendly but I must compliment the pool staff who really kept a watchful eye at the kiddy's pool area. Keep up the good work Housekeeping and Recreation Staff !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Ningshuen,


Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are pleased to learn that you and your whole family enjoyed your stay with us, and we will share your positive feedback with the Housekeeping & Recreation staff.

Once again, we thank you for your time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us!

Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is one hotel/apartment from a different era. It serves its basic purpose and at the price they are charging, it is truly value for money. Stayed in a one room apartment during one of the weekdays and really enjoyed the convenience of its location (nearly near all the tourists spots) as well as the quiet retreat it offers. With a breakfast thrown in, it saves you the hasty of looking for food in the morning. Generally clean and very functional for its price range but it is aging. The layout as to its facilities is from a time where activities are around the pools as they, I have several. Would recommend if you are looking for a quiet and convenient stay.

Room Tip: Get one that face the sea and you have a resort sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Thewinchi,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate and review us.
We are pleased to know that our apartment rooms, hotel’s facilities and our food met your expectations.
We appreciate your constructive feedback to us, your kind feedback will be shared with the Head of Departments.
Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We took a 1 bedroom apt whilst visiting relatives last October. The first thing the security guard told me after checking in was that it was a good move for us to arrive mid week as weekends were crazy and this affects water supply.

Room is definitely old but we've experienced worse ones in M'sia. Although a little run down, but we had no issues with water supply. Sheets were clean too. It would hv been good if the hotel provided dish washing liquid since there is a full kitchen.

As it was relatively quiet, we got the chance to enjoy the pool facilities with our baby.

One year and we'll be going back to stay in the same hotel in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear oooopljg,

We are glad that you have chosen Mahkota Hotel Melaka during your previous stay and had enjoyed it. We are delighted to learn that you will be visiting us again in a few weeks time and it is a pleasure to welcome you.
Please drop us an e-mail i.e.: jacintaquek@mahkotahotel.com.my and we will be most happy to reserve a room for you.
Looking forward to serve you again.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I was there for a short weekend stay with some overseas friends. Booked a 3 bedroom apartment @ excellent rates. They gave me a high floor apartment that's quite windy when the balcony door is opened.
Rooms are nothing to shout about. Basic but adequate. We like having a living room so that we can chat with friends in the evening. Only vice is that the apartment smelt strongly of cigarettes, but it's ok after we left the balcony door opened for a while.
Service wise a little lacking. Kettle was spoilt so we asked for a replacement. But it never came.
Good for friends & families.
Location also quite good as it's opposite Mahkota Plaza. Plenty of shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear hlmh,


Thank you for your time taken to review and share your constructive feedback to us.

Generally, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Pertaining to your feedback on replacement of spoilt kettle, we regret to note that our service did not meet to your expectation. We will revert to the relevant department heads to look into it for further improvement.

Thank you and hoping to see you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#78 of 156 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#11 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#13 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#20 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#67 of 156 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.