We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a Hilton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Definitely not a Hilton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Spent one night with a group of 6 in a 3bdrm apartment.
Overall the place is a reasonable value. But the property is old, poorly maintained and very busy with large groups (package deals?)

The location is good if you are looking for a place close to the sea. It’s 15 minute walk to the historic center and Chinatown areas. The walk is only possible by crossing a busy street that has no pedestrian crossing (you must run across)

Overall this place is good if you travel with a group and just need a place to sleep and hang out by the pool. The rooms are not inviting enough to spend any time during the day. Don’t book this place is you plan a romantic weekend.

The brand new Holiday Inn is right next door to Mahkota and probably a lot more modern and clean.

Hotel Equatorial is in a better location and despite its old age much better maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor sea view. Beware that the tallest building is a 5min walk from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear poboxearth,

We thank you for selecting Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are pleased to learn that you and your wife enjoyed our 1 Bedroom Apartment, and had a pleasant stay with us. We will certainly share your positive feedback to the relevant departments.

In the meantime, we will upgrade all our apartments units with effect from January 2012, and target to compensate by April 2012.

We value your time taken to evaluate us and looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,


The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    75
    114
    69
    91
See reviews for
190
43
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

Some of the reviews here are truly dire and we did think twice before accepting our travel agent's recommendation. In the end we took it anyway with a certain amount of trepidation.

We were in a sea view apartment and while it's nothing particularly special it's really not too bad. It's clean if a little old looking, the staff are friendly and the apartment is nice and big.

Breakfast is typically Asian, which is to say some of the variety is odd to Western tastes and none of it was cooked or presented very well but we did all find something to eat in the end.

The big negative from our point of view was the dual carriage way running in front of the hotel. Sure, you can walk around but it means a short detour to reach the old part of town. An under (or over) pass from the hotel would be great.

So in conclusion, not the greatest hotel we've ever stayed in, but by far not the worst.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear CurlyClaire,


We thank you for taking your time to share your experience and evaluate us.

Regarding to the main road in front of the Hotel, the local authority have agreed to construct a zebra crossing at the cross junction traffic light at ‘Persimpang Mahkota’, and we are waiting for the project to be completed.

With regard to the rooms and the buffet breakfast, we will share your feedback with the respective department. We will be upgrading all our apartments units with effect from January 2012, and target to complete by April 2012.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,


The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I kept my expectations low as the last time I stayed in this hotel was more than 10 years ago, but I booked it as it offers the spaciousness I wanted for my family. I booked a 2 bedroom premier and the whole family was extremely pleased and happy with the room. It was clean, spacious and smells fresh, we were even able to get the requested room facing (despite it being a long weekend). Staff were generally friendly but I must compliment the pool staff who really kept a watchful eye at the kiddy's pool area. Keep up the good work Housekeeping and Recreation Staff !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Ningshuen,


Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are pleased to learn that you and your whole family enjoyed your stay with us, and we will share your positive feedback with the Housekeeping & Recreation staff.

Once again, we thank you for your time taken to evaluate and share your experience with us!

Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is one hotel/apartment from a different era. It serves its basic purpose and at the price they are charging, it is truly value for money. Stayed in a one room apartment during one of the weekdays and really enjoyed the convenience of its location (nearly near all the tourists spots) as well as the quiet retreat it offers. With a breakfast thrown in, it saves you the hasty of looking for food in the morning. Generally clean and very functional for its price range but it is aging. The layout as to its facilities is from a time where activities are around the pools as they, I have several. Would recommend if you are looking for a quiet and convenient stay.

Room Tip: Get one that face the sea and you have a resort sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Thewinchi,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate and review us.
We are pleased to know that our apartment rooms, hotel’s facilities and our food met your expectations.
We appreciate your constructive feedback to us, your kind feedback will be shared with the Head of Departments.
Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

We took a 1 bedroom apt whilst visiting relatives last October. The first thing the security guard told me after checking in was that it was a good move for us to arrive mid week as weekends were crazy and this affects water supply.

Room is definitely old but we've experienced worse ones in M'sia. Although a little run down, but we had no issues with water supply. Sheets were clean too. It would hv been good if the hotel provided dish washing liquid since there is a full kitchen.

As it was relatively quiet, we got the chance to enjoy the pool facilities with our baby.

One year and we'll be going back to stay in the same hotel in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear oooopljg,

We are glad that you have chosen Mahkota Hotel Melaka during your previous stay and had enjoyed it. We are delighted to learn that you will be visiting us again in a few weeks time and it is a pleasure to welcome you.
Please drop us an e-mail i.e.: jacintaquek@mahkotahotel.com.my and we will be most happy to reserve a room for you.
Looking forward to serve you again.

Warm Regards,
The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

I was there for a short weekend stay with some overseas friends. Booked a 3 bedroom apartment @ excellent rates. They gave me a high floor apartment that's quite windy when the balcony door is opened.
Rooms are nothing to shout about. Basic but adequate. We like having a living room so that we can chat with friends in the evening. Only vice is that the apartment smelt strongly of cigarettes, but it's ok after we left the balcony door opened for a while.
Service wise a little lacking. Kettle was spoilt so we asked for a replacement. But it never came.
Good for friends & families.
Location also quite good as it's opposite Mahkota Plaza. Plenty of shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear hlmh,


Thank you for your time taken to review and share your constructive feedback to us.

Generally, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Pertaining to your feedback on replacement of spoilt kettle, we regret to note that our service did not meet to your expectation. We will revert to the relevant department heads to look into it for further improvement.

Thank you and hoping to see you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Not bad for short holiday. but the food not so good we eat most of time just about the breakfast there was alot of guest the management should know how to control the crowd. there was no ommellet counter for breakfast, abot messy the buffet breakfast. the room ok not so good but ok can stay. very good location everthing is within the walking distance. The bell staff was very friendly. but no any memorable experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Sue F,


We value your time taken to review and give your feedback.

Pertaining to your comments on the buffet breakfast crowd and the omelet counter, we will have the F&B Department to rectify those short comings.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Thank you


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Tingo so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.