We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, walking distance to Mall, Children friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added Mahkota Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Selangor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, walking distance to Mall, Children friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had 3 days 2 nights here. Staff was nice. Breakfast was just acceptable. Rooms clean... unfortunately, it was a cockroach running through my leg which scary me for that moment. The bath tub had some crack line, W.C. flushing was a bit difficult (and I had do some repair on it... so gets better), broken glass mirror.
Funny is, why install the electronic cooker but not allow to cook? Also a note paste on the main door " do not lock the door when going out"... I guess there are very confidence on their security or hope us not to lock the door nod, so that their staff can do in to clean????
All poor was shallow.. children friendly hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear ngcy,


Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel to stay.

We are pleased to learn that the service provided by our staff and the overall atmosphere of our guest room met your expectations. However, we are concern to learn that you have encountered the unexpected during your recent stay with us. We are now addressing the matter to the respective department heads to investigate and rectify it immediately.

Operating as city-style resort in the historical heritage Melaka, our guests comfort, safety and security is one of our many priorities we always prioritized. Pertaining to your concern: 'Cooking Stove' in apartment - only long term guest (i.e. guest who stays on monthly basis) are allowed to utilize the cooking stove; 'Do not press the button when leaving the apartment' note at the back of the main door - all of our door locks are configured in such a way that it will automatically lock once closed.

Once again, we value your time taken to review and appreciate your kind comments and feedback to us.

We hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    67
    102
    64
    84
See reviews for
171
42
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selangor
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is rather old but i would say that standard apartment room is cosy, great swimming
pool.with slides for kids, good breakfast, ample car parks with security personnel roaming around and best of all it is just across the road from major shopping malls and eateries!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear KevinY78,


Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel to stay.

We are pleased to learn that the apartment room, facilities, atmosphere and food at Mahkota Hotel Melaka were suitable for you and your kids' needs.

Once again, we appreciate your time taken to review and value your constructive feedback to us.

We hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Nice view of the ocean! Good location within walking distance to jonker street walk. Service is great. Not a new hotel but wonderful place to stay. Room is comfortable, clean and well maintained, important for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View rooms for a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear mariogunter888,


Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel to stay.

We are pleased to learn that the room, facilities and atmosphere at Mahkota Hotel Melaka met you and your family expectations.

Once again, we appreciate your time taken to review and value your constructive feedback to us.

We hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the future.


Best Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We checked in on 30/8/11 and stayed one night (2R standard apartment). Location is superb as it 's within walking distance of 15 min to the major attractions i.e. malls, Jonker Walk, Stadhuys, Musuems, boat/cruise and etc. Overall the stay is "marginally acceptable" for the value of RM 403.70 with 4 complimentary breakfast for adults.

On the negative, the room isn't clean and most of facilities are torn down with inadequate maintenance. When we made internal call to service room/operator, it took than 20 sec for the phone to be answered. The water in swimming pool looked brownish(on 31/8/11 @9:45am at the second pool). As a result we adjourned to the main pool which was cleaner at the side of the main hotel lobby. Hope the situation will improve during I next trip to this hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear HTChew,


Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel to stay.

We appreciate your time taken to review and value your constructive feedback to us. It will provide us with the opportunity to improve our standard of service to our future guests.

We are addressing your feedback with the respective department heads to rectify the issues with immediate effects.

Pertaining to you feedback on the swimming pool, the water quality in the Dolphin Swimming Pool doesn't look good due to problem with the filtration which we are repairing now.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We booked last minute for Saturday and Sunday night and as a lot of places were booked I decided to wing it and stay at Mahkota hotel. The 2 bedroom apartment we were given was stuffy, small, and depressing to be in. The beds were small, the sofa was so old you could not sit comfortably and as many people comment, the tolet water is yellow/brown. I am not sure how it can ben called an apartment when there was no kitchen utensils/plates etc and a sign saying " do not cook anything" above the 2 hot plates? The staff seemed nice and my little girl enjoyed a swim in the pool but we decided to make the most of our get away and check in else where on the Sunday night. Mahkota markets itself as a 4 star hotel. It is certainly not 4 star. My advise, look for other options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear CoffeeGirl11,


We thank you for taking your time to review and share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We, however, regret to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Pertaining to the yellowish water, we are continuously monitoring it and are replacing some of the pipes. Apart from our routine maintenance exercise, we will be undertaking a soft refurbishment soon.

As to your feedback pertaining to the Hotel's practice of not allowing guests to cook in the apartments, only long term guests (i.e. guest staying on monthly basis) are allowed to use the electronic stove.

Nonetheless, we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope you will allow us to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

When we arrived our driver was not allowed to stop at the front to offload our luggage, we had to park and then carry our luggage inside. There was no bellboy to help us carry our luggage from foyer to room but a worker did begrudgingly drive us to our block where we were unceremoniously dumped at the foot of the stairs and our block pointed out to us. The hallways are filthy and the rooms need better maintenance. Our safe didn't work and when the maintenance workers came up he told me he didn't fix safes. The manager didn't know what was wrong with it either. The pool area looks really lovely in photos but on closer inspection you'll notice ít needed some cleaning. Breakfast was average. There wasn't much choice and the hot foods weren't actually hot. When we checked out we asked the hotel to order us a taxi. The bellboy watched us load the van with our luggage and then came down and told us that it wasn't the taxi that he ordered so we had to offload everything. Waited more than 10 minutes and then he told us the taxi wasn't coming anymore so we loaded everything up again. The previous year we stayed at the Holiday Inn accross the road and my gosh how I wished we stayed there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear Maksha,

We thank you for taking your time to review and share your feedback after your recent stay with us.

We, however, disappointed to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay, and we have address your feedback with the respective department heads.

Your valuable feedback will certainly help us to improvise our service standard for guests in the future.

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Luckily i have a sea-view room. Nice! Parking provided and near to the shopping center. But bear in mind, some room maybe too dated. Breakfast is nice :)

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view and high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Mahkota Hotel Melaka Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear adinda7,


We thank you for your time taken to review and share your experience with us.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your kind comments will be shared with our respective departments.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No.16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahkota Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.