We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatten Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hatten Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Hatten Hotel Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hatten Hotel from 18/12/13 to 20/12/13. The staff were very pleasant and the room was also comfortable. Although we were in a suite, it was just a bedroom with an extra entrance area with a sofa set. The view of the sea from the room was awesome.
We checked in on level 12, very fast and efficient staff. Breakfast was at the Alto Sky Lounge on level 22. Lovely view of the whole city.
Breakfast was good and the room comfortable. The hotel is right smack in the middle of town with Jonker's Street and all the major heritage sights within walking distance. The Pahlawan mega mall is linked to the hotel through a link bridge. The Mahkota Parade is also just next door.
I strongly recommend the H Spa. I had their Purely Pampering Treats - awesome!
Would love to return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    509
    171
    43
    31
See reviews for
368
245
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Was supposed to make my first stop to Kuantan but made last min cancellations and headed to Melaka instead.

Check in was a breeze and rooms were still in good condition one year after the last stay here. Always love the big room but air con took a bit to get going.

Big plus this time round is breakfast crowd is managed well with good spread. Will be back again if in Melaka.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Totally awesome experience. Room was spacious and clean. Two separate sleeping and resting areas. Comes with a comfy bed, lavish chaise and 2 Lcd tvs. Bathroom with complete toiletries.

We had breakfast in the Ballroom with scrumptious spread. The pool had a great view and the gym was fab.

Hotel is accessible to anywhere, walking distance to almost all the tourist spots, shopping mall and eateries. Even has a connecting bridge to Dataran Pahlawan shopping mall. Definitely convenient to return back to our room after our late night movie at the mall.

Hotel staff was friendly, even recommended us higher rooms with better views.
Only setback is the long waits for of the lifts. No problem, we took the stairs.

Stayed for 2 nights and should have stayed longer. Definitely, worth as the price is simply affordable. I will come back for Hatten Hotel. Thanks, God!

Room Tip: High floors, Deluxe suite facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Good service. Checking in was fast because they had a room. Spacious room. Our room was located at 13th floor and directly in front is the swimming pool. Booked deluxe room through Agoda. Worth the money. Would book this hotel again. Lift is quite slow at the car park but we're okay with it. Food wise, it's delicious. Lots of variety to choose from. Staffs are friendly too. Great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

As previous reviews, the check in was a nightmare, I need to wait the room be ready after 3pm. The reception gave wifi password w/o room number, I could not use the wifi service during wait time. Fortunately the place is convenient and there were two link passage (out from lv1 lift lobby) leading to two adjacent mega shopping centre: Dataran Pahlawan (up to lv2 then through passage to the north), and Mahkota Parade (out through east overhead bridge in lv1). So the killing time was easy.
I went back at 4pm and got my room though someone still queueing. They failed to allocate two side by side room for my family, and even failed to provide one room with king bed (I have a small need to sleep with us). I had to upgrade from Junior Suite to Delux room (topping up 58RM per night) to fulfill my request.
The room(toilet also) was spacious and the furniture was in good condition. The only difference between Delux and Junior Suite is the former is slightly bigger, got view(outside only, not interesting) and got welcome fruits. From the delux room could see swimming pool, very tiny & crowded indeed.
The lift too, crowded during rush hour(breakfast, check out). And the program not optimized is another cause of long waiting time.
Breakfast was good and got varies choices(must try mee rebus, fruits). If you opt for dinning in the ball room beside the canteen, you don't need to queue at all.
As mentioned before, the location was convenient. Adjacent to Mega malls. And 10min walk to historic sites/ Jonker street. Out of hotel lobby, to the right were Jalan Merdeka, there were a lot eateries, got Nyonya, Korean, Teochow, western...a lot of choices. At the back of hotel there was good hospital, Mahkota Meidical Centre, where Singapore could even use Medisave to cover the medical expense there.
Overall it was a good stay. Hope the management improve check in and lift efficiency in the future.

Room Tip: Choose Delux room if you want single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Rooms - very nice and spacious

Staff - generally friendly

Location - convenient and central

Lifts - always crowded, feels like only a few are running each time

Breakfast - suggest you eat before 8am. After that, it gets ridiculous with long queues blocking entire lift lobby. Never seen this at any good class hotel before.

Rooftop Bar - very nice

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Checking in was a nightmare. My wife and I was informed that we were entitled to check in using their "express lane" at the 12th floor, it was to our horror that the queue was the same(or longer) then the one at the main lobby.

Official Check in was 3pm. However, we had to wait till 4.30pm for my room (we had to insist for it or else it might be longer!). For a hotel that keep emphasising on checking out on time, it's disappointing that they could not issue to the room on time.

After the lengthy check-in process, we proceeded to our room. The journey to our room made us realise that this hotel is not ready when the hotel is full. We saw many people sitting around the lobby and premier lounge (some fuming), waiting for their rooms. Lastly, the long waiting time for the lifts (and usually full) added to our disappointment and frustrations.

However, I got an awesome surprise when I entered my room (1610). It was amazing! All my frustrations melted away and our holiday mood kicked back right in!. It was clean (unlike certain reviews). Nice decor, comfortable bed and awesome toilets (yes, we had two toilets). Being in the room made us forget the other shortfall of the hotel.

We were entitled to have our breakfast at the 22nd floor. It had the amazing view with a standard international buffet spread.

Despite the poor check in process and facilities, we had a memorable time at the hotel.

Hotel is suitable for motorcyclist. There are dedicated motorcycle parking lots at level 2(yes, it's a covered lot! wee!) in front of the parking office. In addition, there are constant roving patrols at the carpark. However, the usual locks must be used for added security.

Room Tip: Corner suites are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 695
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatten Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.