We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast spread and very convenient for shoppers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatten Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hatten Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Hatten Hotel Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spread and very convenient for shoppers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Spent two nights in Hatten Hotel in Melaka just to take a short break. This is a new hotel and at the promotional price of RM232 per night with breakfast for two, it is worth it. The breakfast spread is really good, you get dim sim, English breakfast stuff like bacon, eggs, sausages, etc, porridge, Chinese food like fried noodles and rice, scones and cakes and fruits too. Oh, cereal and yogurt too. There were 2 LCD TVs in the room and the bed and sofa area is separated by a glass panel so you feel the place is really spacious for a standard room. As we went in early Jun 2012, the swimming pool was still under construction which explains the promotional price. Next to hotel are two big shopping malls so very convenient for shopping and eating. According to their website, the promotional price is till end Aug 2012 so please check it out before then ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    470
    149
    39
    28
See reviews for
334
223
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here in july 2012.
Great value. (not sure if its promotion rate, as it is newly launched hotel) Room was spacious. The bed were so comfortable. There’s a partition between the bed and the sofa, which is actually very impressive. And they have two flat screen TV at each area!! Noticed they include the Singapore channel as well. Our room overlooking the straits of Malacca. Breakfast spread were a galore. Facilities – swim pool, sauna,.. they were good.
Location – connected to its own shopping complex, Hatten Square. Surrounded by square of other shopping malls , and dataran pahlawan. Walking distance to the historic sites. And jonker walk. the traffic in melaka can get quite horrid these days, so a bonus point to stay here, no need to drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

we had a sudden decision to stay a night in melaka, and we want to chose a hotel that is comfortable as we have a baby with us. Hatten had the promo price, 232 net with breakfast buffet.
The hotel is very new, for malaysian the promo price is a bit expensive but worth it.
Walking distance to dataran pahlawan , mahkota parade and shoprows around there.
The room was very comfortable, had 2 tv in it, separated tv room and bedroom.
Mattress is good, tv channels are good, with singapore channels, disney etc.
Very comfortable, no jakuzi which i dont prefer ,shower was good.
I love the hotel breakfast buffet, had lots of variety and unusual like hot soya, cincau, variety of pau, yam etc, though my husband said its not much of what he had in many hotels he stayed, for him just ok2.the bread variety not much , ok2.

Downside: The table available is a long one, underneath the tv in bedroom, so not comfortable if u r there for business trip working on lappy,
one of the table lamp was not working, we called service guy in, he cant repair on that night.
No computer in room, i stayed in few other hotels before, which had a desktop in the room for surfing.
Here we have to go to lobby where there have 3 common computers.

choosing room:
when i call for enquiry, the service desk told me there are 3 views, facing the building side, facing swimming pool and facing sea view. When my husband when to check in, i forgot to inform him, he just take what they gave, and we get swimming pool view. Its ok but as ours was in 14th floor and swimming pool was in 11th floor, ppl in the pool can see us if we open the curtain.

Room Tip: when i call for enquiry, the service desk told me there are 3 views, facing the building side, facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

By the time of my stay, the hotel is only opened for business for 2-3 months. Therefore, there are some teething problems like slower housekeeping, no hair-dryer in the room, skipped turn-down service. I'm sure these things will improve over time.

For the room, it comes with 2 TVs which I thought was a good arrangement. One TV faces the bed and another TV faces the sofa, which is a separate area. If the kids/friends want to watch something else, there is a 2nd TV. The hotel itself is connected to the Hatten Mall, which makes it convenient to go for meals and shopping. And across the road, just 50m away, is the Mahkota Mall. The only thing is that a connected walkway to Hatten Mall is locked, so guests have to walk out of the hotel to get to Hatten Mall.

Try to ask for rooms with external views. Else you will get a room with windows facing another room and likewise, your neighbour can see everything in your room.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with external view. There are two rows of rooms in every floor that have windows that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just came back from a relaxing stay at the Hatten during its soft launch.

Front desk staff were indeed friendly and helpful. We reached the hotel before 11 am and was told our rooms would be ready at 3 pm. So we went for lunch and shopped around the hotel's shopping malls. Our rooms were ready when we went back at 2 pm.

Rooms were new and nice and the king size bed was very comfortable. However, the cups in the rooms were not very clean, overlooked perhaps due to a huge group booking the night before?

There is a partition to separate the lounge area at the entrance from the bedroom. There are two TVs, one in the lounge area and the other one on the wall infront of the bed. TV channels include local channels, Singapore channel 5 and 8 and channel news asia as well as vision four, etc but no HBO and Star Movies. No wifi in the room but internet connection via cable is free. Wifi is free at the hotel lobby and restaurant. Need to get a code from the front desk though.

Breakfast was awesome. The swimming pool was open on the day we depart. If you drive, don't use touch and go. Get a ticket and parking is free where the hotel will validate your ticket upon check out.

Hotel location is good connecting Hatten Square to Mahkota Parade and Dataran Phalawan Melaka Megamall. Historic sites are just a short walk away. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and are considering another visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel located within the shopping center and very easy to walk around to the old building and museums, room is clean enough, spacious, modern facility and nice view, Good breakfast with multi choice,

That would be good if they can maintain their front desk service include Receptionist and Concierge, as most of time i did not see any staff on duty, very disappoint that swimming pool was under construction.

Anyway that good for the price and location.

Room Tip: Request room at the back side with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

As stated by many about the check-in process, we had waited a while maybe 10mins or so. We had reached early so our room will only be ready about 4 pm or so. We went to Jonker Street, as usual doing the tourist thing. One part to avoid, don't visit the Chicken Rice shop in front of Jonker street, we are deceived by the long queue! The food was rather bland.... And also avoid the Durian Chendol next to it. We also visited the Christ Church, A'famosa. After the whole of walking of the Jonker street (Yes! Shopping!).

After we went back to the hotel... Room was fantastic! Comfortable bed and clean room. TV channels wasn't an issue to me as I had my own videos on my mobile ;) Later we hop over to the mall opposite to have dinner and catch a midnight movie. Breakfast was a wonderful variety! As I am usually a small eater, I ate a lot that morning! Staff were attentive and offer us an umbrella when it was raining while we were going out. My room overlook the swimming pool and it was so beautiful! Too bad, it only opens in July.... ;( Overall, had a great stay! ;D

Oh in Malacca, there is one cake you must try is the 20-layer crepe cake at Makota Parade Mall!!!! It was wonderful & yummy!!!!!! - http://www.nadege-patisserie.com/
http://food.malaysiamostwanted.com/venues/nadeje-mille-crepe-plaza-mahkota-melaka-raya


One little displease: As we had requested for a late check-out, and sensor card wasn't working for us to get to our floor and there is only 2 counters which are also the check-in counters, so we had to wait a while, it would be better to have a additional counter for the hotel guest so the staying hotel guest wouldn't have to wait. =|

Room Tip: Get a higher room! To have a nice view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 695
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatten Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.