We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest place we've stayed in in Malaysia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bala's Place

Bala's Place
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bala's Place to your Saves list
Bala's Place
77 Jalan Hang Kasturi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendliest place we've stayed in in Malaysia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Really great value for the rooms which are basic, but clean and everything functions! Bala and the other man who works here are both really friendly, will go out of their way to make you comfortable and best of all tea and biscuits appear frequently! The location is great, only a couple minutes walk to jonker street and some great places to eat nearby. Would definitely come again, well worth rm45!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sardinia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ok, so this isant the Ritz but owner very nice chap and night porter very hospitable even with his limited English. Great location, basic but clean rooms - I had an upstairs one which was perfect for me. Owner must realise past problems with mosquitos as when I mentioned I couldn't sleep one night he said "are the mosquitos bothering you" - they hadn't been a problem at all but he offered to spray my room to eradicate them, which the night porter came as promised to do at dusk.

If you want somewhere quiet, clean, friendly and not too far away from everything this place is ideal. Would definitely recommend it.

I'd say the only downside with this guesthouse is that there is no inside air con communal area - but there is 2 outside areas where you can sit and chill out in relative peace.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Bala's place back in April this year and we loved it. Bala was incredibly welcoming and accommodating. He was very helpful and polite and leant us bikes to ride around the town on. The night watchman was really lovely too. Very limited english but he knew how to offer us coffee on a regular basis, and was always friendly and welcoming when we arrived home each day.

Bala's Place has a very homely feel, with only a few rooms it had a really nice atmosphere and a really nice open air area upstairs to hang out in, meet other backpackers, etc. We stayed in one of the upstairs room which was very clean and comfortable. The location was great, nice and central and easy to navigate. REALLY GREAT PLACE TO STAY.

Room Tip: Opt for an upstairs room, a bit more air ventilation in the hot weather!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a great, clean, friendly place to stay. The family are really wonderful, kind and warm. I fell over when staying with them and need a doctor. Bala drove me to his family doctor and paid the bill until i could assess a bank. They care about their guests and this was great after six months on the road. Also great tips of where to eat, hang out and such as. Would recommend to any backpacker without hesitation.

Room Tip: Just look first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The location is good, but very difficult to find in a small lane. There is no air condition and a large number of mosquito... The room is not clean at all, water stain at wall... moreover, there is no towel...and you can't get back too late since the gatekeeper go to bed around 10 pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

At 40 Ringgit per night during non-peak times, Bala's represents very good value for money. It is well located for Jonker walk, the river front promenade and most of the major attractions. Also, Bala and his family are very nice and extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. If you can, secure an upstairs room as they have much better air circulation than the rooms on the main level.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peristeri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for one night at Bala's, in the heart of Malacca's Chinatown, and were really touched from their hospitality. Our room (last one on the first floor) was basic but very clean. Wi-fi was great, and the bathrooms were as clean as it gets (first two hours that we sat at the hall, we saw the lady of the house cleaning them after each time they were used!). Bala gave us lots of info on what to do and how to get around, everybody was warm and welcoming and we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bala's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bala's Place

Address: 77 Jalan Hang Kasturi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located in the heart of the Chinese Quarter, Bala's Place offers good clean budget accommodation with friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Newly renovated and decorated, we offer single, double and twin rooms with fan.Join us for movie night in or enjoy the charm and tranquility that Melaka town has to offer, we will happily make recommendations on where to go and what to eat. 6 double rooms with shared bathroom/hot showers. We can accommodate singles at a discounted rate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bala's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bala's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.