We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness is Hong Hotel . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hong

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hong
78, Jalan Masjid | Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 167 Melaka B&B and Inns
sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Happiness is Hong Hotel . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great atmosphere in and around this quaint Hotel. Upstairs from the street. Small amount of guests with excellent and attentive Hosts. Free Tea and Coffee in Lobby area, chilled water and in morning hosts provided little curry-puffs and sweet coconut treats in small bags. Room clean and adequate with good en-suite. Close proximity to 3-days weekend market (easy walking to and from) and if your turn right when you exit hotel you will hit the boardwalk along the river. This is a great way to walk to Little India and to Melaka Central, where you will find an abundance of gayly coloured Rickshaws and drivers offering rides around main tourist sights.The stay at the Hong Hotel was excellent and the free transport to and from Bus Station very appreciated. There is a back path to the Hotel through the carpark, keeping close to back of building, which is a great short-cut. Try it from the Hotel asap - I discovered it on my last day !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
27
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed one night at Hotel Hong with my families in July, and we had three double rooms. The room is not big but very clean with all necessary facilities.
The Boss and staff is friendly and nice. The dirver ( Ammy ) who pick us up at Melaka central keep waiting 45 mintues cause our bus delayed more than half an hour. And she alway give detailed trip guide and trsportation info.
There is a balcony on the top floor, where you can smoke outside.
There are couple local style restraunts around the hotel. It's convenient for you to have meal if you donot want to have dinner at Jalan street with higher price.
The location of Hotel is pretty good, and very quiet. But it's pretty close to Jalan street, only 3~5 minutes walk to Jalan street from hotel.
The room rate is good, meet my expectation very well. I would recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We've been staying at Hotel Hong many times and I must say their Good Service is getting better and better. Rooms though small but Cosy and very clean. Just doing the Hari Raya Holiday this month, we were there for 3D 2N. Owner's Son Mr Ti Junior went to Bus Sentral waited for us for almost one hour without any complaint as our Bus was delayed due to Traffic Jam. In fact he was so happy to see us there. We were very touched as it is not in the Package to fetch Customers to and from Bus Sentral. They just did it out of Goodwill from their good Heart. Owner Mr & Mrs Ti & family are very humble and modestpeople, even all their Staff are very Courteous and very helpful too .One of them Ah Mei even drove us around to eat at good places and buy Kueh Kueh from BaBa Charlie just after her Night Shift duty and refused to accept anything in return. We really appreciated their good Service and feel very comfortable staying at Hotel Hong as we feel like a Big family there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

everything was good except air-con not cold enough. after making known to them, the servicing was done immediate on next day. it shows that they care. however, we have checked out. for those who are heading for the bus terminal, please leave the hotel at least 45 minutes before departure as traffic jam is terrible along the way. we nearly missed our bus back home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose Hotel Hong after reviewing Trip Advisor comments. The hotel is up one flight of stairs so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs. The room is clean, on the small size but great value. The staff were extremely helpful and offered us complimentary snacks, told us how to find our way around Malcca and drove us to the bus terminal on the day we were leaving. We washed our clothes out in our bathroom and hung them out to dry overnight on the upstairs balcony. There is free wifi to the hotel rooms and tea, coffee and cold water are free at reception. The bed was very comfortable. The staff gave us a map with directions to the local cafe's for great local food. There is a market on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights - well worth being there for these markets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The manager/owner (Mr Ti) was so friendly and helpful, made us feel so welcomed. He offered to take us around the city and show us where the nice places to eat were. Such a genuinely nice person who expects nothing in return. The room wasn't big but clean which is the most important thing. No breakfast but there is free tea and coffee available at any time. Location-wise, only a few minutes walk to the main street (Jonker St) where all the markets/food stalls are. The main shopping centres (in the city) are only about a 15minute walk away.

Room Tip: We would recommend that if you visit Melaka that you plan to go there either on a friday, saturday o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hong hotel is very clean. They even has King Koil bed who makes us sleep confort. The room size is small but it worthed for the price we paid. Hotel staff is very nice. They took us to our destination and to Malaca Central. Mr. Celup for dinner and city tour is extra bonus. The only minus is no minimarket nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hong

Address: 78, Jalan Masjid | Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.