We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mari Mari Guest House

Mari Mari Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mari Mari Guest House to your Saves list
Mari Mari Guest House
75 77 Jalan Chan Koon Cheng | 75000, Melaka, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during CNY so had to pay a small surcharge because of the holiday. Staff, although limited English, were helpful and friendly. Double room, small but adequate with decent size bed (a tad on the hard side but not uncomfortable). Two shared bathrooms on ground floor, wifi, use of desktop computer, nice common area to hang out in. Short walk into town. peaceful and cosy. Would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights.
You can surely find a better hotel in Malaka.
The place is a bit far from the lively area, but the location is not too bad. The hotel and rooms are nicely painted and everything is very clean.
That's about it with the good things.
The staff were mostly nice, but the girl that was at the reception most of the time could not speak English, so we had problems getting any useful advice from her.
The rooms are tiny and have no ventilation. To make things a lot worse they are packed with moth balls (to keep bugs out) which makes it pretty impossible to breath, let alone sleep. After a horrible first night, we removed all the moth balls (from under the bed) and could get some sleep. It's been 2 weeks now, and all the clean clothes from our luggage still smell like moth balls.

Room Tip: Do not stay here, at least until they get rid of the moth balls inside the rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This place is walking distance to Capitol Satay Celup and actually you can walk to Jonker Street if the weather is not too hot. It's about 15mins.

I think all rooms has no bathroom. They have 4 bathrooms outside room for public use and its quite clean except in the morning when the traffic is high and when got bloody smokers smoking in the loo.

The place is filled with nostalgic and Malacca lifestyled water colour drawings. Our room- the triple room is facing the road so it's very noisy and very bright because of the yellow window. It's quite intolerable that I had headache. Other rooms has no windows and would be quieter. The wifi is sometimes weak.

I also suspect that this place has bed bugs which is common for backpackers inn because I had bed bugs bites all over my legs on Monday. I stayed at another hotel on Thursday though.

Except for the noise, suspected bed bugs and smokes in the bathroom, I think I would have enjoyed my stay better. Maybe they should install curtains to reduce noise and brightness. Prepare RM50 for room deposit.

Room Tip: Do not choose the triple room which has windows but it's too noisy because its facing a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Basic but value for money. Share toilet but is clean. Free parking. Walking distance to jonker. I can come to Malacca more often :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.4 mi away
Troka Prewar Residence
Troka Prewar Residence
#9 of 77 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Blanca Guest House
Casa Blanca Guest House
#38 of 188 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Armada Guesthouse
L'Armada Guesthouse
#28 of 77 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travellers Planet Hostel
0.5 mi away
Lavender Guesthouse
Lavender Guesthouse
#60 of 188 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mari Mari Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mari Mari Guest House

Address: 75 77 Jalan Chan Koon Cheng | 75000, Melaka, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mari Mari Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mari Mari Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.