We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baboon House

The Baboon House
89, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
6062831635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 474 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Hub of art & culture inspired by nature, kafe attached, located in the heart of the heritage. The Concept of The Baboon House is to provide the best dining experienced to all our beloved customers in regardless of ambience, food or service. Every Customers do play a big part to create the peace and tranquility or serenity of this house to each another. Thank you for your never ending support. The Baboons. For Love, Peace & Harmony
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Had the burger and the orange beer for lunch. Very good. The orange beer is delicious. Burger was really good too, although if you're an adult male you are going to be hungry.

Inside the staff and atmosphere is really relaxed. Loved it.

If you're in the mood for a good burger and a nice place to have lunch, definitely visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An artistic Place with Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

An artistic Place to relax and have a great burger! We ordered the baboon beef burger and a teriyaki chicken burger.. Very good!!

Helpful?
Thank Judithhazelzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Hands Down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Quaint Cafe, impressive wall decors, arty and laid back atmosphere.
Time freezes there, it will lure you back in time to its old heritage aura while enjoying every bite of their signature baboon beef burger.

If you want to take a break from the busy jonker walk, this is the place to be. Have a quiet moment while you work on your laptop or simply reading a good book.

Remains to be my favourite chill out place in Melaka! Will keep coming back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lamy3rda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“below expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

perhaps it was near closing. the burger was overcooked and very peppery that masked the taste of the meat. felt i was just eating pepper. the saving grace was the homemade ginger beer that was refreshing. i might try again at another point in time. might just have been 'bad luck' during that visit. ambiance was relaxing though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Went for a try yesterday after reading the great reviews in tripadvisor. We ordered aloha beef burger and the spicy lamb burger. The taste was good, we prefered the lamb burger. Meat was tender and juicy, however the burgers did not gave us the 'wow' effect. The side dishes were tasty, we hope they could have gave us a little bit more side dishes, not just one spoonfull of potato salad and 6 wedges... They served homemade ginger beer and home made orange beer, we ordered both and preferred the orange. The ambience in the restaurant was great, peace and quiet, they have signboard required guest to lower the noise. Fast service. The burger price RM15.90 - RM19.90 each and homemade beer RM7.90 each, the price is considered ok despite they are a well deco art cafe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RuChiaJRLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baboon House also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to The Baboon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing