We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, if you do not have too much expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Venus Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Venus Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 18, Jalan PM 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK, if you do not have too much expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed at Venus Boutique Hotel weekend of June 20th-22nd. Overall, it is OK/fair impression with couple of points.

Price: we had to pay full price instead of advertised at travel sites and on hotel itself. That's because sites show prices with advanced reservation discount and when we did our reservation it did not apply.

Rooms: clean, nice and modern. Don't expect too much view from your room because most rooms face the wall across.

Breakfast: OK, selection included no more than 3-4 items and if you are arriving after 9:30AM chances are that they've run out of food. However food was tasty, but can't say it for the coffee.

Amenities: nothing extra here, it is not a resort, no pool or spa. If you do not have such expectations (we did not) - it is fine. Hotel offers bike rental, however I'd recommend to do it from other place if possible because the bike we picked up start to fall apart in 15 min and we had to return and replace it.

Staff: friendly and accommodating. Good English skills.

In short - if you want most value for your money, better to book at least month in advance, in mid-week and have breakfast somewhere outside. I would not pay SIN $95/night the way we paid again for the same experience, but $50/night would be OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dearly Invisible 999,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your recent trip in Melaka.
I'm sorry for the bike that cause troubles to you during your holidays. I know.. it will turn down your holiday mood for such an experience. I believe all the bike might be taken out that day, if not, the front desk would have change another bike for you instead of asking you to wait for the repair. It's our fault not aware this happening to you.. but to be friendly speaking...

It is somethings unavoidable sometimes in our lifes, like a car broke down in the middle of the night on the road somewhere, somehow no battery on your phone, no service line for few minutes, miserable... this is our experiences that sometimes it just come into our life, we are trying to limit it or minimize it, but everyone face it. I did not said "WE" ignore you feeling.. just try to tell you that you are not the one facing the same bad day sometimes.. try to breath in and out.. then everything will be back to a sunny day. :)

I love your expression about the room rate. haha.. I hope I can do some explanation here. We are an hotelier that eagle our passion in hospitality seems day 1. We love to see when our customers are happy to stay in and out. We are sad when they feel angry, sad when they don't understand we are trying our best to settle the unwilling scenario.

Imaging you are renting a room to someone who does not appreciate what you had prepare for them, they misuse it, they don't take care about it. So, the room will be depreciated very soon, and a lot of maintaining needed to do. We maintain our room cleanliness, staff motivation, assets well fits but....All services from the staffs were paid using money... if paid not enough, they won't happy, they won't serve happily, you will not happy to see them. Assets, if we don't get extra money after all the payroll, electricity bills, water bills, assets bills, loan bills, we don't have money to maintain. It is as simple as this.

I hope all the customer out there can understand that we don't over charge our guest, we offer a lower rate during low season just to cover our expenses to pay staff bills, utilities bills. Because during weekday, there were less tourist, and population in Melaka is not at the high density. Therefore we need to do lower down the rate to attract tourist to come in during weekdays. This is the Melaka market, it doesn't mean the money you pay on weekend is worthless. If you like crowd, you can enjoy the crowd during weekends...holidays is like that! Enjoy the crowd...Enjoy the happiness people around you. I like to go Jonker street during weekends. The scenario is different when more people walking along the street, blue sky, heritage shops, seeing people buying, watching things relaxingly... It is the perfect holidays without motif.

From our hotel, just wake up around 8am, had a breakfast, started to walk through the Jonker...in between the street, you will see a lot of budget hotel, how the local people start their early preparation, slowly walk through the heritage sites, the ships, the red houses, then have your blunch in the jonker street. Don't eat too much. Try a bit of this and that. Then have one major lunch. Then you may walk to shopping center to cool down for the afternoon tea. After back to hotel have a nice shower n rest, you may go to jonker again for another scene at night which is totally different compared to the morning. The bar behind the street, enjoy the song and old shops.

Hope you will come back soon to explore Melaka and be our guest!

With Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    65
    40
    8
    4
See reviews for
40
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed in the deluxe room with my siblings. We actually added two extra single beds for the 4 of us. So the room was that spacious to begin with. Everything was clean n tidy. Staff was helpful and speak good english. Location is excellent the malls were well within walking distance. There was a night market at night during the weekend of our stay just 2min from the hotel. Would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Unfortunately the friendly staff at the front desk and restaurant could not overcome the fact that the line in this place should really be cut up for rags or burnt! Stained with blood and other body fluids I did not even want to think about! The room service guys went through 6 sets of clean linen before we finally got some that was semi acceptable if you didn't think to hard!

For the price I thought this should not be an issue. ($AUD75/ night)

We then said don't worry about changing or cleaning the room for the second day. The hall way carpets were stained and filthy. Had to laugh at the sign in the lift telling guests to keep the place clean!

The breakfast on the rooftop was basic but enough. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful enough.
Had some insects crawling out of wall paper. We did not get bitten though and the mattress under sheets and protector looked clean enough.

The pay per use massage chairs in the lobby make a lot of noise when people use them without paying did not work this out until checkout, was getting a bit annoyed at 1130 pm at the beeping on the last night...... Would not recommend and would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Adam,

Thank you Adam for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your recent trip in Melaka. We had thoroughly check the laundry system after your feedback. We had sort the dirty linen for special cleaning, and we are on schedule to replace the linen batch by batch.

For your information, we are in planning to re-change our room wallpaper in year 2015 by projection. We hope to give new refresh look for our existing customers and new customers. Please bear with us, we will enhance the facilities once we had done the arrangement. Customers are always our top priority.

Thank you for your feedback, do hope you see you in the nearly future by giving us another chance to serve you better.

With Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for a 3D2N stay. Since we have kids in our company, I had asked for 2 rooms to be side-by-side or near each other.

Room interior was nice and the space in the room is decent. One of the room is much bigger.

Breakfast is on roof top which is ok, nothing to shout about considering its price. Location is good as its only about 8mins walk to Makhota Parade Mall & the biggest Melaka Megamall. Plenty of shopping and restaurants in the malls.

Jonker street will be estimated to be 15-20mins walk, but cabs can be gotten from the nearby malls at RM15, no metering.

My only very negative experience with this hotel is that Room #211 has a very terrible sewage smell in the toilet, and also that the Aircon had a mouldy smell when I turned it on. I called the housekeeping and they only tried to spray perfume which is not solving the problem. I tried to ask for a change of room but couldn't get on the same floor. Since we wanted to have the 2 rooms near, we decided to bear with it and had to close the toilet door AT ALL times :((.

The other room do not seem to have the same problem.

If not for negative experience with room #211, it will be a good stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Efficient friendly staff. Although the room was very compact it was clean and comfortable and everything worked ok. I was glad I asked for a quiet room as it overlooks the motorway. Much too far to walk into Jonkers St on a hot day, and the taxi asked 20 myr. Breakfast on the roof was pleasant.

Room Tip: We made a point of asking for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here only for one night after a day tour in Melaka as we are heading to Johor Bahru the next day for our Legoland visit. Even with this one night, we had a very pleasant stay. Staff were very nice, friendly and accommodating. We arrived very early morning at 1:00 AM, check in was so fast. Lobby was nice and decorations are quite elegant. Room were small but very clean. WiFi connection is fast. They allowed us to check-out and leave our luggage with them so that we can tour around Melaka, without the hassle of carrying our luggage. Would definitely stay again in this hotel if I am back in Melaka.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

the location is on walking distance to malacca attraction (taming sari, museum samudera, dataran pahlawan malls, etc) but quite far to jonker street.
it is on the business compound, so it can be easily to find minimart or small restaurant around here

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Boutique Hotel

Address: No. 18, Jalan PM 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Venus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.