We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice place to explore historical Melaka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Venus Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Venus Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 18, Jalan PM 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Kemi, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, nice place to explore historical Melaka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Walking distance to Jonker Street and shopping centers in Melaka. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Views do not thrill. Breakfast tasty and the staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    70
    46
    12
    5
See reviews for
41
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel room stay was purchased from Groupon Malaysia. Only stayed a night with hubby and sis in law. Surprised at this little gem of a hotel in a corner of Malacca. The room layout and ambience is small but comfortable. The curtains are thick enough to shield out light that we slept in late without realizing - a good night's sleep. Only setback is that our room had a pillar between the single and double bed which made the room space look smaller. Recommendable hotel and will want to return someday.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The good:
1. Clean rooms
2. Competitive pricing
3. Breakfast decent considering price paid for room
4. Good location
5. Relatively Complete set of toiletries and room facilities

The bad:
1. Wall are very very thin
2. Rooms are very small

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Only stayed for a night. Had some glitches when hotel pre-authorised my credit card for deposit prior to arrival. Created some discomfort for me. Overall room was to expectation, staff polite. Western dinner at the lounge in the hotel is recommended, great food!! Walking distance to Dataran Pahlawan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Only book this hotel a day before while staying at Jonker St. We decided to spend last day at Melaka shopping and want a hotel closer to shopping mall. This was the only hotel that has a room for 4 and within our budget.
Staff was friendly and though we arrive an hour early, was kind enough to let us check-in as room was ready.
Our room consist of a Queen, 2 single beds and a small desk which takes up all the space in the room, but that is fine with us as we just want a comfortable bed to sleep for the night. The air-conditioning was great, unlike the other hotel we stayed or maybe because it was bigger in space (we paid more for 'space' at the other hotel). From the bathroom, this place does not seem new to me at all thus I was very surprised to read 'Lisalovetravel' describing it "a new hotel" in her review.
Breakfast was included, if I had to pay I would prefer to eat out. Noodles fried with just onions & dark soy sauce was mushy and oily, beans, toast, some fruits and weak coffee was the breakfast spread.
We don't mind the 15 mins walk to shopping mall, park and restaurants passing a market on the way. Wifi available, though drop out a few times when using.
Overall, Good value for money hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Location of the hotel is very good , most of the attractions at walk able distance including the shopping malls and night markets . The rooms are very small but clean and new . The breakfast is also decent . Overall value for money , good choice ..if you are staying for couple of days and intend to see the attractions and roam around rather than staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stay in this hotel during my Chinese new year trip. I made a last minute booking so not much choices left except this hotel. Even though it is a new hotel, my room was not that clean at all.

The Pros
-Cheap and value for money if you just book the normal standard room.
-Breakfast was provided and the food was nice and has some variety
-Had the basic necessities like kettle, shampoo and soap etc.
-New hotel so their room are still looking new and well mantained in most area but dont know how it is going to be liked in 1 to 2 years time.
-Service was excellent
-Staff are friendly and helpful
-Wifi was not that terrible as most people describe
-Even though near the highway, but my room was not noisy at all

The Cons
-The housekeeping was terrible as my room was not throughly clean when I just check in.
-The towel had some stains on it so I would recommend to use your own towel instead.
-There is dead ants in the fridge.
-The water pressure for the shower is low but I do not mind.
-My room was on the second floor and I could see people walking downstairs so I close the curtain most of the time.
-The cupboard was open and has no door at all.
-The bathroom wall was dirty even though this is quite a new hotel.
-The location was poor as I hald to walk quite a distance to shopping centre and tourist attraction.
-There was hardly any taxi at the hotel area.

Overall, if you want cheap hotel you can choose this place.
For me, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont need to pay more for the deluxe standard room, it is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear lisalovetravel,

Thank you for staying at Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your recent trip at Melaka. We are glad to have you to stay in.

First of all, I would like to apologize for the untidy room. It is due to the tiredness of our housekeepers during Chinese New Year Season. All housekeepers are rushing for the best availability for the guest to check in to avoid traffic in the lobby. But we never take it as granted, in the future, if you found your room is not clean upon check in, please notify our manager to settle the problem for you.

For your information, your room window does not face to any staircase, but the view of flyover with some distance. For privacy purpose, yes you have to close the curtain unless you need to see the view.

For verification purpose, our location is only 5 minutes walking distance to Mahkota Parade Shopping Center, then you may walk to Dataran Pahlawan Shopping center for another further 5 minutes. Behind Dataran Pahlawan is tourist A'Famosa is another 5 minutes walking distance, then from there to Malacca tourist information center at Jonker street is only another 5 minutes. If you want to straight down to Malacca tourist information center at Jonker street from the hotel is only 10 minutes walking distance. It is only depending the route that you choose. You may search this data from the google maps. We do provide some maps at the receptionist, you may request from them for free.

Thank you very much for your feedback and let us know our weakness, and we will improve for the comment that you have highlight.

Your sincerely,
Venus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Venus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Boutique Hotel

Address: No. 18, Jalan PM 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Venus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.