We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venus Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Venus Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 18, Jalan PM 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Starting Price of RM115!
Ranked #20 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel room is cozy, clean and comfortable. And most importantly, it is affordable. We booked it at SGD 73.50 for a night. They also provide complimentary wireless connection in both lobby and inside the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Cristalglace,

Thank you very much for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka.

For your information, our Venus Restaurant has opened. You may enjoy our buffet breakfast, and a-la carte lunch and dinner in the future.

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    58
    32
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The 3 of us stayed here over the Easter weekend. We paid about SGD210 for 2 nights so it's about SGD35 per night. The hotel was clean though the service from the front desk could be better. No greeting, no smile. Wi-fi was not stable and hardly available even though the website states that it's free. We could only access it for a few minutes if you're lucky. Front desk claimed that because the hotel was full housem hence, they could not give us an extra keycard so the 3 of us had to share 1 keycard.

Location wise, it was about 15min walk from the hotel to Jonker street which is not too bad considering we could walk off the food we ate. The hotel is just beside Mahkota shopping mall (less than 5min walk) and opposite is Palladium shopping mall which was much better than Mahkota. Though Mahkota is newer, there were limited shops. Palladium has more shops and more things to see and buy. There is also an archery, cinema, arcade and some laser game at the upper floors if you are looking for entertainment.

I would stay here again just because of the price and location but not the service. Oh, there is no conditioner or shower gel provided in the hotel. Only a small tube of Shampoo which smell rather nice and a bar of small soap for shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear wanderlust_marlzy ,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last vacation visit in Melaka. I'm rather sorry about my friendliness at the front desk. I'll remind them and motivate them again. Thank you for your feedback so I will continuing monitor my service at frond desk.

We were sorry about the extra key card, I think you had check in late that day, and all the key card has been requested.

The mall that you mentioned in the feedback is Pahlawan Mall, Mahkota Mall is elder than Pahlawan Mall.

I will guide the service again to meet the satisfaction level. Thank you very much for your feedback. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for a one night short excursion. Booked via a third party on line reservation for a family room. It turned out to be a disappointing experience as compared for the 4 star price I've paid. It's way too small for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, guess it's only about 24sqm in size. It has a double bed and a single one with one additional free of charge rollaway bed, courtesy from the management (after a complaint).
Another issue was the lighting inside the bathroom which seems too dimly lit though on the brighter side, the hand and rain shower was excellent and most importantly has good water pressure. Other amenities such as toothbrush, bathtowel and basics like soap and shampoo are provided. On the other hand please vacuum the floor inside the room especially underneath the beds and do not forget the rollway bed too as it's layered with dust...
The condition of the thinly carpeted corridorway starting from the guest lift landing all the way to the front of the room was strewn with bits of rubbish and was rather dusty! - location Level 2. Even the washrooms in the lobby level were in filthy conditions. It's certainly not a bad idea, should the Management decide to spare some time to do a walkabout inspection within the hotel to see the situation themselves.By the way, the free wifi connectivity was reliable and so poor in reception that we had a tough time logging into the service consistently with only 2 signal bars!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear malaichai,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka. We are sorry for what you had experienced with the "third party" reservation channel. For your information, all the while our price is reasonable. Please write to us at info@venushotel.com.my for the third party channel that you are using, so that we can improve our marketing team for the experiences that you shared.

:) the shower room light were designed in dimmer effect for the newly renovated room. We will take note of that. We will change to brighter effect if majority do not like the dimmer effect.

For the cleanliness underneath the bed, we will improve at housekeeping department. Thank you for sharing, so that we know the rooms were improper cleaning. We will improve on the extra bed cleanliness too. Thank you very much for your feedback. We have done with the inspection and found the conditions that you had mentioned, corridor and lobby public toilet has been improved. I'm apologize on my housekeeping department behalf and myself as we are not doing our best to the satisfaction level. Thank you for the awareness.

For your information, we had just adding one more communication line to improve the signal. These has solve majority problem of the WIFI. The only things that we cannot guarantee on the connection is the busy hours and the low domestic server. It is really out of our control, however we will still putting effort from time to time to find a solution for this.

Thank you again for your feedback. Hope to see your feedback again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was such a pleasant experience in Venus. The Air-condition wasnt too cool in our room, the service staff gladly swapped us to another room even though it was 11.30pm at night. This place is a few steps away from Mahkotah Parade and night market.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear ShezaDeanna,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your ideal host for your last visit in Melaka. We are glad that you are happy with your stay and we will continue and maintain our service to you.

Thank you for your feedback.
With Warmest Regards from crews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is newly build. It's has a nice environment but the location is a bit further away from jonker street. its close to one of the market and but still walking distance and its nearby to 2 shopping centre makota parade and the other one I forgot the name and every Friday Saturday and Sunday there will be night market and there is a must try chicken rice ball the one that is near the bridge and don't forget the durian chendol

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear XMGGX,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka. The night market that you mentioned is Dataran Pahlawan Walk. It is just 2 minute walk from our hotel. The Jonker street may be a little further, but still within walking distance. It is about 15 minutes to walk from our hotel. You may have sightseeing by walking from Venus Boutique Hotel to Jonker Street, the shortest route where you may pass by the Maritime Museum, Samudera Ship, river quay, you will see uptown (market) especially on Friday and Saturday. Then you will pass by the Tourism Information center before you reach the Jonker street. You may also google the map for the shortest walking distance along the river quay.

Besides chicken rice ball, and durian chendol, we have many good food in Melaka, example Nyonya Laksa, local chendol with coconut black sugar which is very delicious as well. You may found this in Jonker street.

Hope you will come again for food in Melaka. I'll try to put some dedicated cafe and restaurant name in front office for you to try out.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I really love this hotel and i will come again
Room a little small but comfortable,romantic and clean.
nice window and ceiling.
The room i choose for King size double bed and my friends with me is three person also very comfortable.
But look like no have Astro i feel boring when mignight
LCD TV
FREE Internet

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear sharonlee0426 ,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host in Melaka. We are very happy that you will come again next time. Perhaps during your stay our restaurant has yet starts the operation. I'm sure by next time you come, you may enjoy our breakfast in our restaurant to save your time to look around for food in the morning.

We do have astro channel, of course not all. :) You may check with our front desk officer to explain the channel to you for your next check in.

Thank you for your encouragement feedback. We are glad to know you are happy to stay in Venus Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed on 16 March for a night with the rate of MYR150 nett (peak rate on Saturday) for a Standard Room (Queen Bed)

Good - Free Car Parking (after experiencing the countless traffic lights from Ayer Keroh toll to Melaka Town), Modern Room Setting, Clean, Large TV, Digital Security System (it will alert you when you didn't close the door completely), good amenities, location (5-min walk to the Pahlawan Mall, but in my opinion, it is not walk-able to Jonker Street, maybe need a bicycle), Free Water with DIAMOND filter, an email sent to invite you to join their FB page.

Improvement needed - No greetings upon arrival, stability of the FREE wifi, no spelling check upon replying my email, weird smell upon entering the room, slow response lift.

In summary, I think this hotel is good and I will recommend to everyone without any hesitation

Room Tip: Beware of School Holiday (both Singapore and Malaysia) period, surcharge fees may apply. (That's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Joyi_Ng,

A very good day to you & thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your recent visit in Melaka. For your information, if you are coming from Kuala Lumpur, you may choose to exit Simpang Empat toll, it will be nearer. Just that more traffic lights compared to Ayer Keroh toll.

For the improvement comment, we will improve again. The WIFI are still finding the solution, as we are maximising our sound insulation from room to room causes the higher boundaries within rooms that causes lower in signal. IT support is still finding their solutions to improve the stability. I will ask my staff to improve their greeting, probably they were tired during peak season, as more groups were coming in. Melaka's life is more relaxing during weekdays, and they were pampered during the weekdays. So comes into weekends, some of them still dreaming probably. :) I'll take note on this. No problem.

The lift was slow as it designed. We don't know that it was slow until the installation done. It was a KONE brand and are approved by the local authorities. Please soap yourself into Melaka style, relax and slow eown during your holidays in Melaka. :) Melakan is really slow compared to Kuala Lumpur. I used to work in Kuala Lumpur, but I love Melaka once has been transfered here.

When you have the weird smell from the room, please inform us. We will check the room conditions and find the solution for you.

Thank you again for your feedback and we really appreciate it. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Venus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Boutique Hotel

Address: No. 18, Jalan PM 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Boutique Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Venus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.