We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish but stinky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Venus Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Venus Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 18, Jalan PM 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
washi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stylish but stinky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location-- quick walk to wherever you want to go in Melaka. We were in room 110 and the room was a good size and had tv and wifi which worked about half the time, which was fine. Unclear if wifi was throughout the whole hotel or we were mooching off the lobby. Room was stylish and ok selection of english tv programs. Comfy bed and and nice sheets. The real downer was the bathroom-- smelled intensely of sewage. We asked to change rooms and let the staff know about the smell but all the rooms were booked as it was Christmas. We ducked into another room as we were checking out after housekeeping had come through and that room did not have the same odor.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear dckatastrophe,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your ideal host for your recent visit in Melaka. Room 110 is our deluxe standard room. We are now trying to solve the most headache technology (WIFI) in our hotel. We are currently using the similar technique as Mcdonald to control the signal and usage for the WIFI. Sometimes the WIFI is great, but sometimes is not. We doubt may be the line problem. We will apply for higher speed line soon the line is covered in our area. We hope our guests can enjoy the WIFI in our hotel as I need the WIFI too when I'm in the hotel. I understand what you all feel :)

I would like to say sorry, deeply sorry about the toilet smell. Your room is newly renovated and established in mid November 2012. It is the defects from the contractor where they did not install the piping correctly. At the begining no one realise the defect until end of December 2012. Many complaints about the toilet smell. I was checking and meeting with the housekeeping and do throughly cleaning at the beginning, somehow it appear again some days. We discuss with the manufacturer and the contractor, and finally the defects is from the contractor. Now the problem has solved today 10.01.2013. We arrange repair works, touch up from the renovation defect this week, and hoping everything is fine during the Chinese New Year.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Without your feedback, we are unable to improve ourselves. Thank you very much, and with warmest regards. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    70
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
41
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This my first time stay your hotel after long staying at the hotel next door.
Overall is great value but please advise your front desk operator be friendly and smile whe approaching customer. One malay girl approach me like police taking charge a criminal case in police station.
Another improvement is water pressure for shower room in very low.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Jdcontrol,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your ideal host for your last visit. With your description about the front desk girl, I understand which one you are talking about. We have inform and remind her several times. Each time after the talks, she is great. After couple of weeks, the same pattern come out again. :) I'm really sorry that you got her to serve you on that day. For your information, she has left us in January 2013 for better uporturnity (Policewoman? :), No, she went to 3 star hotel).

For your information, we checked our rooms and make some surveys from our in house guest about the water pressure. Majority has no problem with the water pressure in room except some times during the peak season (full house). We use the Grundfos pressure pump and currently we had set it to 2 bar. The pressure supposingly is at satisfy level.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, and we love again to serve you in nearly future, you may test again our water pressure in your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Even though the hotel was small, but the rooms are very comfortable. Stayed there twice and both times, the services provided are excellent! Nearby to major shopping centres and very convenient. A lot of nice restaurants and cafes around the area. the only downside is the smelly bathroom and hallway. Other than that, we had a good stay in Venus Hotel!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are ok, except for the bathroom in my room. It was smelly, probably because of poor ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear G_Gan,

Thank you very much for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for the last visit (Both) in Melaka. We hope our service rendered is up to your satisfication, and we wish to maintain the level of service from time to time.

For your information, I know your description about the downstair hallway and bathroom (actually is the public toilet). It is under renovation at that particular time, and it's the defect where the contractor forgot to install the piping correctly (it's the funny story). Some of our rooms' toilet has the same problem as well. However the problem has been solved 10.01.2013. We arrange the contractor this week to repair and touch up most of the defect this week.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great location,most of the tourist areas but not provide city map or any useful booklet.Staff act as receptionist somewhat less smile on customers even it no cost anything....Bad thing,bath towel is being offered where its material dropped and sticked at the clothing...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Faz_7786,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka. First of all, we would like to apologize for the map. We are currently working on it, hope that we can come out with a useful map for the tourist. Please visit our website for the travel info.

We will improve our smiling at the front desk, they might be tired due to the peak season, anyway I'll inform them to improve their service. Thank you for your feedback so I know this happened in our front desk. I'll take note of this.

I'm deeply sorry about the towel things, we have send our comment to the supplier, they replied as probably the batch is rich of filaments. The towel that you are using actually is new one. We have come out with the solutions is to wash off the filaments of the towel few times prior to use. For your information all the new towels has done with the treament, we have encountered this problem already.

We hope to see you again in nearly future. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perak
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

After a month of researching through the internet to find a suitable hotel in melaka, finally I found this hotel on the internet. The main reason I chose this hotel because the location is very close to attractions such as the Menara Taming Sari, duck tours, A Famosa,pahlawan walk, mahkota parade, dataran pahlawan, starting point for the double-decker bus (panorama bus), malacca river cruise etc.. The second reason is the parking facility in front of the hotel is safe since there is a security guard at night. The third reason is the room accommodation is very comfortable even relatively small. however, a Chinese male staff act as receptionist somewhat less smile on customers. therefore, i suggest that the hotel management send their staffs to attend course to learn a way to smile at the customers, especially when checking-in and met a customer/lodger. Overall, this hotel is perfect. And I would choose if traveling to melaka next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Alifrz,

Thank you very much for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your upcoming visit in Melaka. We are glad that you are happy with our location.

For the receptionist that you mentioned herein, he is new staff. We will train him accordingly. Thank you for your feedback for our shortage and we will improve on that. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in nearly future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked 2 rooms and found both to be quite well-kept. The beds were comfortable and there is water boiler provided in every room. Shower was equipped with water heater and simple toiletries were provided for guest convenience. Room size was rather small but not squeezy.

Location is great as it is within walking distance to Mahkota Parade and Parkson (shopping areas) and to most of the tourist areas (Jonker walk, etc.). As it is at a back-lane, the area is quiet but it is generally safe as the road is well-lit. There are a lot of eateries in the surrounding. Staff was friendly although not exceptionally helpful. They do not provide city map or any useful booklet/brochures despite the fact that they provide bike rental (I think it's RM20 per day which is quite cheap).

There was some expansion work going on during our stay so it got a little dusty (but not noisy). Overall, I would consider coming back again as the price justify the facilities provided and the good location (and may be even the new beds, etc. when the expansion is completed).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Vera V,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your recent visit at Melaka. We are glad that you like our facilities. You may try our new room (deluxe standard room & deluxe family room) for your next visit for new bed, new pillow.

For your information, all rooms has been completed. We are now in the progress of renovating the restaurant. Floor tiles and wall has been completed. Therefore I believe no more hacking or drilling except for the air cond, kitchen & bar installation. It is estimated to be completed end of January / February 2013.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback. We hope to serve you soon in nearly future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Note: I'm now writing this review in the hotel room.

Firstly, I have booked a double room 1 month in advance and requested for sea view which the hotel mgmt said will arrange for me. But it was not noted in my reservation and We were given a room facing the back lane of street.

Secondly, the water heater is not working at all. No hot water for the stay.

Thirdly, bad quality bath towel is being offered where its material dropped and sticked at the clothing.

Fourthly, tv channels are not properly tuned and saved which required us to manually tune for channels. No astro channel is available.

Last but not least, the noise from the on-going renovation work is unbearable during the day (9:00 - 18:00).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Blu3Blu3,

We are sorry for the scenario that you encountered during your stay. For general information, we will try our best to allocate the special request from the guest, sometimes the reception have to release your room to the long stay guest as they already utilize the room and they don't want to switch to other room. This is the things and we don't promise to our guest for the room number, room view, but again we will really try our very best to keep the room for our guest.

For your scenario, I'm really sorry because it is not due to this case, it is our fault that we change the hotel program in late October 2012, but they didn't transfer your request to the new program and causes no special request found in the program. We are really sorry for this carelessness.

Secondly, please do inform our reception if you encounter problem of not getting the hot shower. We will arrange the maintenance to repair for you.

Thirdly, for your information the towel that you mentioned is newly arrived towel. This batch is ordered from the previous supplier where we do not encounter the problem that you mentioned, we have complaint to the supplier about this matter. Once we received feedback from you and now problem resolved by washing a few times before use each time we distribute the new towels to rooms.

Fourthly, due to the renovation works, channel has been disturb by the construction worker each time they access to the control room. We are sorry for the inconvenience. For your information, we do provide astro channel (not all the channel, but some e.g. HBO, AEC, ESPN, National Geography). This is because the enterprise package is different compared to the housing package. Housing package can switch the channels flexibly but the enterprise package cannot. We don't have the technology yet to switch the astro channel differently from each room.

The newly renovated room has been completed end of November 2012. Now left the renovation work for the restaurant. I believe not much hacking and drilling from now onward, because the floor tiling and wall has been completed. Minor renovation such as kitchen and restaurant interior design is in the progress.

We are sorry that you went through the bad experience at our hotel. We hope you will visit our hotel again during your next stop at Melaka after we have completed the facilities. Thank you again for your comment so that we can improve and giving us a chance to explain the scenario that you faced throughout your stay. Thank you very much and hope to see you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Venus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Boutique Hotel

Address: No. 18, Jalan PM 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Venus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.