We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view of the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Paradise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riverside Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Paradise Hotel
112, Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 177 Melaka B&B and Inns
Quezon City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great view of the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

the owner/staff were very considerate and accommodating. they don't accept credit cards and I ran out of ringgits, and they allowed me to pay my deposit in another currency.

the room has very basic features, the bed creaks a bit, but it was clean and comfortable. the bathrooms were clean. it has a balcony with a great view of the river and St. Francis church. the hotel was also within walking distance of all the interesting sites and museums in melaka.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The hotel is situated next to the Melaka river and one can sit in the back of the hotel and watch the boats going up and down the river. As the houses are protected against too much alternation by law, the hotel has no restrooms in the rooms; instead, one has to use some well-done facilities at the back of the house (but still inside the building). There is no breakfast, nevertheless, there are good breakfast places nearby, for example the cafe in the building of the Cheng Ho museum. All important places can be reached by foot. Check out is at 12:00 hrs which is convenient if one wants to look around in the morning. Note that several museums have no luggage storage and one therefore cannot go in with luggage after checkout. In the evenings one can stroll around in the Jonker Street Nightmarket.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level can be used with shoes while the parts on the upper level can only be acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Love the place with heritage feel. Something different from a common hotel. If u like heritage style this is the place to crash in.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Its heritage outlook brings lots of fond memories. It is very cozy, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the space, quietness and convenience. Back entrance of the hotel provides a unique and serene feeling. The scenic view of the river (reminds us of Venice), majestic St Francis Xavier’s Church and cafes. Our son loves whenever the rivercruise boat passes by.
A walking distance to popular attractions such as Christ Church with many colourful and loud trishaws just outside and Jonker street where we had delicious durian chendol, chicken rice balls, bought lots of Malacca's goodies, good photo taking opportunities of the busy street and shops. Our local tour to Pulau Besar organised by the hotel was unforgettable. We stayed at an affordable villa facing the beach. Its like having our own private beach as it was so clean, windy and quiet. The villa is very well equiped with air con, full kitchen facilities, tv and heater bathrooms. Sunrise and sunset was fantastic. Overall our parents and son had a great time in this trip to Malacca. We certainly will recommend to our friends and relatives. To the hotel management - keep up the good job!

Room Tip: Spacious family triple room and double river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damansara, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The view is fantastic and the place is extremely clean. Everything under the sun. Not forgetting the super friendly staff. it's a smoke free place which is good but you can always go to the back of the hotel and smoke there while enjoying the river view. Planning my 2nd trip now as i'm typing :P

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We felt most fortunate to find a hotel so near the historical town on a public holiday.It was very relaxed and spacious. There were no formalities as there can be in more impersonal places. Looking at other guest houses the next day to compare, I wouldnt have slept nearly so well in others!!! the cleanliness and space was wonderful. No noise!!
Even after we had checked out we were able to leave luggage and enjoy the view at the riverside. Very impressed and I would recommend this hotel to others visiting the wonderful city of melaka.

Room Tip: The rooms are matched to the guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Very nice,clean and beautifully rennovated and decorated. The lights and materials are carefully chosen. The backyard is just the most unforgettable experience, facing a white church with river running and sparkling at night. The staff are very friendly. The back door is supposed to be closed at 00:00, but I wanted to take photos after they have already closed the door. They opened for me and when I came back just inform them, they will close it again. The only thing that is NOT so pleasant was about the sounds of people walking on 2nd level as it was timber flooring. I would like to suggest for better sound insulation on the ceilings of rooms on ground level.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Paradise Hotel

Address: 112, Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is strategically located at the centre of tourist attractions in Malacca where today it is home to the UNESCO World Heritage City of Melaka. Situated between the first bridge and the second bridge along Malacca river, you can walk along the riverside starting from our hotel back entrance to enjoy both morning and night spectacular view of the river. In a traditional Chinese homestay living at riverside along Malacca river under a historic and unique pre-war heritage building, you will be awed with our Baba and Nyonya traditional living in this hotel. Our hotel provides unforgettable riverside homestay experience which are memorable while you enjoy your holiday in Malacca, Malaysia. Come and experience what riverside homestay living is all about and you shall see... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Riverside Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.