We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, walk to tourist sites and retreat to your own home. Plenty of space.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knocknock Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knocknock Home
Save
You added Knocknock Home to your Saves list
10E, Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 178 Melaka B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent, walk to tourist sites and retreat to your own home. Plenty of space.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to Melaka with our young adult family - daughter, son & daughter in-law. We had the best time, able to wander off independently for site seeing and shopping, all within walking distance. It was lovely to meet up for dinner and share out stories or go to sites together. Lots of room at the accommodation, very clean etc. Loved it and would recommend it. Gus is lovely, took us for a tour around the town. He has lots of local knowledge you wouldn't get otherwise. Great place and great host.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Kathryn,

Thank you for the wonderful review on us,glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with Knocknock Home ,it was truly an honour hosting you and your family,can't wait to welcome all of you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we booked the place months ago but had to postpone due to the haze situation, the host was very nice to readily accomodate our changes (not just once!).
i like that the bedsheets were fresh :)
the place has many years of history so even though there was a friendly note to request guests not to plonk on the wooden floor (we sleep upstairs) it was at the same time a warm touch to remind us of the precious heritage the shophouse represent for the whole town actually. there was a wonderful bonus as the host also opened his other place Tiny Knock Knock to us for foto-taking. we enjoyed Gus' hospitality as he went out of his way to be a guide and not just another guesthouse operator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Clara,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write a review on us,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I took our daughters (8 yo and 3 yo) to Melaka in July this year and we are very glad that we stayed at Tiny Knock Knock.

It's a lovely little shophouse in a lovely alley which is photogenic especially for people like me who like old shop houses and old thing.

My children enjoyed playing in this little place very much and thought that it was like a dolly house! They didn't even need any toys!

The owner was very patient with our children, showed us nice places to eat etc. All his recommendations were proven to be worthwhile!

We were very thankful to the owner for being so kind and generous to our children. He gave us big discount for buying some pots from him, and even gave our girls a lovely toy tiger and a jar of sweet!

We have stayed in many places in Melaka before but Tiny Knock Knock is definitely the most charming, friendly and value for money!

We were told that Tiny Knock Knock will stop operation in Oct? I urge you to quickly spend these few weekends in Melaka to try to stay at this lovely little place! It is an experience in itself!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on "tiny Knocknock",glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.Do hope to see you again in Malacca and put a night or two at our bigger unit Knocknock Home" .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The place is spacious and beautiful and homely decorated. And the beds are awesome. We were impressed with the place, and even more so with the owner. As a group of girls first time traveling to Melaka, we were so grateful for Gus' detailed instruction about transportation and other travel advice. He took us on a city tour, shared with us knowledge about Melaka and showed us the best places to eat local food. The art cafe was amazing. We have became friends, and it makes our short time in Melaka all the more wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Allison,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write this wonderful review on us,glad you girls enjoyed your stay with us.Hope we can see each other again soon,take care. Gus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I enjoy our stay in Tiny Knock Knock recently, especially my two young children - 6 and 7 years old. Although there were no TV, but they love the coziness and warmth that the accomodation brought. Staying in a modern shophouses brings back the memories for me and my wife. Words couldnt express how we peaceful and homely we felt. Best is that it is near to Jonker Walk!!
As for Gus, he was an excellent host. He provided tips on recommended food to eat, and also took consideration on the weather and play a tour guide to some of places to visit with children in tow.
It was my first time to Melaka, but Gus and Tiny Knock Knock provided me with a very memorable experience!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on "tiny Knocknock" ,I had a great time hosting you and your family ,glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you and your family again in the near future and also please try out our bigger unit "Knocknock Home "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The place is great – clean, spacious, attractive. Our children loved it. What sets Knocknock Home apart is Gus' helpfulness at every stage, and I really mean that he goes above and beyond. You're paying for accommodation, but more than that, you're also getting a friendly guide with excellent local knowledge of things to see and food to eat! This means you can get the most enjoyment and least stress from your Melaka trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. Every guests that come to Knocknock Home will be treated just like a friend or family member. I hope everyone can have a memorable trip here in Melacca and I'm glad that you all enjoy the stay over here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The appartment was great, clean, spacious and has the biggest shower room there is. Location is perfect to walk the city. And on top of that Gus is the perfect host and makes you feel at home. You will never eat at the wrong places. And sure he will show you all the sights - plus the ones not mentioned in your guidebook. Thanks Gus for a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Anna,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write a review on us,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.I am honoured to have you as my guest ,do hope we will meet again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knocknock Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knocknock Home

Address: 10E, Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Knocknock Home and "tiny Knocknock",cosy accommodation very close to the core zone of the Malacca UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a stone's throw away from all the city's major attraction. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knocknock Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.