We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand Made Chicken Rice Balls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ee Ji Ban

Ee Ji Ban
275 Jalan Melaka Raya 3, Melaka, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 372 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hand Made Chicken Rice Balls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Found this place on our wanders around the area and looked quite busy so we called in for Dinner. Tried the Chicken Rice Balls and found out that they are one of the only places which rolls them by hand - most are now done on a machine. They are a tasty morsel, a bit different in texture to the normal chicken rice. Also enjoyed a Sambal Sotong (Cuttlefish). Very good value at RM 18 for 3 people including a drink. Enjoyed it so much we went back a few days later for lunch and had regular chicken rice which was great too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good rice and average chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We walked out of our massage appointments at Scents and Senses and saw a big "Chick Rice Ball" sign. We thought, why not. The two of us ordered half a boiled chicken, 10 rice balls, Nyonya chili shrimps, and 2 drinks. The bill was RM42. The chicken was good, but not as tender as Chung Wah's, but the rice balls were much better. They were more "al dente" compared to the mushy ones at Chung Wah's. I like that there were other menu options.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not the usual Chicken Rice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

No this is not chicken ball...they are rice made into small balls...They are Chicken Rice Balls and they are fun to eat... something different than the usual chicken rice...the service is super fast.. the staff and owner are friendly...the place is small but clean... the price is reasonable...they also have sambal prawn and squid and fried veggies... the food are all tasty...For quick, tasty and fun lunch...try this place...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, exceptional service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We happen to visit this chicken rice shop as the one we initially wanted to visit was closed. Very nice food. Exceptional Service. When the owner's boy saw us sharing a plate of chicken, he proactively asked if I needed a plate. I declined because I didn't need 1 but the observant and attentive customer service was commendable. The owner also helped to carry my things as we needed to shift table. There was an air cooler at the entrance. The restaurant was quite cool despite the scorching sun outside. The owner definitely went the extra mile to make their customers comfortable. Food wise, I love the chicken as the meat has just the right amount of tenderness and the well-roasted skin was heaven. The chicken rice is soft and fragrant. The rice ball is small and cute. The rice ball cost Rm0.30 which I initially thought was a bit expensive for the size. However, in actual fact, there is a lot of rice in there as it is all compressed so the price is still justifiable. I would definitely patronise Ee Ji Ban again if I were in Melaka again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Normal service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Rice ball. Very nice. Soup very good. The place is a nice small place. We had the chicken balls rice. And the soup is nice too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ee Ji Ban also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Ee Ji Ban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ee Ji Ban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.