We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True to its name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 43, Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“True to its name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spacious and well lit lobby lends itself to a sense of grandeur without the freezing air-con (like in Hatten) or the stuffiness (like in Equatorial). Corridor to the room (at least the one where I stayed) are along the side of the building and therefore has a view to the green around the hotel.
The Leyton room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the multiple shower heads (yea, I am easy to pleased).
Located at the intersection of Little India district and the historical Dutch enclave, walking is easy (but then Melaka is not exactly a very big place). The view from the rooftop isn't that great but that is not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    92
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
78
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

To be honest, I wanted to stay in a place with a balcony beside the Melaka River but they were all booked out. As a result I came across The Sterling.

The location is quite good as it's just a 2-3 minute walk to Christ Church Melaka and the beginning of Jonker Walk. The hotel is clean and reasonably modern inside. It has a nice heritage exterior as well. The room was really big and the bed was comfortable. The shower...was confusing - too many settings. The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sterling Melaka for 1 night. The room was nice and jacuzzi was inside the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. We took a cab from Melaka Sentral for 20RM which we felt was quite expensive. A cheaper alternative would be Panorama Bus 17 from Melaka Sentral which takes about 20 minutes to the clock tower just opposite Jonker Street. From there it's about 7 minutes walk to the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The major attractions in Melaka are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a nice hotel set in a colonial style building with large modern rooms, fairly minimalist style. Location is good and very central to Malacca's tourist attractions. Reception staff were very friendly and room was fine, although wifi was unreliable. Our only concern was that management of the restaurant seemed chaotic and breakfast was both very slow and poor quality. If you stay here I'd recommend not taking breakfast as there are plenty of cafes in Malacca which would be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel as the ones at the front might be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked a 2-night stay over the Good Friday long weekend. Nice location to experience the charm of shophouses at Little India which is a little short street. It looks colonial but was only built 2 years ago. Parking is very safe within the hotel compound.

Excellent location, quiet and away from the crowd but yet all the nearby attractions just around the corner - Christ Church is 7 mins stroll, Jonker Street 9 mins, St Paul 10 mins, Dataran Pahlawan Mall around 12 mins.

The rooms are clean and new. Much better than most Malaysian hotels. Pretty small and basic hotel with no additional facilities like gym or pool. We absolutely love the staff there, very friendly and volunteered to take care of our needs (very rare in Malaysian hotels).

A minus would be the breakfast - it is a set main course (choice of Western, local or Healthy), with free flow of bread, croissant, tarts, juice and cereals. A simple buffet spread would perhaps be better.

Price-wise against the value returned, maybe a bit on the higher side.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff at The Sterling is nice and attentive, no questions asked. They are the best of this hotel. It is over priced for what you get it terms of infrastructure. The location is great but there is no pool. Restaurant is so so, and the second room balcony would be nice if open to public (it is accesible but bar is closed and there is nothing else but dust and a nice view). You can get rooms as nice as this at the same price or cheaper with nice pool (which is a huge plus in hot Melaka) in nearby hotels . The rooms are OK, nothing very special. The breakfast is less than OK, poor choice of bread, fake fruit juice, bad coffee. Was expecting much more for the price. Overall, our stay here was not bad, but we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

we ended up staying at this place at the last minute when we decided to just take a drive to Melaka from Singapore for the weekend at the last minute - so we basically stumbled upon it and decided to stay there for a couple of nights. I was really surprised to see how much it was (over $200 Singapore dollars walk in) for a basic/cheapest room.

anyway, it is clean and staff are friendly, food is fine - nice restaurant at the top of the hotel.

but honestly, it is very run-down. it reminded me of a place where they put the least amount of money possible to just give it a modern feel but something seemed just off- run down lobby, elevator, carpet etc.

overall it was OK but do not expect this to be some kind of a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: the Jacuzzi room is not worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.3 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#5 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#4 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#1 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#11 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 43, Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.