We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sterling Melaka by Gloria

Save Saved
You added The Sterling Melaka by Gloria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sterling Melaka by Gloria
No. 43, Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

At 4 star price I would rate this as a 3 star. Look at the toiletries ( bring your tooth brush please )
and the mediocre coffee and tea selection in the room.
No newspapers.
Towels are thin and cheap
Plus points : good breakfast, good location, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
53
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3D2N recently at the Leyton room with my wife during a short getaway. Main thing good about this hotel is that it's a small set-up in an accessible location (7 mins to Chicken rice ball place). You are safe from mobs of tourist during breakfast and checkout. Decor is tasteful, rooms are clean and I personally like the rain shower combo.

That's not to say it's without flaws. As mentioned by many reviewers, there are no facilities whatsoever. No gym, sauna or swimming pool to rest and chill out. You are also better off getting authentic local breakfast from the nearby shops in Little India (Madras cafe) unless you are a fan of omelettes and not-so-great nasi lemak.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Carpark lots are available for those driving. Otherwise, quite an enjoyable stay at The Sterling.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Location wise is acceptable but the city itself is very small which everything is within walking distance. Only some drawback (at least for me) is that the hotel is located at the middle of Indian town which you can smell a very strong spice scent EVEN in your room... I don't mind to have India food but to smell it most of the time is a little bit too much for me....

The room and hotel is clean with acceptable quality but nothing to be excited.... I would say with this price range, it's fine but next time I will pay a little bit more to stay at Majestic or Case del Rio....

Staff are friendly but again nothing to be specially complimented.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hospitality is amazing and you feel so pampered here. The hotel are absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are very spacious and decorated beautifully. I really can't say enough about this hotel. We will be back for sure. Overall, a great hotel with wonderful staff and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CynthiaSter, Manager at The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Dominica

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next trip when we can pamper you again.

Regards
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The sterling is a young property under 5 years old. I spoke with the staff of the hotel (friendly) and they mentioned the hotel use to be an open space car park before the hotel was constructed.

Now the property have the touch of an old British colony building which the white facade and pillars on the exterior of the building. But mind you this building is not historical, however they did a good job of replicating it. Therfore I felt the price I paid for this hotel was certainly a question mark.

The Sterling is a gorgeous boutique hotel but with no facilities at all. No gym, no swimming pool nor recreation club or sauna. Is basically only rooms, restaurant and a open balcony bar that closes at 11pm. I wonder why the expensive price tag.

The hotel rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated. My toilet contain a rain shower which was fantastic and is clean. I don't know if there are travelers anal about toilet but I sure m. Therefore I happy with Sterling clean n awesome toilet. The room i stayed in was The Strokes which is a family room. The room is big and comfy. Easily can have 2 extra beds and lots of spaces to walk around.

The Sterling breakfast is not a Wow factor for travellers who love their breakfast heavy and full of varieties. Basically their breakfast comes in sets. If my memory serves me right, there are 5 sets. Every sets come with buffet to drinks (eg, juices, water, coffee, tea and milk), bread (eg, white bread, multi grain, cinnamon roll & crossionts), cereals (2 types) and fruits. Therefore dont expect too much from the breakfast, looking on the brighter side. Malacca is a food paradise, keep your tummy half empty for other goodies!

Lets talk about Sterling location via walking (I walk alot). The hotel very much centralised in my opinion. From the hotel to Jonker walk is approximately 10mins. From the hotel to datarwan palawan mall is approximately 15mins walk.

Hope it helps :)

★Live to Love & Travel to Create Beautiful Memories★

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Sterling is a heritage building, not sure what it used to be but it has been done up nicely. The staff were friendly and dress in those traditional british outfit. Check in was fast and easy, we arrived an hour ahead of check in time but the room was already ready. Parking is safe within the hotel compound and ample space. We stayed in Winsor room (family room) with 2 queen size bed, fresh smell. Bed is comfortable and clean, room is spacious for the kids to run around. The kids like the bathroom shower feature with massage spray.

A short 5 minutes walk will take you to the famous Jonker street (Try not to drive to Jonker, very difficult to find parking space on weekends) and a further 5 more brings you to the shopping malls. Most of the heritage places are nearby as well - The "Red building" and ship are all within walking distance.

Welcome drink is available at "The Balcony" however as the Sumatra haze covers the area we had ours in "The Loft" an air condition restaurant, breakfast is also served here. Set breakfast is offered.

Overall - A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My hubby & i stayed at this hotel for 2 nites during our weekend trip in Malacca. Overall, we liked this hotel even we had an unexpected occurrence first night. Here is a few good points & improvement point.

1) Great location and easy walk to the centrl town.
2) Great services & very friendly staffs (which turned my review from negative to positive)
3) Good breakfast
4) Nice room with English channel ( we were able to watching the rugby game, and my hubby is happy with it)
5) They gave us the masks for Indonesia haze problem....

Improvements
1) The towel need replacement, its old and smelly
2) The room facilities should be checked before put guests in.
3) The room keeper should be more detail oriented. ( we are missing hand soap & tooth brush )

We really truly happy with the services of this hotel & it is really matter when you are traveling :0)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Melaka by Gloria

Address: No. 43, Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sterling Melaka by Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.