We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but they would like you to experience the bad service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
No. 43, Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location, but they would like you to experience the bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is newly renovated, with great jacuzzi bath tubs ( if you choose those rooms at a higher price).

The location can't be better if u love street food. Walk around the area, check out the coffee shops, day time market, and even the roadside stalls, and you will feel more satisfied than any restaurant food.

The hotel has a very bad breakfast service though. One waitress to serve 6 tables of guests and she wasn't coping. I waited 35 mins for my breakfast and walked to the main counter many times to self-serve cos I had no coffee, no milk and no maple syrup for pancakes etc. Few othes were doing the same too. I asked the hotel to refund some money so I could skip the next day's breakfasts, but they said no. Literally, they insisted I go through the bad service. I skipped regardless. So kiss your money goodbye and get better food just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear HazeSingapore,

We make no excuses for the poor executed service by our staff. Unfortunately, on that particular day, one of the staff had called in sick, which resulted in poor service delivery.

The staff in question who was on duty has also left on her own accord knowing that she was not suitable for the job. The question of adequate training and hiring of staff is one that the hospitality industry is constantly challenged with - The Sterling, Malacca is not unique to this problem. Whilst acknowledging this, we have taken steps to ensure that there are additional hiring to counter this problem, and we hope that you would be able to give us the opportunity to prove ourselves.

Our Management with their extensive experience acknowledges where we are weak, and assures all our guests that we will constantly keep abreast with market demands to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay for the right reasons.

Sincerely,

Tony Yew
Resident Manager
The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    74
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Bravely rented a car larger than what i am comfortable driving, took my 6mth old licence and sped off into Malacca with my best travel partner in tow. Decided to check out The Sterling which i understand is relatively new.

LOCATION
The Sterling is located in Little India - conveniently within 5 - 7 mins walking distance to many eating places, the Stadhuys, St Francis Xavier Chuch, St Paul's Church and several museums. It is 10 - 15 mins walk across the river to the Jonker Street market. Parking is relatively convenient with ample and spacious lots.

ROOM
We took the Leyton room, which is the lead in category with Queen bed. This is good for 2 persons, so if you are travelling with a family you might want to consider the other categories. The room comes with a great rainshower - 3 modes of use : the overhead rainshower, the handheld sprayhead, and 3 small nozzles from which water can be directed to massage your back and neck region. Heard that the Riley Rooms are also popular due to the private jacuzzi that they come with.

MEALS
The Loft serves ala-carte breakfast selections from Classic American style, to Asian delights such as Teochew congee and Nasi Lemak. Juices, fruits and cereals are available buffet styled but do check what you order to see if it is included. Choose to sit in the cozy air-conditioned indoor sitting area, or alfresco to enjoy the breeze.

FACILITIES / OTHERS
Decent channels on the tv, wifi is also available in the room and throughout the hotel. We planned to check out on Sunday and the hotel was kind to offer us late check out at no charge. Perfect for lunch then a leisurely drive back to Singapore. Do check with the friendly service staff to see if they can extend the same courtesy (subject to availability)!

The service crew are generally friendly and helpful - especially the doorman. It could be a little hard to get their attention during weekend breakfast turnovers though.

VERDICT
7/10. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Veechyi,

A neutral observer would have thought that your review is a 'planted' one!
But we both know that it is not.

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our 'not so new' hotel and sharing it on Trip Advisor, easily the number one website for travel advisory.

One of our challenges in making our hotel appealing to guests is the task to make it as comfortable as possible for all. As such, we have had reviews of sorts that range from poorly designed furniture to being comfortable and practical for a visit to historical heritage Melaka (with the narrow streets et all)

Our location makes it easy to pop in and out as you wish, and with only limited rooms guests will not feel that they are in a mad rush with the others. In fact some have even commented that the hotel is 'deserted'.

We can assure our guests that they will have the privacy they need and that's for sure, judging from the frequency of movement of guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, and hopefully you might be able to enjoy the jacuzzi the next time around.

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We decided at short notice to drive up to Melaka for the Hari Raya weekend, and the Sterling was the only place availalable with a Family room for 2 adults and 4 kids. Great location, short walk to Stahuys and Jonker but without the crazy crowds. Ther hotel is obviously new- a little antiseptic looking, especially compared to the usual Melaka hotels- but sevice was good and the family room was great. Very large and clean although there were some quirks- badly designed wardrobe meant the drawers couldn't open. Roof bar has potential but was deserted when we visited: decent breakfast, again very attentive service. This isn't the kind of hotel you'd normally come to Melaka for- the crumbling courtyards of Jonker and Heeren are more my preference, at least travelling as a couple- but this worked very well for a family trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Lawsoniain,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in your last visit and sharing your experience with readers of Trip Advisor.

The different categories of our rooms ensures that guests have adequate space depending on their requirements, hence choosing the Windsor (family room) instead of our Leyton (Standard room) made your stay more comfortable.

With only 37 rooms, having a crowd in our food & beverage outlet is hardly a problem, as most would come and go as they wish. One would normally encounter other guests during breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It is not always that you get a chance to experience something so beautiful and so magnificent that you would wish that moments like that would lasts forever . It is also a surprise that moments like that would come from experiencing a truly wonderful hotel stay .
My family and I checked into the Sterling after reading about it in the TripAdvisor . The 3 nights that we stayed there were truly magical . We checked into The Riley . We booked two rooms , as my children are already in their late teens . Check in was smooth . The rooms were huge , the finishing , wow , superb . The bathroom is truly a work of art . Since it was the Raya holidays , most part of the tourist spot ( all so very nearby The Sterling ) was crowded . However the location of The Sterling made it a breeze for us to move around . Special mention goes to Mr. Keith , with his knowledge of the nearby attraction made our stay a joy . Also to Hafiza and Zul at the Loft , and to Tony , so charming . Asther who greeted us with such warmth . As well to all the people at The Sterling . Thank you so very much for making our stay such a joy . Will definitely stay at The Sterling when we return . - Yogesh Thaker and Family Langkawi

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Mr.Yogesh Thaker

As with most holidays, Melaka enjoys the patronage of many visitors, and the focal point of the city centers around the historical heritage zone.

With our hotel location within that zone, guests do enjoy that easy reach especially so when road traffic is amplified during these short breaks.

All our rooms in The Sterling are interconnected making it easy for families to decide on extra rooms, whether they are for younger or older children.

Our Riley rooms are equipped with a Jacuzzi hot tub and makes for nice private time after all that walking around.

Thank you for the special mention of our staff, whom we constantly remind to assist our guests in any way possible.

It is our honour to have made your stay memorable and an enjoyment, and please accept our appreciation in sharing these beautiful thoughts with the Trip Advisor community.

We hope to see you again when you next come to Melaka.

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent the Hari Raya long weekend here. At first glance the hotel face doesn't actually face the road. This may seem like a disadvantage but believe me with the traffic around this was a great and valuable design.

Got upgraded to the Leyton, King Size bed, massive room! The welcome drink is nice (chinese pickled lime drink) on the 2nd floor. You are 10 mins away from Jonker, but once inside you don't notice the hussle and bussle of Malaka.

We wanted to go to the Mall to walk around, and the hotel has its own car service. For RM20, that is quite a bargain. I am very surprised that people have not discovered this hotel. Truly amazing stay.

Breakfast was ok. But compared to what you can get outside, this was amazing.

Although no gym/pool/spa, you can get this outside cheap anyways. Worth the high cost!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear DoctrineofGabe

Melaka should not be mistaken for 'just another city' as the historical heritage part of the city is precisely where everyone wants to be. From the vendor to food eateries and the tourists, of course.

Our hotel location provides a very private space from parking to rooms, so with the hustle and bustle in the background, guests can venture out easily whilst knowing that the luxurious comforts of The Sterling is just around the corner.

Almost all the 'must see' sights are within 10 minutes from The Sterling, making it a strategic and preferred accommodation. Our Balcony bar provides that extra for those kicking back for a relaxing drink, and our welcome mocktail drink is changed regularly to suite that.

For instance, we are currently serving the cardinal punch, a mixture of pineapple and orange juice, with grenadine syrup and topped up with ginger ale, yet during your stay a mixture of pickled lime drink was served.

Our hotel van service charges minimal - the same as what taxies will charge, and was introduced when guests complained that street taxies do not come by that easily.

At The Sterling, we are constantly listening to what our guests are saying to ensure that their stay will be a memorable one for the right reasons.

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and we do hope you will tell your friends about us.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Strategic location, 5 mins walk to Jonker Street and Christchurch and this has 'saved' us from heavy traffic jam especially during public holiday. We've been ungraded from Windsor to Riley where Jaccuzzi tub is provided. Since we've a total of 4 family members, 2 extra single beds was provided. We were all impressed by the thougtfulness and service of this hotel! The simple meal is provided on Hari Raya day itself at lobby and is complimentary! Besides, a box of Malacca tradisional biscuits is sent to our door when we just checked in to our room. When we came back at night, we were surprise the cleaner has tidy up our room. The room is big and comfortable and perhaps the most important is it's clealiness. We have experienced the great thing of this hotel. Perhaps the only downside is the time taken to check out the room took a bit long time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Travel861024

Thank you for staying with us during your stay, and more importantly taking your time to review us.

Extra beds are integral in hotel operations to suit the needs of our guests, and like any other hotel, we have standard hotel extra beds with hard and soft mattresses. We have also been testing out a water bed in case there may be some request for this.
These are chargeable at RM80.00++ which includes breakfast.

The practise of giving traditional Malaccan cookies is something we are proud to showcase, 100% local produce for our guests to sample!

During the Hari Raya weekend (Al-Eid) the Malaysian 'Open House' concept was adopted for our guests to sample traditional Malaysian offerings when they visit their muslim friends.

We thank you once again and hope that you will return again.

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family spent just one but wonderful night in Malacca recently. As it was a long weekend for most Singaporeans, most of the popular hotels were fully booked. I called about 10 hotels before getting an affirmative on room availability @ The Sterling. It was the last room and I grabbed it. From the pictures on Tripadvisor, it looked like a decent hotel and I was looking forward to it. After a long day out and about in Malacca, we finally checked in at 4.00pm into a room called The Leyton. When we got to the room, my kids screamed in delight at the spaciousness and the modernity of it. The hotel told me it could easily fit a King Size bed as well as 2 extra single size beds. I was apprehensive about the space but I was proven wrong - there was enough space for my kids to run around and definitely space to fit in 2 more beds if you ask me! The room was how I like it - modern, clean and well lit. I will definitely stay at The Sterling again and would like to comment on the professionalism of its staff too. Special mention goes to Ms. Faizulah who helped me with the reservation a few days earlier and Keith who was at the hotel reservations desk. Keith was extremely helpful with our check-in and in suggesting places to eat around Malacca - he definitely added flavour to the colonial theme of the hotel with his crisp British accent. Thanks for the Sterling experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Rita D,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.

We are happy to note that you had pleasant experience during your stay.

Our Leyton rooms are configured differently to meet the requirements of our guests. With 37 rooms that make up 6 different categories, our most popular being The Leyton and Windsors, we recommend our guests to book early especially ahead of weekends.

Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 43, Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.