We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Boutique Hotel with a touch of class & white grandeur!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
No. 43, Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Chic Boutique Hotel with a touch of class & white grandeur!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I must admit i've got a knack for relatively newly opened boutique hotels (Tripadvisor - they are definitely not a B&B nor an inn! It's definitely a shame to put them in this category!) and to check out what they are like .....

I'm glad i chose this place and would strongly recommend that The Sterling would be one of your top choices in Melaka if you are into:

- Chic & contemporary rooms
- Free WIFI
- Personalized service to make you feel welcome (plus a welcome drink to boot! the fruit punch was really good!)
- Parking with 24 hr security (we checked on two occasions to see if the security guard was really present and awake and he was!)
- Complimentary 2 bottles of water in our room each day
- Relatively quaint & quieter (compared to staying right at Jonker Walk) but still convenient enough to get there on foot in minutes.

With the hot & humid weather in Melaka, it was absolutely heavenly to come back each day to have an indulgent rainshower with powerful shower jets. It was so massaging on the back and we literally took 3 baths a day because it was just so good! You'll take a few minutes trying to figure it out the whole rainshower system but once you do, ooh la la~~ - the power of a good shower! :)

Definitely a nice touch when we came back on the first night and it was raining. The staff was right at the entrance ensuring he had umbrellas for all of us to ensure we don't get wet. Room service was jiffy when we told them we needed a power point adaptor. It was also a nice touch to provide the morning paper at your door each morning too!

While typical hotels provided breakfast buffets in the morning and The Sterling's breakfast was based on ordering from an ala carte menu, our concerns completely faded away when you realized each set was luxurious & more than what we could finish and having the waiter providing the personalized service of serving your food and refilling both fruit juices and your hot coffee and tea always was even better! In addition, it was a nice touch to have Tony, the resident manager coming down to chat with us on both breakfast days & to find out our feedback of this newly opened hotel.

If i really had to state some points i hope to see improve--

1) Check-in was considered much slower than expected, considering when we found out we were the only 2 rooms booked on that very day. Considering that they immediately welcomed us to say our rooms were ready (although we arrived 2 hours before check-in time...) then we definitely did not expect that even with 2 staff at the front counter, it would take us almost half an hour at the front (with 10 mins alone figuring out how to key in the charge machine).Checkout was a breeze though with Tony helping us!

2) Sprucing up the front lobby.... (the front facade is really lovely architecture but walking towards the front reception...it was quite plain looking both on the wall and the counter itself. Just plain brown. Some nice chillout background music playing would be good too, especially to reduce the impatience of checking in since we were already so tired from our 3 hr road drive there)

3) I hope that with more people knowing about this place and staying here, i hope they can consider a private "The Sterling" trishaw so that for the less abled to walk... they can enjoy a quick free shuttle to the Christ Church Melaka / Jonker area. Although it is minutes to reach these attractions, unfortunately there are not enough pavements on the streets on Melaka to walk freely and easily without keeping your watchful eye from the continuous vehicle traffic. Great branding for 'The Sterling' too when other tourists staying at other hotels see this trishaw with its brand name too i'm sure!

4) Sprucing up the tea selection in the rooms. As a sole tea drinker (no coffee for me!)... it seemed odd to only have jasmine green tea as the only option.

5) Last but not least, do consider having a soap dish or something to put the bar soap that you have provided. After washing our hands and using the soap, when you can only put the bar soap on the glass counter (since the sink is rounded)... the wet soap & the water slowly starts dripping off the glass counter. P.S (also, the bathroom door was not able to lock properly)

All in all, it was a beautiful stay. Comfy beds, sufficient TV channels to watch, sufficient power points, strong WIFI connection, availability of connecting rooms for family.

Choose this place for a cosy intimate feel, nestled away from the hustle & bustle of the street noise yet near to the action when you want to walk over. Its touch of class doesn't just stop at its grand architecture, each of the staff tries their best to embody these values too. Thumbs up and i wish them every success in this new boutique hotel i was glad to call 'home' for 3 days 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear travelbypairs,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on your experience here at The Sterling, Malacca.

We are very grateful for your valuable feedback, as we strongly believe that we are still able to rectify the areas where we have fell short of your expectations.

Your advice on decoration will be passed on to our interior designers to look into, though in the past we have been told that the 'Eduardian' theme of the architecture will only allow certain sculptures to be included. Paintings are a little unflattering, it seems.

As with all interior decorations and items, it must blend in with the design of the room, and as such our soap dish of choice has yet to make its debut. Looks like our interior designer has to double up his efforts.

We would like to apologise once again for the delay in check in and have narrowed it down to the newly installed credit card terminal provided by our bank. We will definitely look into the training of those handling the machine once again.

Trishaws in Melaka are licensed, and to ensure that we are seen, we have spoken to the Trishaw operators association (1 of 3 available) to do some branding, and rest assured, tourists might be seeing the all white Sterling trishaw soon!

Thank you once again, and we hope that you will be able to recommend us to your friends visiting us next time.

The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
(p.s- our Security staff only works 8 hours shift - and yes, they are awake in the middle of the night!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    70
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
58
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel is actually extremely conveniently located in Malacca, it is just minutes from Jonker Walk and to the A' Famosa fort and Stadhuys. Its not located on the busy Jonker street which makes it a nice quiet hotel. There is a nicer and more adventurous walk to A'Famosa without mixing with the tourist crowds or fighting for parking if you go through the Dutch Graveyard (more pleasant than it sounds), short walk from the hotel.

The staff are all wonderful in this hotel, really excellent breakfast and overall a very high standard. The manager Tony is extremely affable and really a hands on sort of manager, I think he contributes a lot to the character of the hotel giving it a personal touch. I would say this hotel has a mixture of 5 star hotel with the personal touch of a very good B&B.

Highly recommended!.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Discoguy,

At The Sterling, our staff are encouraged to come out of their shell so that they will be able to extend the best of personalised services to our guests.

Our Manager is leading by example, and our very young team is certainly learning from experienced Managers like himself.

We are glad to note that our enhancement in service delivery has resulted in you having enjoyed your breakfast, a note of thanks to previous guests who have provided valuable constructive comments as to where we were lacking previously.

Our 68 bays parking lot is adequate for our hotel size, and with 24hours security it will provide our guest with worry free parking throughout their stay - all for free!
With Jonker Street just minutes away on foot (minus the noise from the crowd) and Lorong Gereja / St.Francis Xaviers just a street away, walking becomes a real option for those keen to explore historical Melaka.

Thank you for your time in putting down your valuable comments here, all of which means a world for us in our quest to establish ourselves as an option for comfort weary visitors to Melaka.

The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Melaka is one of those names that make you dream: the straits, the pirates, the Portuguese, the Dutch, the British have all been there and at various times dominated the area since the 15th Century. When walking in the streets of Melaka, you will see Christian churches, a Portuguese fort, British administative or military buildings, plus hundreds of those wonderful Peranakan-styled Chinese-Malaysian houses. Walk up Jonker Street, and down Heeren Street, and think about those of our European ancestors who were here a few hundred years ago, in pursuit of spices or riches, or simply to get away from home and feel the throb of the East. A truly great experience. Not spoiled by tourism (yet). For the bolder of you, take a t"trishaw" ride (the local name for rickshaw),, enjoy the music (yes, they have a loud car-radio on them) and let them pedal you away!

The Sterling Hotel just opened in November 2011. It used to be some British-style administrative building (which looks great, by the way). Enitrely reconstructed and converted to hotel use. Elegant, lofty, somewhat reminiscent of the Raffles style. Clearly, this is a four-star hotel with large and comfortable rooms but is not in the league of the ultra-chic Eastern & Oriental, Fullerton or Raffles, but still very comfortable, One can get a decent dinner at the roof-top restaurant. Prices are very reasonable both for rooms and F&B.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Kiki051,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on our 85 days old property.
To even be mentioned in the same breath with the likes of Raffles, Fullerton or the E&O isn't our immediate goal, but perhaps when we are 100yrs old, maybe just.

We are indeed humbled by the mere mention of these names in the same posting.

With hoteliers being involved in Management here, the natural thing to do would be to instill the kind of service expected by guests who are prepared to have some pampering and comforts during their stay.

We are certain that our team here though young, will deliver service standards that are expected from every guest.

Historical Melaka has much to offer, and we here at The Sterling would like to offer the relative comforts of modern day living just a stone's throw away from world heritage sites.

Thak you once again for your valuable time spent in commenting here in this wonderful and helpful site for hoteliers worldwide!

The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Although our taxi driver had great troubles finding The Sterling (it opend just 6 weeks before) one on its drivewayit only got better. The Sterling is a beautifully retro Colonial building right in the centre of the old Melaka. Just a minutes walk from the Dutch 17th century "Stadthuys" and Jonkers Road.
What makes this hotel special is Tony, the hotel's manager. We met him while enjoying a drink in the hotel roof top bar. We mentioned our wish to have a typical Malaysian dinner that evening. Tony instantly took us across the road to a very small restaurant where only Melakans ate their dinner or lunch. He ordered us grat food: order a Mutabak with "pulled" thee. You'll love it and costs about 3 USD! Eventually we found out it was Tony's good relations with his neigbours that got us a free dinner. But we returned the day after to have some more.
The Hotel is worthy carrying 4 to 5 stars. Brand new rooms (modern design, good beds and everything else you expect in a 4 to 5 * hotel), roof top bar with great view, a good restaurant with local and International dishes. But most of all that fantastic personal touch Tony and his staff give the hotel.
One more example. We needed to get to Singapore to catch our flight. Unforunately it was the day of Chinese New Year so no bus or Taxi would take us there. Tony brought us for travel expenses only right to the border. That really helped us out!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear FRHR80,

We are most grateful to guests like yourselves who take the time to share your experience here at The Sterling so that others can consider staying here when they visit.

Our colleagues here at led by a team of experienced Managers and we are most happy to note that your stay was a memorable one. Melaka offers vast differing memorable impressions, with historical sites and gastronomical adventures being the more popular ones.

Your visit coincided with the Lunar New Year holidays, and given that public transportation would have been an issue somewhat.

As such, your pleasant journey to the border is only part of our services that we offer.
Guests staying here at The Sterling, can also book our hotel limousine at minimal costs should they chose to do away with the inconvenience of negotiating the traffic.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are over these parts of the world again.

Warmest regards,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

A random road trip to Melaka in February 2012 during the long weekend holidays and with all the other accommodations fully booked, my partner and I were pretty much certain that it's going to be just a day trip from KL.

Driving along Jalan Bendaraha towards the all famous Jonker Street, this white colonial billboard on the left side of the jam packed traffic caught our attention : The Sterling (100 metres). Promptly we whipped out our phones to call the indicated number on the billboard to enquire for the availability of a room at the same time googled the location of this establishment. We were pleasantly delighted with the prompt booking response and the clear map provided on its website.

1. Location:
Tucked nicely just off Jalan Temengong, this place is just a few steps away from Melaka's must go places, Jonker street, Capitol satay celup (for you foodies out there be prepared to queue..), the Melaka clock tower etc. Convenient enough to walk to these places but also exclusive enough to allow a good night's sleep away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists and traffic. For those like us who drove, there are ample parking spaces in the inner courtyard of the hotel. Given the narrow roadways in Melaka, it is a welcoming thought that your vehicle will survive the night without any scratch, parked within the hotel compound instead of along the main road.

2. Reception & Service:
We were given a pleasant welcome by the receptionist on duty that day as well as Esther the manager. They were both very friendly and accommodating which made the whole checking in process that much unique and hassle free. Staffs serving breakfast at the loft the following day were pleasant as well (even though we were the last to arrive for our meals). Kudos on the job well done!

3. Room:
We were given the Leyton - standard room with a queen (or was it king sized?) bed, pretty much as what is shown on their website. Clean, compact, cozy - these words best summarize the room. In line with some reviewers here, the shower is AMAZING! The knobs on the shower may require a less than a minute deciphering by anyone, the person will be well rewarded with a nice relaxing bath. Both of us with our average asian stature could move around the room with ease however those with bigger builds may (IMHO) may find it more comfortable in Sterling's other more bigger rooms.

One major caveat with the sterling experience would be the dead flies on the atrium's ledges where it is very visible from the main glass walkway to the rooms that the management really need to look into.

The damage? For those traveling on a shoestring, Sterling will not be very kind on your budget. Then again, for travelers who are looking for personalized experience, locality, as well as uniqueness of stay. This is should be in your list of accommodations to consider while in Melaka

Having said so, the overall experience was fantastic, friendly and helpful staffs, comfy room. A solid 4 out of 5.

Will we be coming back to Sterling again? Definitely!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Ivan L,

Thank you for your kind comments that will no doubt be helpful for those looking for accommodation like ours when coming to Melaka.

We are most grateful to guests who take their personal time to comment on our property as well as our services, as it will definitely help us focus on areas where we are lacking.

Parking spaces are more or less premium on weekends in historical Melaka, but rest assured one will be reserved for our room guests, as we have 68 bays in our 37 room property, and with our location just minutes away from the main attractions, we sincerely hope more guests will consider us as the hotel to stay when planning their next trip.

Our colleagues here have the benefit of experienced Hotel Managers leading the team, and we are glad that our personnel had given you our very best of service, something we expect every team members here to provide to our invaluable guests.

Here at The Sterling, we take hygiene seriously and note that the dead insects are not flies as noted but night insects which are constantly attracted to lights, of which are on during evenings which in turn result in them flying towards it.

Our cleaning contractors which have a three month visit has already been informed of this and we are expecting them soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you once again for your highlighting our weakness.

Our sincere and warmest regards,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here one night on a short trip to Melaka.

Good points:

Quick check in
Nice room
Comfortable bed
AMAZING shower (I seriously want one at home)
Very quiet
Good location to Historic Melaka

Bad point

Food wasn't great.
No tea (proper tea) in the in room tea and coffee station (only jasmine tea)
Slow check out
Staff did not seem to be completely trained up (only been open 6 weeks)
Lack of consideration in how to clean the dead flies from the ledges in the atrium. Clearly visible from the level one walk way to your room is a glassed in ledge with about a hundred dead flies on it all the way along)
Staff wearing old style colonial safari uniforms which are just too 'gimmicky' for what seems to be trying to be a stylish modern hotel.
No decent coffee available

Overall we enjoyed our stay, we had a wonderful nights sleep and loved the shower. But this is a very expensive option for Melaka and I just didn't think that they had brought everything together yet, perhaps because they have only been open such a short time.

So it definitely has the potential to improve and I am sure it will.. and it has the basics already right.

It just needs someone to pull it all together somehow.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Nethercote,

Thank you for your feedback, which we are thankful to receive.

We are constantly on the lookout for guests who have comments to what we need to improve on as this is the only way we can have the opportunity to rectify these areas.

Yes. The ledge is an area which we have had difficulties to reach due to the height, and the dead insects are indeed unsightly. Our high level cleaning contractors have a quarterly contract with us and is due to clean the area only after our third month of opening (we are currently only two months old).

Here at The Sterling, we take hygiene seriously and note that the dead insects are not flies as noted by you but night insects which are constantly attracted to lights, of which are on during evenings which in turn result in them flying towards it.
Rest assured that once our cleaning contractors come in, we will have it cleaned up in a jiffy.

Thank you once again for giving us the feedback and the opportunity to have you as our guests.
Being a boutique hotel, we also do have our items for sale, so we will be happy to provide you details for the shower.

We are now also considering increasing the tea choices as you have noted.

Warmest regards,
Tony Yew
Resident Manager, The Sterling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My family from Singapore, consisting of 3 members, and my aunt’s family of 5 and my grandmother from Malaysia, stayed at The Sterling, Malacca, for 3 days 2 nights from 31 December 2011 to 02 January 2012. This was the fourth time in Malacca for my family and we decided to usher in the New Year at this much-advertised new boutique hotel.

My family stayed at the Riley room while my Aunt’s family and Grandmother stayed at the Windsor room. The Riley room was very spacious and its amenities were plenty. The Riley room had a Jacuzzi in its bathroom, a flat screen TV in the living room, one King size bed (we ordered an additional bed for the third member) and a hot water and mini-fridge station. The Windsor room has 2 Queen Size beds and one sofa bed, with an additional bed at request to accommodate the 6 of them comfortably.

The location of the hotel is strategic, 5 minutes away from the renowned Jonkers street and 10- 15 minutes’ walk from the hotel to Malacca Sikh Temple where annual remembrance prayers are held for Baba Sohan Singh Ji and where Sikhs flock from all over Malaysia and Singapore to partake in the prayers. Not forgetting the famous Soya Bean stall round the corner and well-known Satay Celup which has long queues snaking out of the shop, even hours before it is open. Next to the hotel on your right, where we had lunch on the first day, there is a South Indian Banana Leaf restaurant called Saravanan, serving delectable food.

For dinner, we had the hotel’s New Year’s menu. Two family members were vegetarians, and the hotel gladly accommodated to their diet, while the rest had a five course Western meal, which till date, we cannot forget. The prompt and friendly service of the restaurant staff made our New Year’s Eve even more memorable!

Over the next two days, we were served personalized breakfast, catering to our individual choice. In the afternoon, we were invited for a complimentary tea and cheesecake by Esther Yew, the Director of Sales and Marketing. Tony Yew, the Resident Manager of the hotel, joined us, making us feel very much at home. We also learnt a lot about Malacca and its heritage history during our conversation.

Overall, it was indeed a very pleasant and unforgettable stay at The Sterling. Its majestic and breath-taking interior design with its staff providing exceptional service with a personal touch made our stay enjoyable and value for money. No doubt, we would recommend anyone who visits Malacca to enjoy the ambience and memorable service provided at The Sterling. Well done, kudos for the good work and keep it up!


Please see this link for pictures taken during our trip
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150567773706047.430770.598311046&type=3&l=2c3ce145a6

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Ms.Balvinder Kaur,

Thank you for your kind compliments.
We are more than happy to be of service to you and your family during your stay here.

Here at The Sterling, we try our best to ensure that guests feel at home, and more importantly get their money's worth.

We have been told that we are hidden somewhat, but am glad that you managed to find us.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends in future.

Warmest Regards,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 43, Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.