We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Inn to your Saves list
Sunshine Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33, Jalan Melaka Raya 21, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here as we had our extra bed ready for us as requested. The hotel put my mom's room very close to ours so it was easy for the kids to shuttle back and forth. Both our rooms were at the turn of the corridor so they were larger than the others. Noted another friend who booked separately from us who had a newer, a bit smaller room which included a day bed in the extenion (airconditioned) where it was formerly wasted outdoor balcony space. The renovations were well done. We will definitely stay here again if we travel to Malacca.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
20
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

the front desk malay girl attitude was so rude....she also show the middle finger to guest, this thing of indecent actions ready spoil all the hotel image.... why hired this kind of staff

and the booking also can make mistake, even have pay all the fee but can't get the room on arrive.

but stil ok by the end have transfer to other hotel for us. just ready upset when the girl shout and show the indecent actions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great stay at sunshine inn, location is good as is near to the shopping mall and 10min drive to Jonker Street. Hotel room (standard) just enough for 2 paxs but hope they can clean the smoking smell in the hotel room when there is sign of NO SMOKING.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The inn is part of a shop lot, a few storeys up. We were given a room right above the reception area. Bad idea. In the middle of the night, a man was arguing with a woman right on the street below our room (in front of the inn). Even with the windows shut, we could hear the whole fight and it didn't help that it was already 4 am in the morning. The bout lasted around 40 mins (felt a lot longer than that) since I could only fall back to sleep a bit after 5 am. Get a room at the back of the inn, far from the street.

Decor is interesting, facilities are alright since it's been open for less than a year. Has wi-fi, enough TV channels to keep you occupied for the nights since nothing much happens in the area past 8pm. They allocate parking lots for their guests so that's a plus.

Room Tip: Anywhere that's not near the streets.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

its so suite with their tag line `your home away from home`. i felt like i at my house, in my own bed, so comfy, the price so amazing, at first i find it bit expensive for that kind of hotel, but when i stay n gone the room, it amazed me. with their deco and superb bed. I don't have to pay more to get this kind of services. keep it up... i will recommend all my friends to come here....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

i had a great stay at sunshine inn..its a realy home away from home..
its cozy and comfortable.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: No.33, Jalan Melaka Raya 21, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Inn was established to create a hotel which provides a "home away from home" experience in Malacca. Be it business or pleasure that brings you to Malacca, the Sunshine Inn is the perfect destination for you. Located in the heart of Malaccan business, shopping and entertainment district at the prestigious Melaka Raya, Sunshine Inn offers you warm hospitality with impeccable services Sunshine Inn is designed as a lifestyle hotel, with uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.