We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hash House Hotel to your Saves list
Hash House Hotel
G20, Jalan PM7 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 178 Melaka B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good location, small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of an Intrepid tour and it was a fantastic location to see the sites of Malaka. Easy walking distance to the old colonial buildings, shops, night market, restaurants and bars.

The hotel itself is quite small and in a very quiet area. There is an Irish pub next door, but this was not open I'm presuming because it was a Sunday. The rooms are quite cramped, but clean and with fairly modern furniture. There were also two complimentary bottles of water. The shower was initially cold however there is a switch on the outside of the bathroom to make hot water. The air con works well with control box hidden behind the curtains if you can't find it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is hidden from the town. Around 20-30mins walk from Jonker's street. The street is very quiet the night we came, althought it was a Friday night. Room is too small with one queen bed. No hot water or coffee making facilities, got window but you can only see the window of the next building. No lift, you've got to pick your own luggage to go to your room that might be located on 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor. No breakfast provided. No swimming pool.

Few good things about this hotel.
1) You get rooms for discounted rate. I've got a deluxe room for RM80 (actual price was RM119)
2) Very helpful frontdesk who was an old dude who explains to you everything about the historical city
3) In house Bar with Live music perfomance by foreigners (Philippines)
4) Ample of parking space (you've got to pay your parking)

Overall, only book if you are looking for a place to sleep or if you can't find rooms around

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is poor located a few blocks from the historical area and is quite empty around the area at night. Rooms are small. There is an Irish bar on the premises which depending on your point of view could be a positive or negative. Many guests complained of the noise from the bar at night. There is no included breakfast and nothing really nice close by. Although its only a short walk to the heart of Melaka hotel is not convenient to return to during the day for a rest or change of clothes. Melaka is such a great city though that one needs spent little time in your room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is pleasant, but not memorable. its clean and well situated in a quiter part of Melaka. The Irish harrier pub will keep you sufficiently diverted on a particularly rainy day. the sheets and bathrooms are clean. Not much of a view but thats not why you would book this hotel anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After comparing the price among nearby hotel, me and my friends had decided to stay at the hotel. The Chinese uncle had given us special price (RM91+free extra bed). Since we want to save our budget, so we had chosen the deluxe room (double bed). When we entered the room, we were a bit shocked since the room is quite small (compared to the previous hotel we went in Pasir Gudang, the day before), but luckily still managed to put the extra bed after we changed the table position.

Pro: Free WIFI, TV+4 Astro Channel
Cons: No tea/coffee sachet, The Pillow Cover is a bit smelly

Room Tip: I recommend you to have a look at the room first before you decide which room that you want to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It is very near to jonker street but takes about 15 to 20 minutes by walking distance. The bosses of the hotel are friendly and helpful. I spent a night there in the beginning of July 2012.
Somehow boyfriend and my nose started itchy after checking in the room for less than 30 mins. We were tired after half day walking around melaka so we took a nap but couldn't sleep well due itchy and runny nose. It was probably caused by the blanket and dusty air.
At night, we decided to sleep without the blanket and covered ourselves with the bed sheet! We also opened the window to have fresh air from outside... It was a tough night for us. When we were away from hotel, we felt ok and nose discomfort much more relieved.
I hope the problem can be improved.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulau pinang, malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel staff were just ok - but no small talk about weather and such. The cleanliness is not up to par. Walking into the room there's that damp smell. It was tiled flooring but think it was only swept not mopped. The towel were old and should not be there. No hot water flask or tea/coffee sachets. Two drinking water bottles only. The sound of the airconditioned units humming with faint vibrations took a while to get used too which upset my sleeping time. I gave a 2 /5 due to the price they charged.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hash House Hotel

Address: G20, Jalan PM7 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hash House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.