We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Water Supply” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   9 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No Water Supply”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This trip I come with my classmate about 40person. We book the whole hostel for a night. The water pressure is not enough to supply for the others 2 floor. Only the ground floor onli have wate suply. How come they was no enough water to supply for the whole floor. TERRIBLE!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
1
6
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This place is totally nightmare, for me it is the worst place that I ever stayed in my life. Me and my friends was lucky we just stayed here for only 1 night. First the location is different than the location based on the Google Maps (around 200m) and made me and my friends confused to find the place.

We got promotion price from one of the website with the price arounf RM47 for quadruple bedroom but when I arrived in the hostel at night (around 10pm) it was actually for only 2 adults and 2 children so one of my friend (we were 3 people) need to pay extra charge RM20. Too tired, we did not want to argue too long and paid the extra charge. So beware of this promotion when you buy room from the internet.

My room was located at 2nd floor just beside the washrooms and wash basins. There were few wash basins and most of them were leakage and make annoying water sound that disturbed us during sleep. The room was totally small and run down. The room was just enough for 2 queen beds without a bit extra space to put bags. There were a lot of mosquito inside the room and make us not comfortable. The blanket was quiet small for 2 people, but you actually does not need any blanket due to the AC was not cold. The pillow was totally rubbish due to it was very thin, so I decided not to use it. The room looked clean but somehow we felt itch when we slept on the bed. When we arrived around to the room around 10pm, the dog in somewhere outside the hostel was keep barking luckily it stopped around 12 o'clock.

But, It was just the beginning of our nightmare. The wash room on the second floor was dirty and the water was pressure was very low. But the worst is the toilet, on the second floor the toilet flush was broken, on the third floor there was totally no water, and on the first floor the flush was leakage and make the cannot flush. So basically I can said that THERE WAS NO PROPER TOILET IN THE HOSTEL! Due to I was urgently need to go toilet, I decided to take first floor toilet (no choice) and luckily there was a water dipper to flush my toilet outside the toilet. On the second day, we decided not to take shower because we were too lazy to queue due to there was only 2 working washrooms in the morning. This is the first time that I really feel wanna to get out from the hostel as soon as possible.

Will come again: Absolutely NO
Pro: ???????? Nothing
Cont: Too many to describes but the worst is NO PROPER WORKING TOILET!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2nights. The room is small but clean and neat. The bathroom is clean enough for it is a shared bathroom. The wifi is good. But the receptionist doesnt stay 24hours. Make sure you have booked the room 1st coz if you come late at night, and the receptionist isnt there, you just cant get check in, unless you have the local number and be able to call them by phone. It is 10minutes walking from 7eleven which is located near a restorn named Dawood. This restorn open 24hours and served halal food. It also located near Masjid Kampung Hulu.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

1. Mosquitoes breeding ground which leads to poor sleeping quality.
2. 3-beded room stinks which locates right next to the toilets
3. Dusty windows, wet ceiling, dirty & stained wall
4. Leaky air-condition
5. Poor cleanliness, stinky toilet & shower room, poor flushing system, downstairs damaged shower machine (without informing the visitors)
6. Poor efficiency in customer service
7. they use a very thin sheet as the blanket

The only good thing is this hostel is near the Jonker Street. In fact, it's pretty cheap also. However, my friends & I would NEVER COME BACK to this bad hostel.

Room Tip: read the reviews prior to room bookings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for two nights with friends. The room is quite small but clean with a big bed, the shared bathroom and toilet is dirty and the floor is always wet. Perfect location as it is in the centre of Melaka. But asides the cons, it was peaceful and filled with happy people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you're expected of place to stay over a night here. Do not book a 6 bed female dorm! First i was thinking the 'dorm' they said might be like other dorm in another hostel I've been before. But here, you only have mattress, pillow, thin blanket and bed sheet that you have to done it yourself

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I had booked this hostel for 2 adults but I went there only one. I thought it would be worst if stayed two because the room was tiny and smaller than I expected.The shared bathroom was quite dirty and tiny also.But its location is very good,it located on the center of Melaka, located in the city center of all historical site just a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel

Address: 9 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang-Sayang2 Youth Hostel Chinatown to offer our guests one step away from the historical heritage such as Malacca Clock Tower, The Stadthuys (Oldest Dutch Building in South East Asia), A Famosa (St. Paul Hill), Little India, Cheng Hoon Teng Temple, Kampung Kling Mosque, Sri Poyyatha Venayagar Moorthi Temple, Baba & Nyonya Heritage Museum, Cheng Ho Museum, Jonker Street and many others historical heritage. Only walking distance in addition to historical city of Malacca, a major highlight of our hostel to provide a conductive atmosphere for our guests to enjoy the relax, have drinks and chit chat with other guests or the exchange of experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hotel Melaka State

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.