We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very pleasant experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   9 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Not a very pleasant experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've stayed a night at this place and it was not a pleasant experience. i've stayed in hostel/backpacker place before and this is the worst so far.
if you are expecting the hostel to be privacy and peaceful, this is not your choice of stay. towel is not provided and they charge RM1 for each towel. the room is super small, which is OK, but the toilet is so small & if you are big size, you can't even turn your body and you have to queue long time for toilet. they do not have separate toilet and shower room. good luck to you if you are staying in top floor because the water pressure is so small like peeing. When I wanted to to complaint at the reception counter, there was no one at the counter and I suspect there's no one available to assist after 12am.
we (four of us) staying 2 rooms and we are unlucky to have unreasonable travellers staying on the same floor. The room's sound proof is already bad and those travellers talking very loud and we cant sleep well on that night, and when they wake up at 6.30am, they don't care whether other people still sleeping and they shout from one floor to another floor talking to their friends. my friend went out and warn them twice but they just ignore it. this was the worst place I've ever stayed in motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
1
5
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is my first time sleeping in a hostel. The room is very cozy and clean. Value for money stays for a not so typical hostel setting. Toilets are small but still alright for a short weekend stay. It's around USD12 per person for 4 pax. There is an option to rent the hostel bicycles to explore town which cost Rm10 a day. Towards our last day of our trip, the hostel staff booked a cab for us. At Rm20. We missed the cab by 5 mins. Imagine needing to rush for the Express Coach under 30mins downtime. The Hostel management offered to take us instead. It was a total relief for us. Thank you very much for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's okay with everything , but maybe can be more cleaner about the bathroom things , but it's sharing so it's fine. The balcony there's comfortable, people inside is friendly. They greet you every time they saw you. near to the town, very comfortable, but it's small still. My door got lock and we called , they will send people immediate to settle for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I and my friend spent one night at this hotel, now I actually feel lucky it was just one night. Compared to the price of $16, it is not worth at ALL. The location is not bad because the town actually is quite small, but you can find many other hostels that are even closer to Jonker Str or have nice views to the river.

I don't know how many people here say staffs are helpful, as I found HIM (only 1) pretty nice but he doesn't even speak okay English. And you have to pay for each towel and every other little things. Is that how a 'friendly' hostel is supposed to be? Ripping off backpackers.

This is the worst part. Their rooms are horrible. A typical room is too small for two people. It's stuffy, lack of natural light (if you are lucky, you can get the ones with a window but we actually are not given any options when booking through the Internet, aren't we?). The blanket is so thin and doesn't look appropriately clean, and they only give one while it's a double bedroom.

The shared bathroom can't be worse. There are no separate toilet and shower-room. They are combined in one narrow space. Most of the equipments are either broken or dirty. There is no way you can flush the toilet without dipping your finger in the water-bowl in the back to press the press-button.

Additionally, you are not allowed to put your shoes on on 2nd floor which means you have to walk on your bare-feet to the bathroom (without any slippers inside) and go back to your room and get on...your bed. Hopefully they do change the bed sheet everyday which I can't assure you.

Last but not least, the door of the room here are very thin and very unstable. You might feel greatly insecure when locking it to go out side (which took me forever to figure out how). And you can hear a lot of noise from outside.

$16 for a night again? NO way! $6 maybe.

Room Tip: Try to debate for the one that has window. Or just pick another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location - Strategic location as it is near to Jonker Street.
Parking - No parking provided and it is quite hard to look for a parking. Remember to purchase coupon for parking. I got fined because of that.
Cleanliness - The room is clean but a little bit small. Worth value if you're looking for a place to sleep.
Shared bathroom - A very small bathroom cause I hit my elbow when taking stuff :(
Overall experience - Not too bad :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staffs are helpful & friendly, welcomed us with warm heart. The rooms & hotel environment are unexpectedly clean, excellent service at this price (RM45/night for a room fits in 2 at the ground floor). Air-conditioned, small table lamp, clean bedsheets pillows & blanket, & everything is functioning well. Slept well.

p/s: RM15/bed upstairs. Suitable for youth backpackers who travel alone.

Some tips/reminders:
- They offer free bike ride around Malacca Heritage at 6pm everyday if I've not mistaken. A tourist guide will lead us.
- Weak soundproofing between rooms. Not so suitable for travelling with big gang of friends which normally makes noise.
- 24 hours reception. Can take hair-dryer or ask for help from receptionist. Just a few steps from our room.
- Sharing bathrooms & toilets among same floor guests. Good cleanliness no worry! Janitor cleaning every morning & night.
- Behind the hostel is a riverside. Can walk along the river at evening/night. Nice view!

Definitely will choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great location - walking distance from Jonker Walk and most sites in Melaka. Part of our window was missing so we had a big gap leading onto the street. We pointed this out to the staff at reception who were very dismissive. We found the staff in general incredibly unfriendly - rarely even making eye contact when you returned to the hostel. Later in our trip we also discovered a hole in the floor which a bin had strategically been placed over. The toilet took up most of the space in the shower cubicles and hot water was only available on the top floor. If you're wanting budget accommodation this place will do, however I wouldn't recommend to stay any longer than 2 nights - they did not go by their "home away from home" motto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel

Address: 9 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang-Sayang2 Youth Hostel Chinatown to offer our guests one step away from the historical heritage such as Malacca Clock Tower, The Stadthuys (Oldest Dutch Building in South East Asia), A Famosa (St. Paul Hill), Little India, Cheng Hoon Teng Temple, Kampung Kling Mosque, Sri Poyyatha Venayagar Moorthi Temple, Baba & Nyonya Heritage Museum, Cheng Ho Museum, Jonker Street and many others historical heritage. Only walking distance in addition to historical city of Malacca, a major highlight of our hostel to provide a conductive atmosphere for our guests to enjoy the relax, have drinks and chit chat with other guests or the exchange of experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hotel Melaka State

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.