We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining in the midst of famous Jonker Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Year 1673

Bistro Year 1673
18 Jonker Street, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
606-2881673
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 372 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent dining in the midst of famous Jonker Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The amazing thing about this restaurant is that they provide excellent food in delightful, historic atmosphere right on the most important stretch of famous Jonker Street in the heart of Malacca.

The building where their indoor rooms are is purportedly the oldest 2-story building in this section of town. Everything is very tastefully decorated. We ordered one of the set meals for 2 & loved it--a great selection of seafood, vegetables & sides.

There's hordes of places to eat in Malacca, many come & go, but this one seems to have been operating for a while & has a great reputation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    63
    23
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This bistro serves international food, but there's also a chinese food section too. I had the seabass with lemon grass which had a hint of curry, and my friend had lamb cutlets. Both were delicious, as was the tiramisu dessert. They also have a selection of in-house cocktails. The service is polite, correct and efficient. Some evenings they have music too. The restaurant is set in a long courtyard. The price is more expensive than others but if you consider price/quality then it's a bargain. Special menu also for Chritsmas (15th Dec to 25th Dec) for 68 ++ ringgits, and for New Year for I think 68++ ringgits also, are exceptional value given the quality of food and service.This is the first restaurant in Melaka that has really exceeded expectations, and I loved it. I will get my booking in for Christmas before it's sold out..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistroYear1673, Manager at Bistro Year 1673, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Mr Alan,

Thank you for your patronage at Bistro Year 1673 and your positive comments. We are very happy that you enjoy our Place and food tremendously. We will certainly look forward to you spending Xmas or New Year with us too!

Since you are living in Melaka, we wish to offer you a discount for your other visits to Bistro on our ala Carte menu, please message us at our FB page – Bistro Year 1673 to let us have your contact details and we will in touch!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely experience, delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited Bistro for a lunch and came away extremely satisfied. The food is gorgeous and very decent portion sizes. It is slightly more expensive than the food we have been eating, but as backpackers this is a luxury. The manager Albert was very friendly but did not harass us, which can irritate! overall a great lunch. If you're on a budget and looking to splash out, or on holiday, this is a very good spot!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“quite big portion and not bad for malacca standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

first visit was at night, loved the cool breeze and live band. food was quite good but a lil bit pricey. second visit was during lunch time, it was quite hot, we were seated outside and there was a fan but the hot air blowing was not good enough to cool us down. we had fish n chips, salmon and jenahak fish. the jenahak fish was sweet and good, salmon was good. portions were big with pan fried vegetables. each dish cost about RM20-40. i would recommend this place for western food at night for the nice ambience, live band and cool breeze. they have nyonya food/local dishes as well but can't comment on that as i've never tried them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Food, although a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We tried Taj Mahal Fried Chicken and Sizzling Chicken. The Taj Mahal Chicken is Tandoori flavour, a super nice Indian style, can give a try. The chicken drumstick is huge, we ate until so full. Service is good too, just the dishes are a little bit expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Year 1673 also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Bistro Year 1673? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Year 1673, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.