We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go during peak days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Shu Gong

San Shu Gong
Jalan Hang Jebat(Jonker street) | 75200, Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 372 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't go during peak days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Located at the entrance of Jonker street, the shop was not to be missed. went on a weekend and it was so crowded that I couldn't even get in and have a good look at the local products. not to mention trying out the durian chendol. the queue was very long. at the end, manage to have a glimpse of the local products. have a wide variety and good for tourist to purchase a lot of local products at a go

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    34
    25
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best durian cendol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Long Q, but best durian cendol. Or if you prefer the normal cendol with Gula Melaka it's sweet but still delicious. Definitely a must visit restaurant in Malacca. Besides, their drinks 陳年老桔 are good especially in such hot weather too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“durian chendol is disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

San Shu Gong is right smack at the main entrance of Jonker Street. It is perpetually crowded, whether day or night, as people flock in to buy the coffee, tea and other local produce.

We queued for about 30 mins to buy the iced coffee and the famous durian chendol since almost everyone was having it. It is disappointing to durian lovers I must say. There is hardly any taste of durian and whatever durian taste was covered by the gula melaka syrup. I would say it is a nice chendol, but I think any durian chendol in Singapore has more durian than SSG's 'famous durian chendol'.

Still, I think it is still worthwhile going to SSG because there are really a lot of good food stuff you can buy there, like the teh tariks and white coffees, honey lemon concentrate, nutmegs, dried mangoes, seaweed, etc etc.

Even if you don't buy anything, just go in to take a look.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

just at the mouth of jonker street. sells a wide range of tit-bits. one stop shopping for food stuff (confectionery) in Malacca. staffs are polite and friendly, they offer many free tasting that you just cannot walk away without buying anything.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“An Ali Baba cave of snacks and goodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We found this place after our third attempt in several months. The streets in downtown Melaka are a bit difficult to navigate. Narrow, congested, and many one-way, it proved to be quite a challenge to find both the street and the shop when you are the driver.

We did not try the durian chendol, but went straight to the snacks. We didn't stay long because we filled up three baskets within minutes - prawn/crab/cuttlefish crackers, (cheaper at source than elsewhere in Malaysia), dried and sweet cuttlefish, wolf herring crackers, seaweed sesame crackers, dried mangoes, gula malacca, satay fish, pickled cuttlefish, salted mackerel, nutmeg slices, white coffee. Fantastic gifts to bring home for friends.

I will definitely come back for other products, now I know how to come to this place. Located directly opposite the Hard Rock Café.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Shu Gong also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to San Shu Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Shu Gong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.