We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"BEST VIEW EVER"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Backpacker's Freak Hostel to your Saves list
Backpacker's Freak Hostel
1-25, Jalan PM2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"BEST VIEW EVER"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Under new management the place is undergoing refurbishment, hence only very good and not excellent, but besides that the view is to kill for, i open my window and staring right back at me is the amazing " Menara Taming sari" what can only be describe to all that hast seen it before is a massively tall flag pole that has skewered a huge donut, which then travels vertically up and down and rotates 360 degrees, giving you a breathtaking view of the entire city. The hostel is only a short distance from "Jonker street" with all its quaint buildings and shops, but if you are too lazy there is an open market all weekend just 15 steps away and the "Makota Parade" with its excellent "Food court" and shops. The Hostel itself has 'Sit down" conveniences, which was a relief (:-)) to me as there were enough sights outside for us to have an adventure with. They have hot and cold showers and drinking water and cooking facilities available throughout the day, and if you are really lucky and contribute towards the cost you can pitch in and join them for dinner. All in all, great value for money and a right comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic so don't expect too much as its targeted for us poor people :-) but if your budg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
18
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Ajit, the owner, has 3 hotel (backpacker's freak hostel, m international, and ajit guest house). I chose hostel because the price and location. The hostel is in front of Taming Sari Tower, so I can fully see the tower (better from 4th floor). The room i stayed is mixed dorm w/ fan. I owned all because no other guest in the room. Hot water and shower worked very well. Wifi is good, better from common room at 4th floor. Kitchen is available.

Hostel and location is perfect. 5-10 mins from stadhuys complex and museums. Internet and store are next to the hostel.

The minus is just for TV :)
Rest of all is just perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Charging 25 ringgit for a dorm bed on agoda is a joke. You can get better for similar price or cheaper. We checked into this place (had to pay a 2 ringgit "heritage fee" even though neither of the other 2 places we went in malacca asked for this), and within 10 minutes we had seen 3 bed bugs. The overall cleanliness of the hostel was terrible and the room felt like a shoe box. Needless to say, due to the bedbugs we instantly checked out and got a full refund from agoda (the rude staff refused to refund us themselves). Just awful.. Don't stay here, you'll regret it I think!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is one of the worst place i have been in my whole travelling experience. I booked a private bed (with A/C) and was greeted with stained sheets, smelly pillow, and hairs all over. The blanket looks like it has not been washed for a week.
I don't recommend this one. Look for another place near the river.
Melaka is a nice place though. Well maintained historical landmarks and museums.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed here, and it was horrendous. Not only do you have 3 flights of nasty rotten carpeted stairs to battle to get to reception, when you get there, the "communal area" is one tatty sofa, and a table and chairs. We were greeted by a nice young man who checked us in, who was a working backpacker. The room was awful, the beds were uncomfortable and the walls were paper thin. The kitchen was old and looked like it needed a good scrub and the only shower was in one of the two toilets (which were asian style wee-soaked holes in the floor which stunk.) The manager turned up, sick as a dog, coughing and spluttering everywhere, all through the night and day. Very irritating. He was also rude and shouted at us when we accidentally slammed the door to our own room. He the proceeded to have a huge argument with the friendly receptionist about pay, saying that 5 MYR was acceptable as pay for a 9 hour day and shouted at him "you want a fight?!" The poor guy left, with hardly any money and late in the evening trying to find a place to stay. We were appalled with this hostel and would only say to stay there as a very last resort. Plus we got bitten to death and the traffic noise through the windowless box that was our room was horrendous also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This Backpackers is really good, is clean, has a comfortable mattress, air conditioning, one of the few in the city that brings a breakfast, The typical: a tea or coffee with some toast, butter and jam. They have a fridge where you can keep your drink cold. Don't look for backpacker price and wanna have a hotel room. It's in the center, close to attractions visited in Malacca. They are about 5 min by walk. They provide help to continue your trip giving you information transport, accommodation and cities. I really liked and would recommend to my friends if they want somewhere cheap, clean and comfortable. And if you're looking for the same, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: cheap, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hostel must be a joke! Why?

We booked a double with AC and got a lousy 6m² shoe box with fluorescent tubes, no windows and worn-out mattrasses right next to the "bathrooms" instead. In order to get to our beds we had to pile up our backpacks and stuff so that we decided to stay in there as little time as possible and enjoy the Malacca's night market instead. Don't make the same mistake as we did as its current review score is way too high!

Our advice: Look for something that's closer to the river. Spend a few more Ringgit and stay in a different hostel/hotel. If your next destination is KL we can recommend "Reggae Mansion". If you're headed the other way and look for something in Singapore try "Traveller@SG".

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpacker's Freak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Address: 1-25, Jalan PM2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the latest backpacker's joint in Melaka. Located in the city center of all historical sites and just minutes away from Chinatown. This is the place where budget and comfy comes together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Backpacker's Freak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Freak Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpacker's Freak Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.