We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Save Saved
You added Backpacker's Freak Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpacker's Freak Hostel
1-25, Jalan PM2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 65 Specialty lodging in Melaka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Ajit, the owner, has 3 hotel (backpacker's freak hostel, m international, and ajit guest house). I chose hostel because the price and location. The hostel is in front of Taming Sari Tower, so I can fully see the tower (better from 4th floor). The room i stayed is mixed dorm w/ fan. I owned all because no other guest in the room. Hot water and shower worked very well. Wifi is good, better from common room at 4th floor. Kitchen is available.

Hostel and location is perfect. 5-10 mins from stadhuys complex and museums. Internet and store are next to the hostel.

The minus is just for TV :)
Rest of all is just perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    6
    1
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
16
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Javea, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Charging 25 ringgit for a dorm bed on agoda is a joke. You can get better for similar price or cheaper. We checked into this place (had to pay a 2 ringgit "heritage fee" even though neither of the other 2 places we went in malacca asked for this), and within 10 minutes we had seen 3 bed bugs. The overall cleanliness of the hostel was terrible and the room felt like a shoe box. Needless to say, due to the bedbugs we instantly checked out and got a full refund from agoda (the rude staff refused to refund us themselves). Just awful.. Don't stay here, you'll regret it I think!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is one of the worst place i have been in my whole travelling experience. I booked a private bed (with A/C) and was greeted with stained sheets, smelly pillow, and hairs all over. The blanket looks like it has not been washed for a week.
I don't recommend this one. Look for another place near the river.
Melaka is a nice place though. Well maintained historical landmarks and museums.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed here, and it was horrendous. Not only do you have 3 flights of nasty rotten carpeted stairs to battle to get to reception, when you get there, the "communal area" is one tatty sofa, and a table and chairs. We were greeted by a nice young man who checked us in, who was a working backpacker. The room was awful, the beds were uncomfortable and the walls were paper thin. The kitchen was old and looked like it needed a good scrub and the only shower was in one of the two toilets (which were asian style wee-soaked holes in the floor which stunk.) The manager turned up, sick as a dog, coughing and spluttering everywhere, all through the night and day. Very irritating. He was also rude and shouted at us when we accidentally slammed the door to our own room. He the proceeded to have a huge argument with the friendly receptionist about pay, saying that 5 MYR was acceptable as pay for a 9 hour day and shouted at him "you want a fight?!" The poor guy left, with hardly any money and late in the evening trying to find a place to stay. We were appalled with this hostel and would only say to stay there as a very last resort. Plus we got bitten to death and the traffic noise through the windowless box that was our room was horrendous also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This Backpackers is really good, is clean, has a comfortable mattress, air conditioning, one of the few in the city that brings a breakfast, The typical: a tea or coffee with some toast, butter and jam. They have a fridge where you can keep your drink cold. Don't look for backpacker price and wanna have a hotel room. It's in the center, close to attractions visited in Malacca. They are about 5 min by walk. They provide help to continue your trip giving you information transport, accommodation and cities. I really liked and would recommend to my friends if they want somewhere cheap, clean and comfortable. And if you're looking for the same, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: cheap, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hostel must be a joke! Why?

We booked a double with AC and got a lousy 6m² shoe box with fluorescent tubes, no windows and worn-out mattrasses right next to the "bathrooms" instead. In order to get to our beds we had to pile up our backpacks and stuff so that we decided to stay in there as little time as possible and enjoy the Malacca's night market instead. Don't make the same mistake as we did as its current review score is way too high!

Our advice: Look for something that's closer to the river. Spend a few more Ringgit and stay in a different hostel/hotel. If your next destination is KL we can recommend "Reggae Mansion". If you're headed the other way and look for something in Singapore try "Traveller@SG".

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We'd read the good reviews on here before booking so felt pretty confident it was worth a go.... BUT much to our horror, they couldn't have been further away from the truth! A taxi brought us to the building and when he pointed it out I thought he must have made a mistake. It looked more like a squat! We entered reluctanty and followed the scrappy pieces of paper on the walls directing us to the reception on the top floor. Flips flops sticking to the thin dirty carpets on the way, only to then be ignored by a girl who we assume was the receptionist on duty. Eventually another girl (who was actually quite nice and helpful) checked us in and brought us to our room. This was the point me and my bf looked at each other not quite sure whether to laugh, cry or shout at each other for simply being stupid enough to book into a place called FREAK!?! The room was like a portacabin with paper thin walls right next to the kitchen. Honestly, we may as well have plonked a bed in the social area and set up camp there... it was that noisy and UNprivate! Anyway, to cut a long story short we headed straight out to enjoy gorgeous Melaka and tried to avoid coming back in. By the time we did we decided... why stay if were not happy? We ran in, grabbed our stuff, made our excuses (in true british stylee - I felt too awkward to tell them how bad it was) and swiftly made our exit! Luckily, even at 11.30pm we were fortunate to find the most beautiful guesthouse overlooking the canal (which was the same price - unbelievable) and went on to have the most amazing time! So, lesson of the day... Dont ever make do AND try to avoid FREAK. We have been travelling around SE Asia on a budget for 3 months now and never again have we ever encountered anywhere with standards so low. I hope the owners take notice of these bad reviews because Im sure with a bit of effort they could do much better. Also... who are these people giving 4 star+ reviews? Baffled.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Backpacker's Freak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Address: 1-25, Jalan PM2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 65 Specialty lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the latest backpacker's joint in Melaka. Located in the city center of all historical sites and just minutes away from Chinatown. This is the place where budget and comfy comes together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Freak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Freak Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpacker's Freak Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.